Customer Reviews for

Mama's Family: the Complete First Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my name is karie cox

    I think you should have all the seasons of these vidoes they are very funny and good for people to laugh about funny things it makes me happy to be able to buy this video when I have the money Ilove it very much

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love this show.

    Mama's Family is timeless. Even with all the fussing they do with each other, they would defend the other family members. To me, this is just like a real family would be. I always enjoyed this show, and I am glad it is now on Dvd. They are real involved with each other, showing love in the way they support each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Great Mom's Day Gift

    I purchased season 1 of Mama's Family as a gift for my Mom for Mother's Day. She opened her gifts from me early as she lives in another state and I was on the phone and excited for her to see what I got her. She was happy to see that she had received this gift. She stated that she thought this show was extremely funny and was looking forward to seeing it again! It was a great gift and a GREAT DEAL from Barnes and Noble...thanks for your part in getting my Mom the perfect gift!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The best!

    this is by far my favorite TV show from the 80's. the characters were all funny. As far as this being "watered down", please! The first season was great but the other seasons just kept getting better and better. I really hope that they will release more of the seasons. TV isn't this funny anymore!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Doesn't get any Funnier

    Mama's family is hard to beat. Even if the shows are watered down as one reviewer put it, it is still well worth the money. There are only a handful of television sit-coms I would pay money to own, and this is one of them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Edited, watered-down episodes

    When I first learned that "Mama's Family" was coming to DVD, I was thrilled. I couldn't wait to see the introductions by Harvey Korman as Allister Quince that were long deleted from the beginning of each episode when the series went into reruns. I also couldn't wait to see these episodes returned to their full, unedited, uncut glory as when they first aired on NBC. Much to my disappointment, when I got this set, I found that the episodes featured on these discs are the SAME edited shows that I see today in reruns. That's right, these are the same reruns that you see in syndication today that are cut and edited down just to make room for more comercials! I would have given this set five stars, but this "Complete First Season" is not as complete as it claims to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT SHOW!

    This show was laugh- out- loud funny !! Vicki Lawrence shined as "Mama"...she spoke her mind and called her family out on all their crap! I've been waiting for years for this show to come out on dvd and am thrilled it finally has...if you want to watch a show that is just a feel-good laugh, then pick up this dvd collection...you wont be sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I give Mama's family five stars!

    Mama's family is a fabulously funny series that you can see over and over again. It is nice to hear an old woman speak her mind and not care who she tells it to or how she tells it. It is also nice to see two of the Golden Girls in the series Ellen is played by Betty White, who is Rose Nylund on the GG's and Aunt Fran is played by Rue McClanahan, who is Blanche devereaux. I assure you that you will enjoy Mama's family tremendously!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply the best release to coma along in years.

    All I can say is... when is season 2 coming out?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 10 of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1