Customer Reviews for

Metropolis

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great movie

I was lucky enough to see this version of Metropolis on the big screen at a local theater a few months ago, and it immediately became one of my favorite movies of all time. The visual effects, while out-dated now, still had the effectiveness of more modern movies like ...
I was lucky enough to see this version of Metropolis on the big screen at a local theater a few months ago, and it immediately became one of my favorite movies of all time. The visual effects, while out-dated now, still had the effectiveness of more modern movies like The Matrix. If you see one silent film in your lifetime, make it this one.

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is a terrible print!

Metropolis is one of the defining moments of the 20th century. Beatifully shot, and choreographed. The visual effects set the standard and influences film makers even today. However, this wonderful film is done a disservice on this DVD. The screen is cropped at t...
Metropolis is one of the defining moments of the 20th century. Beatifully shot, and choreographed. The visual effects set the standard and influences film makers even today. However, this wonderful film is done a disservice on this DVD. The screen is cropped at the top and left. It is so contrasty, that you can't see the faces or any of the elaborate and beatiful sets. Much of the impact of the coreography is lost. The music is nice, but it does not go with the picture. Were it not the only Metropolis on DVD I can find, I would have returned it. The print is very bad. I've seen better on VHS. Please tell me if you have found a good print on DVD!

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie

    I was lucky enough to see this version of Metropolis on the big screen at a local theater a few months ago, and it immediately became one of my favorite movies of all time. The visual effects, while out-dated now, still had the effectiveness of more modern movies like The Matrix. If you see one silent film in your lifetime, make it this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh My !

    How could anyone give anything BUT a 5-star review for this movie ?!? Kino Video has restored this video to near-perfection and heaped many extras, as well. The DVD is well worth the price.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great....

    Brigitte Helm is wonderful in this film, and the special effects are beyond their time. Fritz Lang did a great job with this political thriller. It's provocative and thought provoking. Definitely a must have for ANYONE who loves MOVIES period.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    This movies turned me on to silent films. They know how to make them back then.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a terrible print!

    Metropolis is one of the defining moments of the 20th century. Beatifully shot, and choreographed. The visual effects set the standard and influences film makers even today. However, this wonderful film is done a disservice on this DVD. The screen is cropped at the top and left. It is so contrasty, that you can't see the faces or any of the elaborate and beatiful sets. Much of the impact of the coreography is lost. The music is nice, but it does not go with the picture. Were it not the only Metropolis on DVD I can find, I would have returned it. The print is very bad. I've seen better on VHS. Please tell me if you have found a good print on DVD!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    Metropolis - A great classic!

    I love this movie! A piece of early Science Fiction motion pictures! Fritz Lang's last silent movie is brilliant! The cast, and the special effects, are wonderful (especially th lovely Brigitte Helm)! There were moments of graininess in the film. But, don't let that take away the enjoyment of watching it! Do I recommend it? YES!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Poor copy

    My DVD copy was terrible. Every other scene was streaked. I am not sure if the good scenes were the "missing 25 minutes" redone from 16mm or were the original. Very disappointing.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a must own

    In 1927 my mother was 17 years old. Like most of the country at that time she would have been living a largely agrarian lifestyle, a countrified life, filled with cornpone and over-cooked green beans. Her simple cotton clothes would have smelled of some borax-like detergent and her nails would have been short and split from hard work around the farm. Had she made it to town to see this picture show on some muggy Saturday night in 1927 with my father, she would have stared agog at the screen as the phantasmagoric images swam past in futuristic splendor. For a brief hour and a half or so it would have lifted her away from the washboards and wringers and pump handles and udders and brooms and clotheslines. When she came out she would have shaken her head in disbelief and laughed with wonder that such a world could have been created. Imagine yourself in 1927 when you see this film and share the wonder of this, one of the very first films in (and the likely fertile progenitor of) the cinematic genre called science fiction. Its cost, they say, was over $200 millions in adjusted dollars – quite an extravagance for the time, two-thirds the cost of Titanic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Silent sci-fi

    Definitely a must see for film buffs and sci-philes. The sets and costumes are confoundingly prophetic, as are the special effects. But, for all of the astonishingly advanced film techniques, one of the most crucial is missing, the sound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Innovation to the fullest!!!!

    This movie is not only the greatest science fiction film of all time but in my opinion it is also the greatest silent film of all time. You can't explain the feeling this movie gives you, all you can say is this is something you need to see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Masterpiece

    This is by far one of the most memorable movies ever made. Metropolis has influenced everything from "Citizen Cane" to "Blade Runner" to Japanese anime like, "Akira" & Osamu Tezuka/ Rintaro's anime remake of the same name even a Madonna's "Express Yourself" music video! Silent film or not, everyone must see this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Insight to life.

    I have always been interest in this poster that hung above ,heads inside the seattle science center. My curiosity grew after finding out where this Icon was from. The 1920's, silent film era had become attractive .SO I rented metropolis in October 2003 with my son ,who is eight. he liked it,but thought it was very freaky .this was his first silent film .He loves sci.fi..Thou ,I did cover his eyes during the robot's seduction of man . This film was an insightful piece of art,entering the History of MAN'S seemingly constant demise. Frits Lang,thank you! for your vision of architectecture and design. That has, captured are minds,and Imaginations. Amplified Angel Sea Wash. {She still lives}.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The First Classic Science Fiction Film

    I saw this version on the big screen ot my local art center. It is far more complete and compelling than the cheap DVD which I own. The restoration adds immensely to it the power of the film, and having the original score is a huge benefit. One can fault Lang on his particular vision of the future which owes much to Marx and Engels, but the power of the visuals takes you to this future. Silent film is a lost art and this is easily one of the ten greatest silents. Metropolis has influenced endless science fiction films, and many non-genre works as well. Watch it, and its' many decendents will leap into your brain. (I'm certain the lustful men watching the dancer scene inspired Tex Avery in Swing Shift Cinderella and Red Hot Ridinghood.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wow!

    This is one of those movies were your just like wow and then you fall asleep before the movie ends.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2