Customer Reviews for

Max Payne

Average Rating 3
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Max Boring

    Not much to be said.<BR/><BR/>Went and saw this with a friend out of sheer boredom.<BR/><BR/>The movie was boring, barely any action, and used tired slow motion. <BR/><BR/>And the plot was lame. <BR/><BR/>I liked the first game when it came out for the PC way back when. This movie lacks any of the fun of the game. Some names are the same, and the movie tries way too hard to use the game's over the top noir grit.<BR/><BR/>It doesn't work. <BR/><BR/>The special effects were halfway decent, though.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    max boring to the max!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    lame movie it stinks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    terrible movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    boring from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A co-worker gave me this movie, and I love it!

    While many people may be looking at this as just another video game movie, it actually turned into a surprising treat for me. Going into it not knowing much made it all the better.<BR/><BR/>The first thing that struck me was just how well the cinematography was. I was watching it on my laptop in a dark room and it was an amazing visual treat to sit and watch. The special effects in the movie are a little over the top but that is part of the plot (read later on).<BR/><BR/>I was listening to this on a set of good over the ear headphones and it made the sound quality amazing enough to have me take notice. Some of the music made me think of looking up the soundtrack as well.<BR/><BR/>The plot is somewhat contrived. Max Payne lost his wife and child to a couple of thugs and is searching for the one that got away. It turns out all is connected back to some super addictive drug that causes people to see things from Norse mythology. Yeah, I was kind of confused about that too. <BR/><BR/>All in all I think most people might get some amusement out of renting it, but for me and those like me who like the over the top pretty movie where the love interest is already dead and the lone hero is not saving the world, but only after revenge, this movie is made for us.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Max with not much Payne

    Max Payne was a ps2 video game that had a good storyline and a neat way of telling the story with comic style story telling and the story was some what like the punisher comic book.Now with that being said the movie itself is very little like the game.The story is the same but action is just not in your face like the game.I still like the movie for mark wahlberg playing Max Payne because he is a good acter to play him but they could have up the body count in this movie because in the game alone you kill over 200 people and the movie there maybe 30 people maybe a little less that died.I still say this is a good movie but if they do another one please dont rated it pg13 because in doing so u kind of take the whole point of max payne away by doing so.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hodgepodge

    "Max Payne" is a discombobulated hodgepodge of a movie. Something about a rogue cop, Valkyries that fly through the sky and wreak all sorts of mayhem, a weird drug, and, of course, the requisite corrupt corporation, in this case, a pharmaceutical company.<BR/><BR/>Actually, I found this flick entertaining on a gut level, even though it is an incomprehensible mishmash. It moves along at a brisk clip. Mark Wahlberg is good as Max Payne. I would be hard-pressed to tell anyone what this movie is about. It seems like the writer threw in everything but the kitchen sink, unsure of what kind of movie he was writing. <BR/><BR/>"Max Payne" is part cop movie, part sci-fi, part comic book--none of which by itself adequately describes it. That's the problem: it can't make up its mind what it is. Apparently, it's based on a videogame, but that's no excuse for it to be a cobbled-together farrago posing as a movie.<BR/><BR/>--Bryan Cassiday, author of "Fete of Death"

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1