Customer Reviews for

March of the Penguins

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A very charming and brilliant documentary

    March of the Penguins goes into depth regarding the survival and the struggle of Emperor penguins against the harsh storm of the Antarctic. Impressive shots of the parents having a heart stopping moments together prior to mating, including hands-on footage of babies exploring their worlds for the first time. The incredible narrative by Morgan Freeman takes you on the inside look through the trek and the survival of these majestic birds, the triumph over tragedy, and with the best of all, a close up on the behaviors of these hardy, but beautiful birds. Incredible breathtaking shots compliments the film which includes the acclaimed musical score. A highly recommended film for devoted bird lovers and for those who are interested in becoming one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this was awesome ! Tugged at my heart strings many times.

    This is a fantastic movie. I appreciate penguins for their steadfast work in harsh conditions, and caring for their young. I believe humans could learn alot from this dedication they have in their lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome

    This is a must see, You cannot live a complete life without first seeing this movie, I learned so much from this film

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful !!

    If you want to see hard work in action, see this movie. I have nothing but admiration and respect for the industrious penguins and the harsh conditions they endure to feed their young. Their diligence and perseverance are awe-inspiring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exposes children to concepts of death of children and parents

    This was a very well done documentary however I was not prepared for the nightmares and loss of innocence caused by this movie. My just turned six year old internalized the death of the mother penguin who was eaten by the seal and understood the deaths times three of baby penguins and eggs. This has caused problems we were not ready for. We left the movie theatre early. The G rating doesn't reflect the material content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredibly powerful film.....

    This is one of the most moving films I have seen in a long time. I have nothing but admiration and respect for the determination these penguins have and their incredible strength and single-mindedness. Their arduous journey really touched me. If you want to see diligent work in action, watch this film. Imagine walking 70 miles on an empty stomach in the worst weather !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Amazing Movie

    I saw this at my friend's house and I immediately loved it. It is such a great, amazing heartwarming story. It really shows how tough those penguins are. Event though it has its sad points, I would reccommend this movie to everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Beautiful documentary but not a love story

    But for the made-for-America narrative in which we are told "This is a love story," I would have given it 5 stars, for I was fascinated by the story of the penguins' grueling trek, their survival and nurturing of the young. This was a beautiful documentary and was deserving of more than Disney-fying the narrative. Let's hope that National Geographic goes back to straight docs. Still, it is definitely worth seeing!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Penguins are Everywhere!

    This is a great movie. I plan on buying it as soon as possible. It's funny, sad and heartwarming. I think most people will enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must See Movie of the Year

    I've seen this movie twice in the theater, and I can't wait to buy it. Penguins are amazing animals, and this film tells such a beautiful and honest story. The dedication of the film makers is rare. My family and I laughed, cried, and cheered for these cute and wonderful creatures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a winner for sdults and children

    We took our supercharged 4 year-old grandson to see this movie. He was absolutely spellbound He talked about it for days and still becomes animated when he sees a picture of a penguin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Here come the Penguins!!!

    Great movie. I laughed and cried. Made me love penguins even more than I do now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WONDERFUL movie

    I took my 7 year old to see this and I thought I liked it more, that was until he got home and asked to go see it again. I would recommend everyone see this movie very very well done. This is a great movie for adults and parents to see with their kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must See Movie!

    This has to be one of the most beautiful films ever made. It was, as Morgan Freeman said, a love story. Not only was the scenery incredible, the story of these intelliget animals is not to be forgotten. If humans behaved in such a communal way, the world would be a much better place. There are moments of joy, defeat, sadness, and triumph. This is a movie for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a wonderful surprise!

    I am proud to have seen this movie. It is unlike so many out there...a real, heartwarming educational story. Morgan Freeman's narration is superb. I recommend this to everyone! You will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Adorable, beautiful, glorious and wonderful movie!

    I saw this wonderful movie here in Iceland with French narrator and I enjoyed every minute. I wish it would be longer (only 80 minutes)but anyhow it´s a lovely movie and everyone should have it. That´s why I purchased it on DVD so I´m able to watch it again and again. Thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can Morgan Freeman do female impersonations?

    I have not seen the version with Morgan Freeman but have seen the original French version recently (outside USA). Accompanying the sublime cinematography and sound, two French narrators, one male and one female, poetically interpret a pair of Emperor Penguin's essential relationship to keep their chick alive. It is wonderfully scripted (even in subtitles) and to me, is what glued the film together for it's feature-length duration. I'm sure Freeman's script must be craft-fully done but I can't imagine a singular narrative having the same charming effect. It may be worth tracking down the original version if you you can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Forget You're Watching a Movie

    Saw March of the Penguins in the movie theater this past summer. Inside 2 minutes, it totally transported me from a hazy-hot day to the sub-zero Antarctica. Highly recommend for anyone fascinated with nature and life on earth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great film

    i saw this movie in the theater with a friend of mine and it was a verry amazing and touching film.and mogan freemen tells the story verry well in this documentury it will be added to my dvd collection

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2