Customer Reviews for

Metropolis

Average Rating 4.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Interesteing movie with busy animation

    From the previews I was tempted by the animation to pick this one up. The animation is very busy; by this I mean you will be watching the main action but all throughout the peripheral view there are little things going on. The animators certainly tried to bring the city of Metropolis alive. At first it was a little distracting, but once you get into the movie it isn't so bad. The story was kind of odd, but nothing to convoluted. Overall I don't regret purchasing it; the movie is worth watching a couple times. However for my tastes I wouldn't call it a great movie; the characters didn't quite draw me in and the story was a bit weird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very nice Anime title!

    I'm not a huge anime buff, but movies like METROPOLIS just might convert me. It's exciting and visually stunning; the plot is cool, too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tezuka's "Metropolis" breathtaking masterpiece

    Unlike many people who saw this film,I did not think the technical aspects of "Metropolis" overwhelmed the storyline. Being familiar with Osama Tezuka's original cartoon, I would say that Tezuka-san would be proud of what the animators did here. There are moments in this film that are breathtaking - emotionally breathtaking. The film takes you into a completely different world and some images will haunt you forever. For me, the coils of machinery lurching inexorably to absorb the robot girl is one of the great sinister images in animation. There are bleak images in this film superbly counterpointing emotional moments in the plot. Some people thought there was a clash between Tezuka's broad stylizations and the more complex animation here - I think of it more as a dialectical tension. Call me a softie, but the end of this film brings tears to my eyes. This should be required viewing at animation schools. Watch and wonder....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One word: Classic

    I think Rintaro and Otomo really outdone their selves by resurecting Tezuka's manga and putting it into a movie. It was a lot diferent from the manga, it was better. It's a perfect combo: Tesuka's story Otomo's screenplay, and Rintaro's directing. This film is deffinently up in the rankings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Anime Movie

    Metropolis is the country of the future. With its great technology and adventure, this is an anime movie you don't wanna miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A New Anime Movie Classic.

    Be prepared for the next anime classic since Akira. Directed by Rintaro(X,Galaxy Express 999, and Astro Boy.) and written by Katsuhiro Otomo(Akira and Roujin Z) comes a story based on a manga by the godfather of anime Osamu Tezuka(Astro Boy,Pheonix,and Astro Boy.) A boy named Kenici and his uncle, who happens to be a detective, visit the city of Metropolis to investigate a crime which was caused by a mad scientist named Dr. Laughton. But What they don't realize is that Duke Red, the man that created Metropolis, hired Laughton to build a robot named Tima, who happens to be the model after Duke Red's dead daughter. But Rock, who happens to be the adopted son of Duke, is jealous and tries to kill Tima. Later, after Laughton's lab is destroyed be Rock, Kenichi happens to run into Tima when he and his uncle splitted up to find Laughton. In atempped to save Tima's life, Kenichi gets seperated from his uncle. And so the adventure begins with georgeous animation from Madhouse studio. Be prepared for a new classic with a mixture of cel and Digital animation. It will amaze you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ''Metropolis'' is one for the ages

    ''Metropolis'' is something that EVERY japanese anime fan should see, and even some people who aren't fans of the genre. A lot of people say the story is ''overdone'', but I'm of the opinion that if it's a GOOD story, it won't matter how many times you hear it, you'll love it every time. What I loved most about the movie was the conflict with Tima about her identity. Most people have complained that it's not really resolved, but I felt that's another reason the movie was good: it lets YOU make the decision as to what makes a thing a living organism. Also, the music for this movie was both excellent AND important to the story. If you truly watch the movie, you know why Ray Charles' ''I Can't Stop Loving You'' rocks! In closing, I'll say this one more time: BUY THIS MOVIE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tima

    I liked the movie alot. The only thing is that it toched me so deep. It was like I was there sharing Kenichi's feelings. I wish they had put an alternate ending on the DVD, were the girl survives. Tima was the one who died and was my favorite charector. Why did they have Tima die at the end?-if you know why please send me an email.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Metropolis smashes technological boundries

    I must say that if any body has to see a Japanese animated movie, it has got to be Metropolis. Although I must say alot of the footage I have seen in other movies before, I still think it has alot of great scenes and is a perfect movie for anybody who likes a bit of voilence and a strong theme. The way the characters are portrayed and the way the hidden passion is shown among Kenichi(the boy who comes with his detective uncle to find the missing Dr. Lawton) and the human cyborg girl called Tema. I must say it is a very touching story and really made me feel as if the world is just destroying love, not making more. Well, love is not the only thing that is shown in this story. The way the technology is shown is amazing, considering that it was written in 1949 and feels like 2300. Overall I give it 5 because have never seen a movie this powerful ever before. It made me wonder why is the world like this it all. After seeing this, I am now a completely different person. I used to love action and adventure but now I seem to have lost its passion and now I like Metropolis better. I would recomend it to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Many things right, more things wrong.

    ''Metropolis'' is the perfect example of a movie with more bone than meat. I watched it because it was directed by Rintaro of ''X'' fame and written by Katsuhiro Otomo of the brilliant ''Akira''. I don't say this often about such big names, but this movie stunk. It was slow paced and badly animated, or as my brother put it: ''it looks like Disney animation!'' ''Metropolis'' could've been a smash success if the character design wasn't so annoying and the animation was better thought out. Most of the funding by Tri-Star went into badly done Computer Generated animation that looks like it was done in a week. The lighting through the movie is a major problem; the characters look flat and dark compared to their bright and shiny surroundings and many of the antagonists' characters are too cartoony to be evil. The story, however was exceedingly well crafted and looks very good on paper (manga to be precise). This movie suffers from having too much money and not enough brains to know what to do with it. Some of the scenes are well thought out and executed, but who can concentrate on the story when the characters look as if they're the fat cousins of Yu-Gi-Oh?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Metropolis Great

    This japenese anime revival of a classic science fiction has action, bright graphics, and most of all, heart. It also has a very excellent soundtrack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1