Customer Reviews for

Mansfield Park

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Liked It Much Better The Second Time Around!

The first time I saw it, when it had just come out, I was greatly disappointed and would have given it a 2-star rating. Maybe 3. But watching it again, I liked it much better this time. There was good chemistry in the cast. While this actress was much too pretty to ...
The first time I saw it, when it had just come out, I was greatly disappointed and would have given it a 2-star rating. Maybe 3. But watching it again, I liked it much better this time. There was good chemistry in the cast. While this actress was much too pretty to be obscure and almost invisible Fanny, I thought she did a pretty good job. She also manages to show her longing for Edmund throughout the movie, which is something neither of the other two version managed - especiall the weird Patricia Roz-something version. That one was just weird. I'm also glad that the cast had the right look. Edmund was PERFECT and so were the Crawfords. The changes in the plot were all acceptable. I especially loved the ending. It was cute.

posted by JoannaTX on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Meh

It attempted to be faithful to the novel but fell miles short. I prefer the less faithful 1998 version with Frances O'Connor. It's much better cinematically. This version just did not convey the feeling and character of Fanny.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Liked It Much Better The Second Time Around!

    The first time I saw it, when it had just come out, I was greatly disappointed and would have given it a 2-star rating. Maybe 3. But watching it again, I liked it much better this time. There was good chemistry in the cast. While this actress was much too pretty to be obscure and almost invisible Fanny, I thought she did a pretty good job. She also manages to show her longing for Edmund throughout the movie, which is something neither of the other two version managed - especiall the weird Patricia Roz-something version. That one was just weird. I'm also glad that the cast had the right look. Edmund was PERFECT and so were the Crawfords. The changes in the plot were all acceptable. I especially loved the ending. It was cute.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    Ok version.

    I don't mind when they re-arrange the story abit however I was disappointed they choose to cut out Fanny's "visit home" to remind her of how well she has it living at Mansfield. I felt it took away from the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie!

    I am a HUGE Jane Austen fan! I have many versions of the movies that have been made to depict her novels. Mansfield Park has always been one of my favorite novels and I have searched for a movie that does it justice. I finally found it in this movie. The actors that were chosen were perfect. The actor who play Fanny, Billie Piper, is exactly what I pictured her to be. A pretty girl but the longer you look at her the prettier she gets. Which is depicted through the movie. I also loved the role of Edward played by Blake Ritson. He gave the part a much needed sophistication. This a great movie. Especially for those girls nights.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Delightfully entertaining!

    This film is a thoroughly entertaining version of Jane Austen's novel with both very good acting and a stylish setting.
    Billie Piper and Blake Ritson do well the dialogue and are generally enjoyable to watch.
    It is perhaps not the most closely scripted movie to the actually text, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Austenpolooza!!!

    I am a great fan of Jane Austen's works. I am also a great fan of Mansfield Park. I loved the book and I just loved the movie. It was so refreshing and witty. It doesn't miss a beat to Jane Austen written novel!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Meh

    It attempted to be faithful to the novel but fell miles short. I prefer the less faithful 1998 version with Frances O'Connor. It's much better cinematically. This version just did not convey the feeling and character of Fanny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mansfield Park

    I think all of the movies in this Masterpiece Collection will satisfy the audience and the faithful Jane Austen fans. It was enjoyable, definately better the old BBC version which just seemed "lacking." The actor portraying Edmund does very well. I didn't really like the part given to Fanny in this movie - it wasn't the acting. Although the plot was sufficiently faithful for a movie adaptation, her character seemed altered. Fanny was supposed to be "invisible." During the movie, we should have been able to observe that she rarely speaks because her opinion isn't sought after or valued. She's ignored and not so confident as she sometimes appears in teh movie. Her sickness and general frailty are very important in explaining her demeaner and personality and her role in the family. Although we love P&P's Elizabeth for her "liveliness and wit", Fanny does not have those qualities, yet she still managaes to win us over with her innocence and high sense of morality. Though the movie was very important, it seemed to be missing some of the most important themes. And for this very reason Mansfield Park remains about the most difficult Austen work to adapt into a movie. It's still cute, romantic, and a fairly good representation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2011

    Definitely NOT Jane Austen's Mansfield Park

    The casting completely killed this adaptation for me. I like Billie Piper in Dr. Who and as Sally Lockhart, but she is totally and absolutely wrong to play Fanny Price. Piper's Fanny Price is a hoyden who runs around with her hair loose and her breasts heaving--she could not be further away from Austen's quietly observing heroine, whose moral judgment is her most important characteristic. The other problem I have with this adaptation is its length--this novel is simply too complex to be packed into less than two hours. I admire screenwriter Maggie Wadey's work in adapting Edith Wharton's The Buccaneers, but she was given an impossible task here. I agree with other reviewers that the two previous adaptations of Mansfield Park have major problems: the 1980's TV version is simply boring, and Patricia Rozema's film is wrongheaded in its interpretation of the main character. I had high hopes for this one, but was deeply turned off and disappointed. I may never see a good TV or film adaptation of Mansfield Park in my lifetime.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    At first I wasn't sure if I was going to like this, but after watching it again, I like it.

    And to be honest I like both this and the 1999 version. Same goes for Edmund. Blake reminds me of Adrian Brody. Billie as Fanny does a good job, bringing something to the character. I'm sure they're some changes that many who have read the book may not like. Sometimes it's good to have those, since well if it were word for word then it would be boring or just way too long. Though if done in such a way it could work. Anyway I like the supporting cast in this more than the 1999 one. Actually that movie was a little weird. I still recommend both versions though. You have to admit the ending to this including Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, Emma, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion are adorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not my favorite version.

    This movie was just ok. There are better versions of Mansfield Park.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Jane Austen Lite!!

    I like this adaptation of "Mansfield Park". Andrew Davies does a good job interpreting Jane Austen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mansfield Park

    I say watch it on TV and judge for yourselves, or borrow someone else's movie. Don't buy as it would be a waste of money. Edmund and the Crawfords performed flawlessly. The rest of the cast seemed not to really understand their characters. Fanny is the main character, but she hardly resembled Fanny Price for the JA book at all. Though not all the actors were terrible, the screenplay killed it. 5 Stars go to the Edmund actor! Watch the old BBC version - it's better, but we still need a new adaptation and hopefully one day they'll make a much better one!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worst Jane Austen adaptation I have seen

    I was highly disappointed in this adaptation when I watched it several weeks ago. The screenplay did not just cut scenes from the book, it COMPLETELY CHANGED some of them. I own the BBC version, and it is MUCH better -- if you want Mansfield Park, I suggest that one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2