Customer Reviews for

Meet the Parents

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    bring on the blu-ray

    now i know what your thanking its a comedy blu-ray is more for action movies but i have loads of fun with the blu-ray any way i love this movie it's fun to watch ben stiller & robert deniro interact with each other

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A slapstick-situation comedy

    As if his name weren't enough of a curse, Gaylord Focker (Stiller) finds himself constantly fumbling in his relationship with his future father-in-law (DeNiro). The entire cast is excellent. And the endlessly hilarious mishaps nearly had me on the theater floor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Daddy dearest

    A comedy of escalading discomfort in which a hapless schmuck digs himself into a bottomless pit by trying to impress his girlfriend's family. Male nurse Greg Focker(Ben Stiller) wants to pop the question to girlfried Pam Byrnes(Teri Polo). But she's daddy's little girl, and daddy(Robert De Niro) a retired horticulturist, has some old-fashioned ideas about manners and manhood. So Pam and Greg make a weekend pilgrimage to the Byrne homestead in Waspy Oyster Bay, Long Island; the occasion is the wedding of pam's younger sister. Greg gets off the wrong foot with Mr. Byrnes and never recovers: His carefully chosen gift, a rare orchid bulb, falls flat. A joke about 'Puff, the Magic Dragon' convinces Byrnes that Greg is a dope fiend, and the cork from Greg's conciliatory bottle of champagne nails the ornamental urn containing the ashes of Grandma Byrnes, which wind up being defiled on the dining room floor by the family cat,'Mr. Jinx.' Little white lies mushroom into ghastly whoppers. And Pam lets Greg in on a little family secret: Her dad was never a horticulturist--he was a CIA psychological profiler. Imagine: Every prospective father-in-law seems like a human lie detector, but Mr. Byrnes is the real thing. And so the weekend goes, from bad to worse to mortifying. On the plus side, the gross-out factor is surprisingly low, and the combination of Stiller and De Niro is inspired: No father could be more formidable, no son-in-law better equiped to squirm. But the movie's odd mix of humor consists of disconcerning, organic laughs rooting in Greg's exaggerated but reconizable situation vs. frat-boy yocks at the expense of his last name and profession. If only there were more of the inspired nuttiness that places the hiply Jewish Greg in competition with Pam's old Flame(Owen Wilson)--who took up woodworking because Jesus was a carpenter--and less feline potty humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Meet the Parents

    The movie was very funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    July 10

    As usual, everyone glossed right over Blythe's part. Her comedic timing is impeccable and her beauty lights up the screen. My mission in life is to watch every movie that Blythe has ever done. I just happen to watch Meet the Parents a lot more! Can't wait for the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A MUST SEE IF YOU WANT TO LAUGH UNTIL IT HURTS!!

    One of the greatest comedies that could make you laugh until it hurts. It is one of my favorite movies and I have watched it everytime I catch it on television. It is DeNiro and Stiller at their best. You would just have to see it to believe it and then you would understand why this movie is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bomb is the Word

    Meet the Parents is the funniest movie Ihave ever seen. You will laugh till you cry. This movie will keep you laughing till the end. This is the funniest I have ever senn Ben Stiller in a movie. In the last week I have watched it ten times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the funniest movie ever!!!!!!!!!

    ben stiller is the funniest in the movie. i would reccomend this to anyone i know. can anyone tell me how to set a whole yard on fire???lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Did you laugh til you cried?

    This movie was so breathe takiningly funny!!!I laughed so hard at funny man Ben Stiller and unintentional funny man Robert De Niro. Can any one tell me how to milk a cat??? LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Its all in the casting

    Ben Stiller is great as the nice, not-so-successful kinda guy who everyone walk all over. Deniro...is the same.nuff said

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie

    It was a great movie. It wasn't one of those stupid comdies, but it also wasn't one of those loving type of movies. I laughed my butt off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome!

    Meet The Parents HAS to be one of the best movies ever! its great since the second it started til the last of it! just awesome! i highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A GROOVY MOVIE!!!!

    In Meet the Parents I laughed until I cryed!!! It was all SOOOO funny!!! I love the cat Mr.Jinxs he rocks!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Need to laugh, watch this movie!

    Excellent movie, comedy throughout the entire movie. Ben Stiller and Robert Deniro work the comedy scenes like harmony. I hope there is a Meet The Parents 2. I would love to meet the Fockers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Laughed 'till I cried

    Meet The Parents is probably the funniest movie I have ever seen. When it came out on video, I was the first one to go and buy it. Ben Stiller is so funny. I laughed so hard that I had tears streaming down my face and I had to run to the restroom after the movie was over. There are few movies that have been able to do this to me. I have watched it so many times that my video is probably going about to break. I am just going to have to go and buy a new one. I can't get enough of Meet The Parents. If you haven't watched it already, I suggest that you run out and see it right now. It's the best movie that you'll ever see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Meet the Parents- An instant classic

    Meet the Parents was my favorite movie! I though it was wonderful how once something good happened to Greg something bad was sure to follow. Ben Stiller was great as Greg Focker and Robert De Niro was great as Jack Byrnes. This movie truly was an instant classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Meet the Parnets A True Family Reunion

    this movie is a true family reunion, Ben Stiller wants to mary a former CIA agents daughter. He must pu him through some certain tests because he thinks of him as a liar. Ben goes through a mess of lies and he has many problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2