Customer Reviews for

Mary Poppins

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    my review

    I love Mary Poppins.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Mary Poppins

    Bought for my grand daughters saw an died as when I saw many years ago

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Excellent addition to my grandchild's Disney Library!

    The fantasy and classic kind-heartedness of this movie helps set a tone for my grandchildren. I hope that thy will use a spoonful of sugar to get through the hard-times and recognize that the world can be seen through a negative or positive lens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Best Uplifting, happy movie ever made!

    Best Uplifting, happy movie ever made!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    i love this movie

    i love this movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mary Poppins

    This is a great movie. It is a good blend of cartoon and human characters. Noone could ever forget Julie Andrews as Mary Poppins, and Dick Van Dyke as Bert. The kids in the movie are cute too. I loved the songs in the movie as a kid and I love them still; A spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down; Let's go fly a kite, Chim Chiminey, Chim Chiminey Chim Chim Cherie, and Supercalifragilistic expialidocious. The story is cute. It's amazing as a kid that you could jump into a chalk drawing. Mary Poppins is there when the kids need her, and helps get the family through a rough time. Two thumbs up, a great kids movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Historical movie

    You might be surprised this movie has already used animation in the movie.
    But it's too long to see.
    Actually it's the historical movie worth to see once.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Classic with a Sexist Message

    I loved this movie as a child, and I believe it deserves its place as a family classic. That being said -- I noticed, as an adult, that the movie has a sexist message embedded. To be specific, the reason Jane and Michael need Mary Poppins in the first place is that their mother neglects them in favor of her campaign to get women the right to vote. I would not let it deter me from watching the movie with kids, but would discuss this aspect of it with the children so they don't uncritically adopt the values implicit in the script.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Mary Poppins

    My 4 1/2 twin sons really enjoyed the music and were entertained. Mary Poppins is a classic for children of all ages from 4 to 44 and beyond.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A 'spoonfull' of Mary will make the 'medicine-of-Life' go down deliciously!

    It takes you back 'Looking through the eyes of a child' again..Maybe if we became a 'child' again, with this 'Medicine from Mary Poppins', the problems before us would go alot easier. Mary Poppins, don't leave!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Good Stuff

    Watch it and you'll love it. Great for kids of all ages :o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Essentials

    MARY POPPINS was an instant hit....the last of the big budget live action films supervised by Walt himself...and every minute of the film shows taste, style, wit, heart, imagination and huge, huge talent. What else can one say about a film that made "Our Julie" a household name and worldwide star? It is essential viewing for old and young alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Disney film

    Poppins : the best film on earth ever made !! Julie Andrews was exceptional in this film ! A Classic ! Films has been a family favorite of all ages for yrs & yrs and many more to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see!

    I forgot what this movie was all about until I rented it at the library for my 2.5 and 4.5 year old girls. We all LOVED it! We continue to sing the songs everyday and it lifts our spirits and makes us dance around the house. My girls are so used to an evil person or witch in movies/shows. Although the president of the bank is a little bit scary to them, it is nothing in comparison to all of the other childrens' movies they have seen. It is wonderful! They are so happy that they can watch the movie without being scared. Needless to say, I have already purchased the CD and DVD as Christmas presents for the girls. I'm sure they will get a lot of use. A classic!! Truly uplifting and says so much about enjoying the little things in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Highly Entertaining!

    Mary Poppins is a very cute and fun movie and I find it to be an excellent feel-good movie to watch when you are sick or even if you are stressed out and need to have your spirits lifted! The whole cast is wonderful but I especially like Julie Andrews as Mary Poppins, Dick Van Dyke as Bert and Karen Dotrice and Matthew Garber as Jane and Michael. Okay, so Dick Van Dyke's imitation of a British accent is a little over the top but he is so cute in this movie and really entertains!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    R.I.P. “Mary Poppins” (or Rip Her To Shreds)

    Whim worshippers unite and snap your fingers at your senses, at reality, at virtues like responsibility and productivity and earned rewards—and applaud a gushing, unblushing presentation of just such finger-snapping in “Mary Poppins” (aka “The Triumph of the Whim”). Contrary to undoubtedly popular belief, this film is neither a cheery confection nor a harmless celebration of the imagination. In fact, “Mary Poppins” projects a truly deadly sense of life, sending a horrible message to children and adults alike that the mind doesn’t matter and that life-affirming values based in and on reality don’t matter indeed, and in short, that you can have any cake you want and eat it, too. Its presentation of mindless, effortless wish-fulfillment is an artistic and moral crime. This movie also bubbles with random, meaningless foam from start to finish. Care to fathom the foam? It takes the form of several creative and colorful—but invariably shallow and incredibly absurd—musical sequences. This movie also spews spittle from start to finish. Can you spot the spit? It takes the form of uniformly insulting presentations of humanity. For instance: children (spoiled, caprice-driven), parents (silly, self-absorbed, irresponsible, incapable), businessmen/bankers (grasping, stiff, doddering, ridiculous), as well as several other unflattering, irredeemable individual portraits: --an irresponsible, supernatural nanny whose “virtue” is filling kids’ heads with and exposing them to nonsense --a devil-may-care drifter/street beggar who is a “hero” precisely because he is devil-may-care --an old navy man whose “distinction” is madness --an old “bachelor” whose “appeal” consists in his laughing immoderately at trifles (or next to nothing) --a derelict, pigeon-feeding bag lady (of all the inspiring examples available to choose from in the human pantheon) who is the “worthy” subject of a truly beautifully sung song The stars Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke project warmth and charisma in their roles, but so what? Such qualities are hitched to darkness, not light and golden talent like theirs only seems to make this film genuinely glitter. Scratch the speciously shiny surface of “Mary Poppins” and you’ll find nothing but a lump of condemnable coal. R.I.P. “Mary Poppins” (or Rip Her To Shreds)

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pure Disney

    This movie's the essential core of what Walt Disney was about. There's a reason he sought the story longer than any other, and Mrs. Travers' reserve in granting it- she wanted to make sure Mary Poppins would remain fresh for children of all ages. What a delight in seeing the characters come to life! I could not imagine anyone disliking a story with make believe at it's premise, as that is what most movies are. Moreover, that kindness and respecting others somehow distances it from "reality". In fact, the examples of behaviour show a clear moral foundation, by promoting "charity over greed", "kindness over scolding", and "carefree living vs. miserly hoarding". This story strikes chords of Heart- Faith, Hope, Charity, & Love set to the tune of "make believe". Seeing these Stars at/near the prime of their careers, with rare appearances on film from Ed Wynn (Uncle), Rita Shaw (Cook) and Hermione Baddely (Maid). The desire for captions included would make ideal for all, and is unfortunately missing. A "thumbs up!".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My toddler asks for "Poppy" by name!

    I bought this for myself with a gift card, because I hadn't seen this much-loved movie in years. I put it on for my little girl, who hadn't ever shown much interest in any live-action film, and she was immediately entranced. Now, almost immediately upon waking each morning, she runs to the shelf and brings me the DVD box, saying,"Da Poppy mama, da Poppy!" She's also learning to dance by emulating Dick van Dyke. All in all, a favorite with everyone in our house!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I grew up on this movie!

    I loved this movie growing up. I hadn't thought about it in years until the commercial for the DVD and I am buying at my next chance. Big hit for the holiday season!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    no english subtitles!

    I too love the movie, but it has no English subtitles. I have a hearing loss and no longer watch movies without English subtitles (in the age of DVD, close caption is not always accessible). And if you have young children, this would be a way to help them learn how to read, and for you to learn the words to the songs. Most DVDs come with English subtitles and it is absolutely pathetic that disney does not provide it with such a classic that is Mary Poppins.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 63 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4