Customer Reviews for

Monsoon Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Colourful

    This movie is flush with colour, but not just chromatically, but emotionally, intellectually, and culturally. Nair uses both professional talent and non-actors, minimal use of dollies in favour of hand-held cinematography, and best of all, every single scene is on-location this is a studio-free movie, a real rarity today. At least 5 main plots (and at least 3 sub-plots) play out simultaneously, but Nair manages to keep each one distinct yet interrelated. The characters are rich--no one is purely evil, no one is purely good. The stories are easy to understand because they actually play out in real life every day! Nair puts everything in this movie tragedy, romance, humor, and drama. How this movie escaped more critical acclaim is beyond me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my all time favorite

    I absolutely love this film...can't count the number of times I have watched it. I love this family. once you sort out who the various characters are, along with their varied plot lines, you will be forever hooked! watch it along with nair's commentary (at least once.) you will learn so much about this wonderful culture. the characters, the clothing, the music...all beautiful!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A glimpse of traditions

    Meera Nair brings out the drama that goes behind social rituals in India. She has directed her actors with ease and made them live their characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable

    My 11 year old daughter and I own this movie and we love it. We have loaned it out to several friends who all say they have enjoyed it too....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very colourful, rich and intruiging movie

    Natural! Realistic and captivating! The actors were able to draw you into their culture and convey the emotions and anxieties in family reunions. I was particularly impressed by Miss Shetty and Vijay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I had seen this film number of times and I really love it.

    Mira Nair is brilliant director I mean who makes a film 30 days!! Couldn't believe it. Fantastic production values, mind, not like many other Indian movies I've seen. And down-to-earth realistic, not like Bollywood. Yes, there is singing and dancing, but in context, not every five minutes! I have nothing against Bollywood, but I'm glad to see that there is a higher standard of Indian film-making out there. Having seen most of her films, I await eagerly for more of her view of her home land. I would recommend this movie to anyone who is interested in customs and traditions of cultures other than one's own. This movie addresses marriage, family, falling in love and the hurts and joys which make it all worth while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyed It

    Didn't really know what to expect from this one and was pleasantly surprised. Basically, this film consists of four or five intertwining stories surrounding an arranged marriage in India. It seems like the multiple story device in filmmaking has become the norm since the success of Pulp Fiction. It definitely works well here. For two hours I felt like I was absorbed into the Punjabi Indian culture. The characters in this film were very authentic. In fact, it almost had a documentary feel to it ... and I briefly wondered if the director had cast her own family and friends as the lead parts and filmed the preparation of a real wedding. Certainly this film helps to dispell the ridiculous notion that the "best" filmmaking originates from America, and particularly Hollywood. Of course, most people who hold that notion probably think that "Billy Madison" was a work of art. At any rate, its refreshing to see that a film like this can come out of India and really be as good as any project developed in the U.S. during 2001. Finally, this is not a negative comment, but a word of caution: The characters jump back and forth between speaking English and their native language... and for the first few minutes this is annoying. However, the viewer can quickly adapt to reading the subtitles when necessary, and it doesn't really affect the presentation. Trust me... I have a short attention span, and if I can take it then I bet you can too. In fact... this language shift eventually adds to the authentic flavor of the film. I certainly recommend this movie as something different and refreshing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Cultural Introduction to India

    This is NOT a big Bollywood extravaganza. Rather, it is a small but lavish production on the emotions swirling around a family on the eve of the eldest daughter's arranged marriage. With bridging scenes shot in the streets of Bombay, the film absolutely transports you. It can be confusing the first time around, as you put together names, faces and relationships; watch it again, because it is worth the second viewing, and you will able to focus less on the subtitles. "Monsoon Wedding" gives us characters more subtly drawn and more round than those of many Indian films--an absolutely delicious movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Monsoon Wedding

    If you like Bend It Like Beckham you will love this one. It is more complex and entertaining. It has multiple plots of love and intrigue. I found this movie a breath of fresh air and the steaminess of love all at the same time. You will see many forms of love and relationships in this movie and they all work to tell one story of a family. Definitely worth seeing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gorgeous, Compelling, and Hot!

    I must say I am mystified as to why this movie would be slotted as a comedy. Though it certainly has it's comic moments, it contains adult themes that are truly disturbing...child abuse, incest and adultery, not to mention quite a bit of adult language. In other words, don't watch it with your mother, like I did, thnking it's going to be ''My Big Fat Indian Wedding''. I found the storyline complex and fascinating, truly unpredictable. The movie is simply gorgeous to look at. The actors that play the couple to be married, and the young servant woman, are breathtakingly beautiful. The dancing, the music, and the apparent lust between some of characters makes for one of the steamiest movies in memory. Watch it with someone you love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must See!

    Five story lines put together to form one great movie. Comedy and Love balled up together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Monsoon Wedding without the monsoon

    Having watched Nair's previous efforts such as Kama Sutra, I knew I was going to witness another twisty tale that hopefully would enlighten. The movie starts and takes you straight into wedding preparations. The main characters are introduced although or rather shoved at you and you have to work it out yourself who is who and what is what. The most exciting thing about the start of the movie is the colour and atmosphere which really comes across vividly. The Film moves sharply from one character to another trying to convey almost a docudrama vision. This is basically what Monsoon Wedding is. A fly on the wall type people analysis combined with the modern culturual values of Delhi India. The modern Delhi/Punjabi family is disected and analysed with any prejudgment. Nair uses vivid colour to contrast with some of the sub plots which are quite dark. Nair uses this to great effect as when the film closes there is a sense of a new beginning for the family and although happiness is in the air, it certainly is not done the traditional Bollywood way. Monsoon Wedding excels in delivering the colour of India and the atmosphere created in this pseudo art house type film shot in super 16MM shows the big boys how to do it. It is not without flaws as it certainly is a quirky movie that manages to hold attention with some fine performances by the actors. Not your usual family melodrama.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie Has It All

    For some reason, the previews for this movies did not pull me in when it was in the theatres. But the critics loved it so I decided to rented it on DVD. Now, I can't stop recommending it to everyone. It starts out slow, but stick with it because as you get to know these people you'll fall in love with them. It's a big family and they supply enough comedy to make you laugh out loud and enough drama to break your heart. Great music, great ending, great movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Must See Movie

    Monsoon Wedding is one of the best foreign comedies.The songs,the dancing,& the tradition that is shown in this movie are wonderful.There isn't one bit of the movie that is unintresting.All the scenery & dialoge is delightfully amusing.From beginning to end this movie is FUNNY and completely ENJOYABLE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    All Hits, No Misses

    Saw this about six months ago and it has STUCK. A delightful combination of the illusion of travel abroad to exotic India and an almost voyeuristic glimpse into the chaos and angst inevitably associated with a big family wedding. Beautifully acted and directed with an interesting and upbeat soundtrack. Not an errant artistic note sounded anywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not just for Indians!

    See Monsoon Wedding! It is so much fun, such great music, and wonderful stories. Everyone can relate to the storylines. It is my favorite movie of 2002.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful script and cast

    No matter what culture or background you are from you should be able to relate to all the elements of this movie. It captures Indian life events abroad in a very realistic but magnified way. This movie can seem disturbing to some indian nationals but it portrays an honest and open look at life as it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MOST AMAZING MOVIE I'VE SEEN ALL YEAR

    This movie is incredible, the first time I watched it ended up being three times in a row, once with the director's commentary turned on. An exciting story. All the characters are so special and the acting is superb. This wedding pulls you in and pushes you along at high speeds with the music blaring and the windows down!!!!! Highly recommended, a must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Movie that everyone should see

    I saw Monsoon Wedding yesterday on Pay-Per View. I have to say it was great acting and great directing. Just a great movie that anyone of any nationality should see. Just PERFECT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2