Customer Reviews for

Michael Jackson's This Is It

Average Rating 5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Michael Jackson's This is It DVD

    Very entertaining. An insightful look into would could have been one of the greatest comebacks of all time. He performed well after being away from the live stage for so many years. And his back up dancers were very committed and put on a great show. A must see for any MJ fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful!

    I am so grateful to have this last visual work of Michael's that I can treasure forever. He was a beautiful genius, and a wonderful person, and I miss him. The movie was so good and the audience was awe-inspired. This DVD gives even more! Everyone will enjoy and appreciate this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent

    It is better than the movie I saw in the theater; because you get to see all the extra things you did not see on the big screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Man and his music

    What can you say about Michael Jackson he is hot, untouchable, unique, fabulous, world greatest dancer and for me sexy. this shows the human side to him and that is not shown very often. But he is a genuine man who has feelings.
    Miss him and love him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!!

    Any one can even imagine that he will be dead after that!! but everyone pointed at him in his bad moments!! everybody made a piece of dry wood on him!
    Now we lost him..now everybody miss him!! Who understand humans!!?
    This is a great video! so you can see what we lost to have alive!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Must buy

    If you are a Michael Jackson fan, you must add this DVD to your collection. His gift, his vision, his talent, his feel for his music, is shown throughout the movie. The chorography is great and hearing his classics brings back great memories. Thriller is amazing. A great tribute to his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    We will miss you Michael

    My family and I set and reviewed the last actions of a great great entertainer tonight. The title "This is it" was very fitting for this film. I think that the concert would have been awesome. Michael was and shall always be "BAD"!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Greatest Movie Ever About The King Of Pop

    RIP MJ.
    I Love You
    XoXoXoX

    ~Stephanie~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Nothing but Respect ...

    I have nothing but musical respect for Mr. Jackson. This was a great look into what he was preparing for and the behind the scenes production aspect of a world tour. I didn't get to see it in the movies when it came out and I'm not a die-hard, fainting fan of his or anyone for that matter. I never had the desire to go to any of the tour shows either. Yet I do know he's the King of Pop! I was touched in many ways while watching this. I love the music he created. Especially when he was a young boy/man. It reminds me of so many fun times I had growing up. I had a poster of him in my teens and had a Thriller styled jacket so I had to have "This Is It". Just because of the significance and nostalgia of it all. Mr. Ortega is a master at capturing the many facets of what took place in preparation for the tour before Michael's death.

    Any performing artist would be well off with this in their library. His fans will obviously love it. I also have to agree with Celine Dion (who was on Oprah recently) who said (Paraphrase) that she had sort of listened to the media (news or what-have-you) that he was sick and even as his friend had kind of believed them but after watching this she saw for herself that he was well and himself.

    He didn't look sick to me either considering I wouldn't know what sick coloring would be for him. I still feel even though he didn't look like the Michael I'm use too (his cosmetic issues) he didn't give me the impression of being sick or sounding sickly at all. He had a great deal of energy. He was having fun and like any other perfectionist and artist trying to make sure things were in sync. with music, dance and all the stage production (Lights, etc.). He wasn't doing everything full out because you don't always do everything full out you just mark movements to get the timing. He didn't sing every piece in their entirety for the same reason. He even says it, "I'm saving my voice." You can see he wants to give the shows everything he has to offer so he conserves his voice but even with that he has fun and goes there once or twice anyway.

    Again if you are or have ever been just a bit of a fan in some way it is something you will want to see at least once. Good Luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Compilation of songs

    I thought this would be a sappy, sentimental tribute to Michael Jackson. I was so wrong! Nothing is mentioned about Michael's passing. Instead, it celebrates his music and the process he used to put together a show. Almost every song that you would want to hear him sing one last time is in this video.

    It was entertaining, touching at times. No matter what you may have thought about his personal life, or think about the circumstances of his death, this is just pure entertainment. A positive, upbeat look at his work and songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An incredible movie

    It made you cry, smile, and pat your foot. He was right, "This Is It". There is none other that can entertain and/or perform like MJ. God bless this family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love Lives Forever

    Truly love does live forever in this touching look at a genius at work and play lol. This movie chronicles the creative process behind what would've been Michael Jackson's comeback tour. We get to see the man behind the entertainer and get a real look at a personal side of Michael that most have never seen before. Present throughout the film is Michael's messege of peace and love. We get to see him perform the songs we grew to love him for, one last time. Although he is not in performance mode, as these are rehearsals, it is still magical. This last glimpse at what Michael Jackson was preparing for the world, the fans and his children, with such love is electric and emotional. It is worth every minute to watch. We loved u more MJ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It is highly engaging, informative, and emotional.

    The documentary portion of the DVD weaves a story that many thought they knew but it moves past the obvious and highlights just how talented Michael Jackson was. Everyone knew he could dance and sing, but the movie shows that he was involved in every aspect of the performances, down to the smallest nuances. While watching I started out tapping my foot, then clapping, then full out singing. Clearly, I found it most enjoyable and have suggested it to many friends. Be sure to watch the special features for some extra special surprises!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is a must have!

    Awesome documentary of what would have been the greatest musical tour ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Thank you MJ

    What a gift Michael was - thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    This is a side of Michael so many of us have not seen. I like his music but seeing this very humble side of him I didn't expect. All we see on TV and in the press is negitive about him but you can see by the reactions of the people closest to him, the people he works with, the respect they have for the man. He does not have the blown up ego like so many stars do, the "Look at me I am here and I am boss, what I say goes" attitude. He really listens to those around him. Was blown away with emotion watching this on a big screen, can't wait to buy the DVD!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Reveals his true heart of humility.

    A lifelong fan of The King of Pop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Most Important King To Ever Live

    I first saw This Is It in the theater and I thought, "WOW!" I was speechless but not surprise at the quality of the film, after all it started Michael Jackson. This Is It shows Michael Jackson as golden as he always was and on point as usual. You are not a true MJ fan if you don't own a copy in the near future. This DVD will make you cry and relive the day the world learned of his untimely death, yet it will also transmitt happiness into your soul, as it did mine. I felt thankful that I was able to experience living during the time this King was alive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    everything Michael

    This is it CD is a great collection of MJ favorites. I can't wait to get the DVD. Michael you are the best , now and forever. Miss you

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4