Customer Reviews for

Michael Jackson's This Is It

Average Rating 5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(71)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Truly A Creative Genius At Work

    If you are any type of Michael Jackson fan, you need to see this film. It showcases the raw, creative genius of the man adored world wide by his fans and family alike. You will laugh and cry at the same time. It truly is a heartwarming film that takes you behind the scenes of this wonderfully talented man's vision.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The best of MJ

    loved it and loved the new song 'This is it'.
    it is very sad that we have lost a legend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Surprised that I really liked the movie

    I went to see the movie in the theater, expecting something as bad as the other Michael movies I have see. I was very surprised to actually enjoy it, and now I plan to buy it when it comes out for home.

    There a glimses of Michael's personallity peaking through the rehersals, showing a solid professinal man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Michael without the glamour, Raw, and emotional, a Genius at work!, I felt like I was at the rehearsals with him! Love you MJ!

    For more than 30 years I have adored this genius of a man and entertainer. From the firt time I saw him on TV and then seeing him live on stage, I knew he was special. Not special like a friend, but special in a way that, not until the day he died, did I realize he would not be a part of this world forever. He was just that amazing to me, and when I saw this movie, I felt a sense of warmth over me, realizing at that moment, that although he is now in a peaceful place, his time on this earth was done, and "This is It" was really his last curtain call. This is all we were suppose to see of Michael. This is it!

    For me it was the Michael I never got to see. The Raw, Passionate, Emotional and Hard-working Michael! I have always seen Michael if not on stage performing, in movies, doing interviews (the few that he did do) out and about with his kids, his entourage, and so on, but this was truly the real deal. Maybe it was the movie theater, the seating, I don't know, but for almost 2 hours, I was apart of Michaels world and what gave him joy. The Stage snd entertaining. He was so much apart of these rehearsals for what would have been a fantastic show, you knew this was Michael at his best, and the better of that was yet to come, but never will. But in all honesty its okay!

    For more than 40 years he has touched so many lives through his music and his kind heart, and although his death was a tragedy, and should not have happened, the bottom line his amazing talent and work on this earth was done. A masterpiece that will never ever be duplicated.

    He will not see his kids grow up and become adults, and they will never get to see their father perform live onstage, but this movie will actually give them something that a live show could not, their genius Father at work as well as being a friend to his musical family. He was gentle, kind and although strived for perfection in every rehearsal, you knew he cared for each and every person that was apart of that show. Despite all the negativity surrounding MJ, his kids will have this movie to look at over and over again, and really get to see what he was all about. They can take comfort in knowing that he was a human being, blessed with incredible talent whose music captured the essence of who he was.

    It is unfortunate that his dream concert will never happen, but was it really suppose to? Maybe in the end this was all we were suppose to get. If you never really understood the real MJ, see this movie, it truly opens your eyes to MJ, the human being! He had a soul, a heart, and an incredible appetite for the stage. He was married to it.

    See this movie and feel the Genius that graced the stage for his final curtain call. No, you will not see the glitz and fireworks that would have been a part of his show, but thats the beauty of this movie, its without all of that, and you will just get to see Michael, Raw, doing what he did best!

    Two thumbs up to Mr Ortega!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Michael Jackson - Entertainer of the Century

    FANTASTIC!!! What a great movie. I can't say enough wonderful things about it. I was in awe at the sheer talent and energy exhibited by Michael Jackson. I saw a part of him that I might never have seen if he had lived, though I would much prefer he was alive. He was so at ease with everyone involved and showed what a truly wonderful human being he was. He showed so much compassion and love for the people he performed with and the human race in general. I had no idea how much work, energy, effort and thought went into his performances. I watched him fly through the rehearsals like the expert superstar that he was. There will never, ever be another Michael Jackson - no one can come close to being at his level. He knew exactly how everything should sound, when it should be heard, how loud or soft it should be, everything. And he was the man in charge - the one who called the shots at all times. I kept wondering how he could possibly know all this and be so good at it. I was amazed at his fabulous dance steps and his incredible voice. Then I realized - no wonder he is the King of Pop - he has been doing this since he was a little boy. It is in his blood, every cell of his body, it was his whole life. He was awesome in the rehearsals and I know he would have been even more amazing than anyone could imagine if he had lived to perform the London shows. It would have been his life's greatest accomplishment. But I am so pleased and profoundly grateful to his family and others who allowed This Is It the movie to be filmed. I don't know if Michael would have liked it if he knew we would see him rehearsing rather than the live performance, but given the circumstances, I know he would be happy that his family left a great treasure for his fans around the world in this movie. Of all the Michael Jackson DVDs, this one will be the most special to me. He had no idea that this would be the last show for him. I pray that he is in heaven singing and dancing with the angels and waiting on the rest of the world to catch up to him! God Bless you Michael - I will always love you and appreciate the gift of your life and talents that you gave to the world. I'll see you again one day when I get to heaven - just be sure to have your dancing shoes on!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Keeper of a DVD, A Masterful, Entertaining, Enthralling Portrait of Creative Genius

    I saw this movie the first time in IMAX with enhanced sound and enlarged screen. I went by myself because I wanted to take it in, for Michael Jackson's death (only two weeks ago) was still resonating with me and with everyone who loved him and would miss him.

    I sat in the theatre and it felt surreal. Here was Michael, his beautiful songs, his genius and creativity pouring forth. It felt like I was being let into a private concert and the privilege felt so personal. The movie unfolded this concert that Michael had been rehearsing and was about to mount in London. He called it THIS IS IT, because he intended it to be his last concert ever from the King of Pop. With every song, I felt immersed in genius -- not only his, but his dancers, his musicians, and his director of this documentary film.

    If you missed the movie, now's your chance to see it at home. Invite everyone who loves Michael and share this with them. They will thank you for including them and sharing history.

    I saw this movie 4 more times, taking my friends and family, saying YOU MUST SEE THEM!! And they were glad they did, and thanked me for suggesting it. I did not regret seeing it again and again, and neither do I now. I am only too glad to own this DVD and to view all the special features. Reliving my movie concert through this DVD will keep Michael eternal and be my thanks to Kenny Ortega, the director, for sharing this documentary with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    wonderful tribute

    A side of the timeless performer that we have never been able to see. It is well put together with the rehearsal footage and behind the scenes to give you a feeling of what a tremendous show the "This is it" shows in London would have been like.

    The extra features are just as fantastic, especially the one about the costumes.

    It will make you smile and make you cry. You will be glued to your screen if you love Michael Jackson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Did he know?

    Did he know he was going to die? This wonderful collection of Michael Jackson's works as seen in rehearsal for his last concert preparations for "This is It" leaves one wondering if Michael somehow knew what was going to happen. Judge for yourself. At any rate, it is a very sympathetic commentary on Michael's talent, energy, and most of all, his love for his art and the people he worked with. His coworkers were obviously tremendous fans, which says a lot. Make no mistake--he was a diva--but he had good people working with him who helped him stay focused and grounded throughout the rehearsals. He seemed to know that he needed that grounding, and he always responded to their respectful input.

    This fascinating video takes you through the backstage and onstage efforts that go into a Michael Jackson concert. One is impressed by MJ's personal attention to every detail. The video shows his musical genius, particularly the extent to which he "felt" every note he sang. His art was first, but his love of his fellow beings was a very close second. Up close and personal, he seemed to inspire respect, and yes, pity, from those around him. He was a creature like no other.

    Enjoy the music, the costumes, the choreography, the glimpse into special effects. It's all in this video. Indeed, This it It.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    King of Pop

    You know, I haven't always been an MJ fan, but no matter who you are or what your beliefs on Michael Jackson are, you can find something in This Is It. It's not only inspiring, but you really do see the "Man in the Mirror". I recommend this to all MJ fans, but to music fans and dreamers too. You won't ever regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must buy "This Is It" if you are a Michael Jackson Fan

    Enjoyed the video as much as the movie. The extra footage was fantastic as well. It was not only good to be able to see Michael as an entertainer, but as a real person too. It was fun to see his humor, and perfection while creating this show for his concert tour. Michael Jackson's legacy lives on through this video and the music is remarkable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you love Michael Jackson, this, is indeed it!

    This shows the dedication to his art and his intelligence about what worked
    for shows of this magnitude. I enjoyed watching him dance, which I feel was one of his biggest assets. I believe it showed him to be a kind and loving person who deserved respect. It was so wonderful to be able to see a small part of what could have been the greatest show he ever did! It is well worth it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly beautiful...

    I am assuming that if you purchased "This Is It," you must be a true Michael Jackson fan! I have dedicated myself to his music for the past 25 and a half years and have been deeply affected by his passing. This documentary gives fans a glimpse into the world of a musical genius. Michael is, undoubtedly, the greatest entertainer of all time! It is a film filled with passion, emotion, insight, creativity, dedication, and love. It is such a gift to see Michael create and deliver his art! "This Is It" offers a captivating experience that allows fans to experience Michael's world of wonder! You will not be able to only watch it once.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    MESMERIZING!!

    I truly did not know quite what to expect when I sat down to watch this film. I can only say don't listen to rumours about Michael's being too weak to perform or anything of the sort. This is a gem of a production. Michael is in almost every scene, singing, dancing, and performing his heart out. This film is the reason he is so loved around the world and epitomizes the term "genius". He really was. He knew how to take music, lighting, dancing, and all sorts of special effects and turn it into something exciting and fun. I can only imagine how thrilled his audiences the world over would have been. This was nothing like any of his previous tours. You really get a sense of how close the crew and cast worked together, respected each other, and became a family. Michael was at the center of that. It reminded me so much of the spectacular MGM musicals that were so prevalent in the theaters in the 40s and 50s but then seemed to fade away. I loved the "Smooth Criminal" set and scenes! Thriller was even more thrilling. There was also some great rock and roll scenes with guitarists that would have made Jimi Hendrix smile! The most touching number to me was the one about taking care of the earth and how "this is our last chance".
    The Jackson family, especially Michael's three children must be so proud of this accomplishment. I hope they know how much Michael is loved and missed by so many. He left his footprints on our hearts, minds, and the planet. His sense of humanity is unequalled in the entertainment world. Thank you Michael for giving us so many years of the most thrilling and inspiring entertainment the world has ever seen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS IS IT IS REALLY GOOD!!!

    We wanted to see this movie when it came out, but were told that we would have to pay extra since it was a "Concert"!! We believe that a "Concert" is a LIVE performance, not a movie about a perfomance. However, the DVD was great!! It would have been better if there was more personal and background information, but we were overall satified.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVED THIS MOVIE & DVD!!!

    I've been a MJ fan my whole life, so I was very sad to find out of his passing..But, I was at the theatre the first week this movie came out. I was NOT disappointed! The footage was great and he sounded really good! The concert would have been amazin...Too bad we'll never get to see it life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    PHENOMENAL MOVIE

    ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT THIS MOVIE IS JUST PHENOMENAL!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This is it...

    I saw this movie several times in the theater and loved it so I pre-ordered two copies before it came out to ensure that it wouldn't be sold out in stores.
    It was cheaper with my member discount than it would have been in any other store. However, it took a long time to get here and when I did finally receive it the outside cover was all crunched and ruined!
    Ultimately, I wish that I had paid a little more and bought it in the store because I would have gotten it earlier and the cover would not have been ruined.
    Otherwise, it's fine and for the record, I have been very happy with other purchases that I have made this way in the past!

    Thanks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!

    I went to see This Is It in theatres opening night and it was by far the most amazing thing I have ever seen. This documentary perfectly shows the genius and talent of the one and only Michael Jackson. It revealed the amazing performer we all knew Michael to be, but also his beautiful spirit and love he had for everyone around him. Michael will be forever loved and missed, Rest in Peace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Totally Amazing!

    A must have! To be able to see this genious at work was truly mesmorizing. The extra footage was out of this world not to mention viewing it on Blu-Ray. Your collection is not complete without owning this product.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sadly, "This Is It"

    While "This Is It" may fall short of its promise to introduce to the world a Michael Jackson we didn't know, it cannot be said that the film doesn't entertain. "This Is It" is an amazing presentation of what was to have been the King of Pop's final concert. Remembering that the footage was never intended for public release, it's miraculous how it has been edited and preserved.

    Michael Jackson doesn't fail to dazzle. He's extremely candid in this film from snippy comments to impromptu sing-offs. One can literally see the legend designing a show as he rehearses it. Anyone who's ever enjoyed a single moment of Michael Jackson's long and successful career needs to have this as part of his DVD/Blu-Ray collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4