Customer Reviews for

Midsomer Murders - Set 12

Average Rating 5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Midsomer Murders

    My whole family loves Midsomer Murders. This latest installment in the series did not disappoint. It continues to be one of the best British mystery series around. The scenery is a treat and the characters are so English.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love ALL Midsomer Murders

    Once again not disapointed.The Midsomer Murders series are the best. They keep the viewer entertained till the end. I have been collecting the entire series and watch them over and over again. John Nettles is an awesome actor! I love all of his side kicks.Each one has their own special qualities.As long as they keep this series up i will be a loyal, highly entertained fan.I pray they keep this series going for a VERY long time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Always a worthwhile purchase

    The villages of Midsomer (UK) are a fascinating view of life in a village in the UK. The scenery is quite spectacular and everything true to form. Having lived in several English villages I enjoy these especially for the views of English countryside you see. The cast of characters is terrific and I am so glad that all of the actors have not decided decided to jump ship other than two. The continuity of seeing many of the same players in the different stories is what keeps you engaged. John Nettles is terrific as DCI Barnaby. The story lines are comparable to Agatha Christie but in a more modern setting. Well worth the purchase. Once you buy your first set you'll be hooked!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Midsomer Murder DVDs are the best!

    The BBC puts out great mysteries and comedies. Some I've seen through Netflix or BBC America or Public Television. However, the "Midsomer Murder" series is so good that I like to see them over and over, so I've purchased the whole set so far. The quirky small English village characters are always fun to watch, as are the main characters that return each story. The mysteries are always satisfying.
    Other BBC series I've felt worth purchasing include "Yes, Minister", "Yes, Prime Minister", "Vicar of Dibley", "Brother Cadfael", "To the Manor Born", "Jeeves and Wooster", "Are You Being Served?", "Thin Blue Line", "Keeping Up Appearances", and "Miss Marple".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best murder mystery series ever!

    My husband and I LOVE this series!! The stories are interesting, complex, and with the beautiful English countryside as the backdrop - it is irresistible!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Midsomer Strikes Again!

    The latest in Midsomer crime! Inspector Barnaby, always unflappable, and Detective Constable Jones face new mysteries among the leafy lanes of Midsomer county. The stories are well plotted with interesting characters and a bit of humor. A great addition to the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Keeps on getting better!

    The Midsomer Murders series has become one of my most anticipated DVD releases and I always look forward to a few relaxing evenings watching the superb performances of John Nettles (Barnaby) and his supporting cast. Jason Hughes as Jones is coming into his own and he seems to be more comfortable in his role as Barnaby's right hand man as the series progresses. The cases are interesting and it's fun to get insight into Barnaby's personal life and interaction with his wife and daughter. The stories are populated with interesting characters, and the location scenery is beautiful. As always, when I finished this current series, I wanted more, and I can't wait for the next release.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This Midsomer really kills me!

    The usual outstanding acting which is the hallmark of each of the Midsomer Murders series, but this one especially reached out and assaulted my funny bone. Sly humor, well cared for characters are still the backbone of each show. Never dull. Lots of death, but displayed in good British taste. Well done. Well done, indeed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Midsomer Murders set 12

    This continues to be a very well produced British series. It keeps the title character in place as his sidekicks move on.I would reccomend this series to those who like not so gory mysteries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable as always

    I have all the Midsomer Sets and this is of the same high quality. I do enjoy the characters and find the new Detective Sargeant very entertaining. I would always recommend that a person start with Set 1 and watch their way to this set but this one is good and worth the time. This series is about the heroe and his eccentricities in solving the crime. Many other fun characters involved and always a good plot. Poirot is #1 but this is a good 2 or 3--enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Midsomer Murders Season 12 is repetitive of other seasons, stories.

    I was a little disappointed in the plot lines of the four stories in Season 12. However, I did enjoy seeing how the main characters had grown in their relationships with each other and friends. I am looking forward to Season 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful series to watch. Truly enjoy the characters. They are always interesting and quirky. The settings are diverse and indicate a true look at the wonderful at the English countryside. John Nettles does a wonderful job of creating a

    character who is very believable! Jason Hughes is also very believable in his role. The cast which includes the family of the lead character also gives the watcher an insight into what it's like for the family of a chief inspector. A good follow up to the first 11 series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I keep wanting more and more and more

    Midsomer Murders is one of the best. I was not disappointed watching any of the series. the writers and actors keep getting better and better.

    My husband started watching with me and to his surprise he actually likes it. Some british cinema are over the p, boring or dragging. Midsomer Murders is NOT! Keep it coming. I own set 1-12 of Midsomer Murders offered to america.

    I would love more.

    I love that you include the families of the detectives.

    Keep them coming please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Midsomer Murders fans will not be disappointed

    I highly recommend the whole Midsomer Murders series.

    The stories are interesting and fun, and unlike some other English murder mysteries the plots are not so convoluted as to be incomprehensible.

    I have all the Midsomer Murders episodes released here in the US to date, and "Country Matters" is my favorite of the whole lot.

    The other three episodes in this set are also good, with "Death in Chorus" being my second-favorite in this set.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This show keeps getting better and better!

    Barnaby and Jones are in fine form as they track down the murderers in the beautiful county of Midsomer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved every DVD in the SET!

    I have all 12 sets of the Midsomer Murder Series and always enjoy them. Each of the DVD's in this set were very good and hope there will be a set 13 very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Midsomer Murders

    I have been a fan of Midsomer Murders for many years now. I love them! This latest DVD release was just as engaging as the first. I once lent my first volume to my neighbor and now she too is a fan. We sit down, put our feet up, and just throw ourselves into each plot. I'm not sure if it's the scenery, the humorous repartee, or the plot, but as soon as the theme song starts, we are transported to the world of Midsomer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2