Customer Reviews for

Memoirs of a Geisha

Average Rating 4.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    ang ganda ng kwento at nakakainspire....

    ang ganda ng kwento at nakakainspire....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Memoirs of a geisha

    A really emotional movie about a girl who does everything she can to be with the one she loves.It is a really good show i enjoy it as it explores the colourful world of being a geisha and even the bad parts.i would totally recommend it as the the triumph at the end is makes the show worthwhile

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful, but could have been more

    Like the book, I have a love/hate relationship with this movie. Some fluff and triteness certainly could have been trimmed from this tale, but overall I could not resist it. The raw story of children sold by parents without better options touched a nerve. So did the truth that some people are forced to do the best they can, and cannot hope or dare to dream for lives that others may take for granted. I appreciated the characters and some of their less admirable actions even better after seeing this on screen, although some other characters get lesser treatment here than in the book. This is a shame for those who haven't read it; their full stories were poignant and moving. I must admit I found myself more fond of characters other than the protagonist, and this probably hurt my enjoyment of this story told in first-person. She simply did not seem to have learned so much from her experience, or to have fully matured in either version.<BR/> <BR/>The film is absolutely gorgeous, and the work put into cinematography and costuming was impressive. On the other hand, I disagreed with the slight modernization (Westernization?) of the geishas' standards of beauty and dance. I wasn't as captivated by the choreograph as I'd hoped to be, given that Sayuri's great talent was supposed to be dance. I found myself carried away by other sensory aspects of the film: musical score, vibrant colors, lighting, the feeling of the changes in weather and the seasons at different turning points in the film.<BR/><BR/>Originally I was skeptical of the decision to cast several Chinese actresses in leading roles, but I loved their performances. Gong Li is the believably beautiful but broken "diva," and Michelle Yeoh is the success, her rival, who has managed to keep a lock on her inner self to become the perfect illusion. Koji Yakusho is perfect as noble but prickly Nobu. The idea of private vs. public realities, and the illusory nature of their art and confusing relationships with their clients/patrons, and colleagues/rivals, are portrayed by all the actors very well. It offers an interesting peek into a mysterious world, and some very elegant warfare! <BR/><BR/>Still, some things about it grated on me, such as the efforts to mimic Japanese speech and poetic turns of phrase ( I did not feel the book or screenplay captured it well), the focus on Sayuri's atypical beauty, and the Cinderella quality of the tale. I was disappointed when what I perceived as the less-real-and-more-saccharine Cinderella aspects appeared to overwhelm, since I appreciated the grittier aspects of the story. In short, I thought it could have been more compelling if the creators had reigned in the romanticism and exoticism somewhat.<BR/><BR/>The ambiguity of the message of the women's role and other controversial aspects (interpretation of mizuage) were difficult for the film makers to adequately explain. The movie takes great pains to point out that the geisha were not prostitutes (over and over again the characters find ways to state this), but then the depiction of mizuage as a type of bidding for deflowering a virgin maiko makes this contention absurd. I applaud them for not shying away from the controversy anyway. The whole subject of mizuage is a battle scene, and has been followed by legal threats, undercover anthropologists, and all kinds of interesting follow-up reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    When I saw the movie for the first time, all I could think about was the art involved. It's all done very well. The kimonos are wonderfully embroidered and reflect each character in its own way to emphasize their characteristics. I couldn't belive that the book was actully made into a movie and I'm very glad it was. It gave the actors and actresses a chance to express emotion in a way that most people overlook. It gave the artists a chance to experiment with their own skills with the kimono and the sets that had to be built and most importantly, it gave the author of a wonderful book the chance to see his book transform into a beautifully written and directed movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Laotong, or '' Old Same''

    ''Memoirs of a Geisha'' was powerfully alive, unfolding like a waking dream, haunting, magical, and absolutely imposible to forget.I was surprised that there were actually some people that disliked this film! Well, do not let other peoples' opinions put you down.This film was a provoacative and beautiful portrait. It is a beautiful and sad tale of longing for love that touches your heart and breaks it at the same time. The book was also marvelous and vivid as the movie. If you have never read the book, I suggest that you start now! No highschool English teacher should pass the year without reading this book!! I think we could all understand Sayuri and the female friendship and power. We have all been in Sayuri's place at some point in our lives.I think that this is the best Cinderella story that has ever been in this new generation.This film is so mesmerizing and it draws you into it as if the story were real and as if Sayuri were a real, breathing character. You will not be disapointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    what a fabulous movie

    I enjoyed this movie very much. I thought it was the best movie since the ten commandments with charlton heston. I would recomend this movie for ages 10 and up. At least there is a person in this movie that children want to be and adults want to be with. I hope that you will enjoy this movie as much as I did. Natasha Bogutzki age 12

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    so good

    This is one of my favorite movies ever! it's amazing. Although I have the hardest time reading the book and watching the movie, I thought this still portrayed most of the book. The book just went into a lot more depth about the culture of geishas. Kudos to both the book and movie. I will remember them for ever. I even did a National History Day project on geishas becaus of seeing the movie. So if you want to see a really good movie or read a really good book, I recommend Memoirs of a Geisha.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good but needs work

    Director Rob Marshall captures many great aspects of this film. A wonderful story and a wonderful production but some parts of the book were changed and the scenes did not fit well. This movie I would not recommend to everyone due to the story line and the intensive nature of humans. Parents should be strongly cautioned before letting their kids see this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Bit Boring

    When the movie first started I thought it was going to be interesting. I was somewhat wrong though. The movie focuses to much on her childhood and not enough on her adult life as a geisha. Also it is very long and can get boring at certain parts. This movie is really just okay although Ziyi Zhang gives a strong performance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a great movie

    this movie is a touching and moving film that you can watch like all kinds of times. when i first saw the cover i thought it was going to be dumb but when i watched it it was really good i would recommend this film to everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't judge it until you watch it

    Im 16 and my best friends took me to this movie. I on no level wanted to see it, it didn't look like my kind of movie. When we got to the theater I tried to get them to see a different movie, but they wouldn't. I absolutely LOVED this movie. I was so happy they took me to see it. It was such an amazing story and had me in happy tears at the end. I still thank them for making me go see that movie. If your not sure please watch it you'll love it!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bittersweet

    The experience of this movie was mixed for me. I have all ready read the book. I guess my expectations were too high, as they often are when a book is adapted into a movie. The movie offered a lot, although there were a few things that I probably wouldn't have understood had I not read the book first. I know that books into movies are altered for the simple fact that most people have a short attention span and a movie must keep a captive audience. But, the culmination of the romance and the story between Sayuri and the Chairman was anti-climactic for me because Sayuri's journey and everything she went through was "compressed for time." The book also tells what happens after that final meeting between Sayuri and the Chairman, up until the death of the Chairman. On the other hand, the movie offered me a face to the characters I had grown to admire. It was beautifully created and acted. Another good thing about this movie that is so hard to find is that it can support itself. One can see this movie and love it and not wonder what the book must have been like. While so many adaptations fall short. The movie itself, the set designs and the costumes were absolutely gorgeous. A definite visual masterpiece. I would recommend this movie to anyone who loves a good romance and a wonderfully acted movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Complete disappointment

    After reading the book, I was extremely excited to see the movie. I wanted to see the entire book spring to life. The movie was a beautiful event to see, but would be confusing if you had not read the book. The movie spent too much time on the early part of her life and glossed over the best part of her becoming a geisha. All in all do not waste your time on this long, boring movie. I would like my money and time back. Don't waste your time too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Can't Wait!!!!!

    THis is by far a great film!!!! Gong Li delivers a perfect Hatsumomo and Ziyi Zhang brings Sayuri to life!!!! Brilliant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3