Customer Reviews for

Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    A Day to Remember

    This movie is utterly enchanting. The story is captivating and the characters unforgettable. The score is a perfect montage of 30's classics carefully chosen to fit the scene. The themes of sex and hedonism are tastefully played out without the need for gratuitous nudity or sexuality.

    And any film with a great "transformation" scene is enjoyable; the part where the underfed Miss Pettigrew pulls the spa cucumbers off her eyes and eats them is a gem. The foreshadowing of the violent war to come is seamlessly woven into the plot. The contrast between the seemingly care-free beautiful young things and the older generation scarred by the first war heightens for the viewer the sense hardships to come.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The studios screwed up when they didn't do publicity for this one

    This is one great film. It isn't edge of the seat thrilling; but it does give a big helping of hope, fun and enjoyment with a large dash of love conquers all. It sounds trite. But, this is one film that feeds the hope for a happily ever after. It's set right on the verge of World War II in London. The heroine has been sacked because she is an incompetent governess. You see that she has not escaped from her upbringing in an English Vicarage.
    With her new employer (and a big fear of unemployment), Miss Pettigrew learns how to compromise and how to accept. She also helps to "teach" her new employer how to grow up and how to choose what is best for her life.
    Miss Pettigrew learns to be human. She feels the sting of fear, she remembers what it was like to love and what it was like to live. She doesn't forget how to be honorable and learns to stand up for what is important.

    This film is easily watched and re-watched. The characters and the actors & actresses who portray them are perfect. The casting director deserves a standing ovation. The writer deserves praise. The music is fantastic (I adore Cole Porter).

    I can't recommend this film enough. I love it. I hate the studios for not letting me know when it hit the theater. I would have gone twice!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    24 hours

    Love and life have bypassed middle-aged Guinevere Pettigrew, who is the quintessential English governess, newly unemployed. Beautiful but ditsy American singer Delysia Lafosse is doing her utmost to land a plum role on the London stage. When Guinevere approaches Delysia in hopes of a job, opposites attract, and it isn't long before Guinevere sets her mind to helping her find true happiness. And to eating as much as she possibly can before this bubble bursts.

    Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day is filled with humor and music, as Guinevere steers Delysia through her tumultuous day. Complications abound. The governess smokes a cigar, undergoes a makeover, and falls prey to blackmail from an unscrupulous social climber. Delysia, deaf to Guinevere's wisdom, makes all the wrong decisions. Will Delysia ever find true happiness? Will Miss Pettigrew?

    Frances McDormand is outstanding in the title role, while Amy Adams reprises her wide-eyed, golly-gee persona from Enchanted. Ciaran Hinds and Lee Pace are also well-cast. Pacing is quick and direction tight, and the visuals of the glamorous milieu of pre-WWII London are elegant and sophisticated. The bouncy, 1930's era soundtrack perfectly sets the tone. A frothy romantic comedy with heart, highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding cast, great music and the story keeps you interested the entire time

    Can't say enough about this movie. If you are looking for a fun comedy, great music and a period piece then you can't find anything better than this movie. This is the type of movie you can buy for your library and watch year after year and still enjoy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Jolly Good Show!

    After being cajoled by my fiancee to see "Mrs. Pettigrew Lives for a Day", I begrudgingly agreed and went to the theater. However, the amazing sets, complex storyline, and excellent performaces quickly made me realize that I may have judged this book by its cover. This is a movie that is good for all audiences and very enjoyable to watch; highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A wonderful little film

    It is so refreshing to see a truly feel-good movie that leaves you feeling optimistic and satisfied. This little film with the enchanting Amy Adams and the witty and wise Frances Mcdormand is the perfect anecdote to the depressing, violent films that usually flood the theaters. The music, the costumes, and the set decoration will delight you. As will the adorably scruffy Lee Pace as one of Delysia's many suitors. A great movie to uplift anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'Brother, can you spare a dime?'

    The lead-in cinematic and musical elements for this delightfully entertaining, fast paced, little bit of nostalgia film prepares the viewer for the story as well as any 'overture' could. The setting is London in the 1930s, the day of the first blitzkrieg, and the tone of the imagery is that quiet depression and angst that tainted the world during that time. We meet our main character Miss Guinevere Pettigrew, a dowdy, middle-aged failed governess as she wanders through the streets and soup kitchens - all to the tune of 'Brother, can you spare a dime'. This 'day in a life' abruptly changes when Miss Pettigrew, still saddened by the loss of her beloved in WW I and struggling to be moral as the daughter of a clergyman in a world gone to tatters. How she finds one day of joy - and in the process changes the lives of those she encounters - is the line of the story, a screenplay by David Magee and Simon Beaufoy based on the novel of the same name by Winifred Watson and directed with a fine sense of timing and comedy cum pathos by Bharat Nalluri. Quite by a fluke Miss Pettigrew (Frances McDormand) absconds the name of a potential client from her caustic job finder and rings the bell of one Delysia Lafosse (Amy Adams), a beautiful young American manipulator of men living in one boyfriend's luxurious flat while entertaining others who may help her reach her dream of being a star on the musical stage. Delysia believes Miss Pettigrew to be a social secretary and immediately involves her in the game of her life of flirtation and illusion. Miss Pettigrew, at first shocked by the 'social setting', soon adapts and indeed supports Delysia's efforts of meandering through gentleman callers, and as Delysia finds Miss Pettigrew indispensible she dresses her well and introduces her to a life Miss Pettigrew finds quite foreign but equally fascinating. In rapid fire sequence, at times overlapping like a Keystone Cops movie, we meet Delysia's paramours (played with devilish glee by Tom Payne, Mark Strong, and Lee Pace) as well as high society dames (Shirley Henderson) and the one man who seems above it all - Ciar&#225 n Hinds. All of this wild dash through the superficial society affairs is played against the all but ignore threat of the impending WW II and it all happens in one day. But at the end of that day the bond between Miss Pettigrew and Delysia is genuinely sealed and for a moment at least it seems Miss Pettigrew's previously dour existence has changed. A fine cast, an intelligent director and a cinematographer John de Borman and musical director Paul Englishby make this bit of froth into a confection that contains some social commentary ingredients. The costumes and sets are splendid and provide a view of London before the devastation of the war that is rich in nostalgia. Not a great movie, but a delightful romp that allows McDormand and Adams the opportunity to demonstrate their considerable comedy gifts. Grady Harp

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A light and airy romp.

    Amy Adams and Frances McDormand lead the grade-A cast through this light, frothy comedy about a down-and-out governess, Miss Pettigrew (McDormand) who after being fired, steals a reference to be an assistant to the ditzy socialite and wannabe actress, Delicia (Adams) who is flip-flopping between a man who could make her rich and famous, and a man who is poor but loves her unconditionally. Its no mystery how the film will conclude, yet it makes you smile nearly the whole time. The two leads are perfect, especially McDormand. Amy Adams will no doubt go on to be one of the great character actors of her era. Its too bad Oscar will no-doubt pass this sleeper of a movie over in favor of blockbusters. I saw this twice in the theatre and already have it pre-ordered. I loved this delightful little jem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Talented cast, very entertaining & sweet story! I'm a fan o

    Talented cast, very entertaining & sweet story! I'm a fan of Ciaran Hinds, who's good in anything he's been in, and his character in this is especially endearing. Highly recommended for anyone who loves beautifully shot , nostalgic period-pieces, with equally appropriate & fun '30's period music and gorgeous Art Deco sets!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Miss Pettigrew lives for a Day

    What a surprisingly delightful movie! McDormand gives a very fine, stellar and subtle performance that goes perfectly with Amy Adams' over-the-top character. It is a wonderful ensemble cast that brings this fun script to the screen in an enjoyable way. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Delight

    Enjoyed this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Lighthearted movie

    I first mainly wanted to see this movie becaus it has one of my favorite actors, Ciran Hinds, in it, but I fell in love with this movie. It was quirky, funny, lovable and just a great fun to watch. <BR/><BR/>Miss Pettigrew is down on her luck, she just got fired and she is very hungry. She sees a card about a job, so she goes and to apply for it and gets sweep into Delysia's life. She is a social secretary for one day, but it is a most entertaining day. <BR/><BR/>Fav. Quote: "Sock'em in the Jaw." "He's a much bigger boy than I imagined."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2