Customer Reviews for

Mars Attacks!

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Something for everyone

    I love this movie and watch it a couple of times per year. It's totally politically incorrect and that alone makes it worth watching. The casting is superb, and is an A-List of big time talent doing something fun. It's not to be taken seriously and I'm amazed that some of the acting talent could do some of the scenes without cracking up. If you're looking for a serious movie, this one is not it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Dazzling Mixture Of Comedy And Thrills!

    In what would become one of Tim Burton's greatest achievements, Mars
    Attacks!, an action-packed lampoon of those alien invasion films from
    the 20th Century, showcases a timeless combination of action-packed
    thrills and slapstick comedy. Headed by an all-star cast including Jack
    Nicholson, Glenn Close, Pierce Brosnan, Annette Bening, Rod Stieger, Sarah Jessica Parker, Jim Brown, Danny DeVito, Tom Jones and Lukas Haas, Mars Attacks! gives you plenty of great laughs and pulsating action which makes it an instant success at the box office (it was more of a well-desrved hit outside North America) and a spellbinding classic. As one of the cinema's most striking and highly imaginable film directors of his generation, Tim Burton does a carefully fantastic job that satisfies the audiences as he turns the film into a time-honoured success. The film would still look spectacular on the big screen. So if you are interested in thrilling action and slapstick comedy that is out of this world, then I suggest you treat yourself to Mars Attacks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious!

    I thought this movie was hilarious! I loved every character and how each actor portrayed their character flawlessly. I admire Jack Nicholson the most who I thought did the best. The special effects were cheesy but that is what makes it funny. If you ask me, this movie is definitely worth watching.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful scifi movie

    This is a movie you'll really want to see again and again. The plot is perfect. The theme is right. I LOVE THE MARTIANS! Lets just say I love 1950's scifi movies!(my dad I can thank for this). This is one movie you'll never want to let go of.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lame movie

    I bought Mars Attacks because the previews looked good, only to find the movie not funny, disappointing, and somewhat gross. I stopped watching and threw it away before I even reached the end of the movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It wasn't the best

    I thought it was funny, it just wasn't the greatest. I loved the action, the alien's costumes, how they looked, and especialy how they talked. I just didn't really enjoy the plot. It was okay, it wasn't horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outstanding entertainment, sober or stoned!

    This is NOT a serious movie. As a matter of fact, it is completely un-serious, unllike the '50s movies it is a takeoff on. What it is, is completely hilarious. A different type of gag humor from Mel Brooks, more like comparing Monty Python to Woody Allen, but funny all the same. This is a movie that will make more money on TV reruns and DVD sales then it ever would at the movies, just because of what it is... entertainment. You'd watch this again and again, just to howl at some of the gags. I don't know about the actors, but I can imagine that something like this appeals to craft actors like Nicholson or Steiger to just let themselves go completely...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funny

    It is so stupid, its funny. the counter alein wepon is really funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Skeevy Little Martians...

    They are so wonderfully bad - it's great. At first, you don't know if they come in peace. After a while, you learn that they really ARE trying to take over the world - and from then on - it's a blast. They are so loathsome - and Earth's counterweapon is so effective - it's fun to watch them get their come-uppance at the end of the flick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2004

    It's so bad it's funny.

    Have a heart and enjoy this strange movie. It's so bad you can't help but like it. We need more comic relief movies like it. Simple and stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What in the...?

    This movie was easily one of the worst films ever created, just goes to show that using big names doesn't really mean it will be a good film. Horrible movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    not very good

    I am sorry but this show was not very good. I admit that the actors are great and there are some good lines in the movie (IE the aliens running around shooting people as they say they are there in peace) but the story tries too hard to be funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Out of this world Entertainment

    Like no other movie as you see each major role get slaughtered as opposed to the main characters always surviving. Well thought out action and just plain silly. A great movie to watch if you dont really want to pay attention, although, to pay attention really does the movie justice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome!!!

    this movie will have you comming away from it making that martian noise to all yur friends!!! You have to watch it to understand

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    This movie is hillarious and freaky. Do not watch it at night. It gave me nightmares. It is about aliens who act as friends of the world but really aren't. They breathe nitrogen so they must chew a special gum or have a tank. This movie is great for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1