Customer Reviews for

Masterpiece Classic: Downton Abbey Season 1

Average Rating 4
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

INCREDIBLE SERIES

Had a chance to watch the series while in Ireland and have to give it 5 STARS +. Worth the price and the time to watch. Will order my own copies when I return to the states.
Maggie Smith is great in anything I have seen her in and this series is no exception. The enti...
Had a chance to watch the series while in Ireland and have to give it 5 STARS +. Worth the price and the time to watch. Will order my own copies when I return to the states.
Maggie Smith is great in anything I have seen her in and this series is no exception. The entire cast is wonderful and the content very well done.

posted by Sloothin-granny on March 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Very Disappointed

I thought this would be a wonderful series...until the same-sex kissing. I shut it off and will not be watching the rest.

posted by 10501599 on January 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    INCREDIBLE SERIES

    Had a chance to watch the series while in Ireland and have to give it 5 STARS +. Worth the price and the time to watch. Will order my own copies when I return to the states.
    Maggie Smith is great in anything I have seen her in and this series is no exception. The entire cast is wonderful and the content very well done.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Very Disappointed

    I thought this would be a wonderful series...until the same-sex kissing. I shut it off and will not be watching the rest.

    10 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    Among the best of Masterpiece Classic!

    This is a marvelous production in the tradition of Upstairs, Downstairs and The Forsyte Saga. Acting, costumes, sets and a compelling script are exceptional as they portray the social classes during the changing times in England prior to WWI. Best of all: In the 2012 season, the series continues where episode 4 left off . . . information which was obviously missed by an earlier reviewer.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    Excellent Series! Well worth it!

    I love British period pieces and this movie is no exception. Beautiful costumes and scenery. The locations are gorgeous. I love the contrast in speech between the family and the servants. However, be advised..this is season 1. Season 2 has not started filming and is not expected to start airing till next winter or so. I didn't realize that and when it ended, I was waiting for more. I am looking forward to the next season.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    Graet series. One of the best from Masterpiece Clasics.

    Looked forward to watching every episode. Cant wait for the next installment. Great series. One of the best from Masterpiece Clasics.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    So Adictive

    This has to be one of the best period dramas ever made. I absolutly love it. Downton Abbey is more addictive than dark chocolate.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Highly Recommend-you must check it out!!

    If I could give it a higher rating than five stars I most definitely would. Top-Notch acting, etc. Splendid from start to finish. Didn't want it to end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    This is one of my favorite Masterpiece Theatre series, and I've

    This is one of my favorite Masterpiece Theatre series, and I've loved many of them. Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Would order from this seller again.

    Would order from this seller again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    i'm hooked on Downton

    i'm hooked on Downton

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Absolutely brilliant and addictive. This is season one (it is li

    Absolutely brilliant and addictive. This is season one (it is listed as such!), to clarify what some people have said about the unresolved ending. It's called a cliffhanger! Season two is also wonderful, but also ends with a cliffhanger. I can't wait to see season 3!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    Excellent

    Weel worth the time to watch it!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    This product is confusing as it is listed as just DVD and does n

    This product is confusing as it is listed as just DVD and does not designate whether it is widescreen vesion or full screen version. The following seasons are specified as widescreen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2011

    Poor Ending

    I felt like there should at least be one more epsiode to tie things up. I know that British period pieces don't all have happy endings up this one just left you hanging.

    I gave 5 stars for the first 3 epsiods & 2 the last

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Drama

    There were points in the story made me uncomfortable for being so realistic. The ending left wanting more.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4