Customer Reviews for

Mean Girls

Average Rating 4.5
( 74 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than "Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen"

    This movie was funny, I enjoyed it. Lindsay Lohan and Rachel McAdams both did a really good job. I would recommend this movie to anyone who likes Lindsay Lohan. I am looking forward to seeing Rachel McAdams in the upcoming suspense thriller "Red Eye".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie is So Fetch!

    This movie is so good. Every time I watch this movie I always pick up more things from it. It one of the funniest movies I have every seen! I can watch this movie over and over againg and never get bored! This movie is one that I can realate to because its real life. Mean Girls is a must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Entertaining Movie You Can Relate To

    This movie was a great, hilarious portrayal of what high school is like for teenage girls. While it may be exaggerated at times, the pressures that the main character Cady goes through are very much a reality for many high school girls. She finds herself pushed to join the "in-crowd," to go to the cool parties, to go out with the cutest boys, and the list goes on. All the while, she schemes with her other, less popular friends, to ruin the life of the most popular girl in school. These are situations that many teens can relate to; I know that a lot of it looked familiar me and what I saw while in high school. So many girls are pressured all the time to be the prettiest or the most popular, and this movie can give them something and someone to relate to. The characters called “the Plastics” in the movie are ones that many views I’m sure can identify in their own lives. These girls are the ones who everyone else wants to be like, but never can. These characters come to life in every high school. Most of the teens watching the movie, however, will not be a part of that group because it makes up such a fraction of the population of high schools. This allows the majority of viewers to relate more to Cady and her struggles, and helps them to realize that life doesn’t have to be a constant effort to be the best. Through all of the drama of the movie, the end shows probably the most important message, which is that girls can all get along and be friends without certain ones being superior to others. Some could argue that certain parts of the movie are too extreme for younger viewers, such as scenes of parties, but these situations are extremely true to the high school atmosphere and help give teens something else to relate to. If you want to see a movie that is extremely funny and entertaining while giving a positive message to teenage girls, this is a definite must-have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AN OUTSTANDING MOVIE

    The movie Mean Girls scored high ratings and struck a home-run with a number of audiences; adults and teens alike. So the question is, what makes this movie so fabulous? One word: realism. This movie does not sugarcoat what teenage girls in High School are really like, and it shows us the fact is true: Girls can be way too… ahem, *witchy*. The movie combines humor with this truthful element, and what’s the answer to the equation? A truly delightful and eye-opening movie. Lindsay Lohan, who has been labeled as a Teen Queen, has proven her maturity in her excellence of handling this role. The audience has no trouble believing anything that Cady, Lindsay’s character, says, as Lindsay has such a great way of capturing and embracing her character. She proves to us that she is no longer the little girl who gave us “The Parent Trap” and has now moved into a position as a very professional actor. Rachel McAdams, another talented actor, played Regina George, a far cry from her role as Ally in “The Notebook” (2004). Regina is the leader of The Plastics, and is the Queen Bee (In the book upon which the movie is based, the most popular girl in a school is given the title "Queen Bee". In the movie, the character who fits that description is named Regina - "queen" in Latin.). Even as the meanest girl in school, Rachel plays the character with a depth that lets us see that Regina is mean because of her own insecurities, and she is really a decent person at heart. Although she doesn’t get the happiest ending (she gets hit by a bus and has to wear a spinal halo), she still manages to have a little Regina-esque optimism. Rachel has proven her extreme talent; it takes a very good actress to play a brat in a movie and still be liked by her fans. Lacey Chabert and Amanda Seyfried are excellent in their characters as well. Amanda (who originally was in the role as Regina, but decided she liked being the “dumb” one better) did an excellent job at being dumb, but funny. Her role is undoubtedly the most hilarious, and her quotes are the most memorable. (“I have a 5th sense… it’s like I have ESPN or something!”) Lacey does quite well as her character as well, and definitely scrambles our thoughts about her. Sometimes we absolutely cannot stand her shallowness (“I’m sorry that everyone likes me, but I can’t help that I’m popular.”), and at others we feel so sorry for her (“Regina says that hoop earrings are HER thing and that I can’t wear them. And for Hanukah my parents gave me this really expensive pair of white-gold hoop earrings and I had to pretend I didn’t like them!”). As Regina’s “army of skanks”, they do quite well. Lizzy Caplan and Daniel Franzeze did quite excellent. Lizzy plays Janice Ian (named after the singer of the same name, who wrote the song "At Seventeen" which can be heard playing in the background when the girls were fighting at Regina's house), a rebel to the core, who was once Regina’s best friend. Her description of Regina as a “life-ruiner” seems to be quite accurate, until the end, at least. The viewers immediately like Janice because there is an inner-Janice in all of us, just wanting to break some rule and get rid of some person. Daniel plays Damien, the token gay in the movie, who is equally hilarious. His chemistry with Janice is amazing, because the two of them together are like a good skit from SNL. When Cady is in need of a pink shirt to wear with the plastics, the audience is very bemused to find that while Janice doesn’t own one, Damien does. They are like the Abbot and Costello of the movie, and add to the whole thing delightfully. This is a comedy for all audiences, and I highly recommend it. Very realistic and entertaining to the core. A DEFINITE MUST-SEE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies!

    This movie is so hilarious that you will laugh your heart out! Most of the cast is from snl, and they do outstanding in this movie, and along with Lindsay Lohan. This movie is a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Who knew high school could be so mean?

    What do you get when mean characters are written for a bad movie? Ding! You get "Mean Girls." Good actors go to waste in this wanna be "Clueless." I guarentee, you will come out of the movie asking " Why do i hate these characters so much?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mean Girls

    one of the years best films it should go to the acadamy awards. I could not stop laughing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LIKED IT A WHOLE LOT

    IT WAS FUNNY, OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE BY LINDSAY LOHAN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pretty Good

    I kind of liked it. It was funny and it shows a lot of teen issues. It was good, but flawed. Very flawed. Way too girly for me, butI think a lot of guys will like it ,too. It was funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie was halarious

    this movie was the funniest movie i have seen in a while. i loved Lindsay Lohan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mean Girls Rocks!!!

    Lindsay Lohan has an outstanding performance in the movie, and the movie is for all ages to see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Most Truthful Teen-Flick Ever! ! ! ! ! ! ! !

    This may be the best 'Teen Movie' of my generation. It is wicked-fun, truthful, raw, and one of the funniest teen-flick I've evered watched! In two days of owning it, I have watched it ---3 times--- it's so delish! ***Summary***The movie itself is a story of Cady(Played by Teen Queen,Lindsey Lohan)who is bascially a little-home-schooled-exchange-student entering the world of Highschool, Girl World, and Teen World all in one year. After time goes by she slowly learns the ropes of the good and evil of highschool thanks to her two new friends, Jaynce and Damian, but soon after meeting the good people of North Shore High, she meets the evil ones. Gretchen, Karon, and the Queen Bee, Regina---The Plastics, who are teen royalty and the most evil girls in the entire school! Bascially, story goes on, and Cady hooks up into the Plastics and thinks of them as new friends but learns quickly in girl world friends are just titles. The war and fur starts to fly after the 'new plastic,' Cady have a huge crush on Aaron---Regina's Ex, and in laws of feminism that is not something to do in the world of Plastic. So the Four leading ladies face off in a fun, evil, wicked-bad, war. Watch, learn, and have fun! You'll be asking for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not suitable for kids!

    Ok, do not, not, not buy this for kids. There is stuff in there that is totally NOT NEEDED for a movie. I'm 14 and there is stuff in there that I don't need to see. So do yourself a favor if you are a parent, and don't buy this for your kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Mean Girls

    mean girls is a classic funny movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really Good

    I thought this movie was good. I expected it to be another dumb teen flick, but instead I got so much better, especially when they used some of the veteran actors from SNL. Good movie, worth a watch. You should check this flick out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWSOME MOVIE

    This is the best movie to see with your friends!! Lindsay Lohan was so good in this movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wish I didn't see it!

    I liked Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen so much better that this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    this was the most best lindsay lohan movie i've ever seen before in my entire life. I am the biggest fan of her. LINDSAY LOHAN ROCKS MEAN GIRLS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 74 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4