Customer Reviews for

Monster House

Average Rating 3.5
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    This is the best book ever!

    The main idea of the book is that the kids are really, scared of the man and his house that lives across the street. They are scared of the man because he is a mean, old man that lost his wife a long time ago and he blamed himself for it. The story is that the man and his wife were building there new house together and when he had to poor the pavement into the hole where they were putting there house. All of the sudden, the wife lost her balance and fell down into the wet cement and sunk down in never to be found again. Everyone now thinks that the obese woman is still here and haunting the old man's house and bringing it back to life. There are three children that live on the same street. There is two boys and one girl that is selling cookie dough. One of the boys were spending the night with the boy that lived right across from the old man. They met the girl when she came up to their front porch trying to sell some cookie dough. When the boys answered the door and a little kid was playing with a tricycle on the sidewalk right in front of the man's house. The child had wrecked and lost the child lost his bike and it went into the yard. It automatically sank into the ground and the old man came outside and yelled at the child for losing his bike in his yard and coming near his house. He was only upset because when anyone comes near the house it wakes up his dead wife ad makes her very angry. I think that this is a very good book and I cannot wait to read it again. However, it is probably rated PG so it is a little spooky for some children. Therefore, I would not recommend it for little kids that get scared easily. After all, this book is a pretty good book. I enjoyed it because it had a lot of suspense and I love suspenseful books. I also enjoyed the ending because it was a happy ending and I don't like stories that end badly and are depressing. That is why I like this book so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Finally no talking Lions and Zebras

    Here we have a great family movie that breaks the mold, not that Madagascar& Over the Hedge, Finding Nemo & A Shark's Tale were bad movies, its just that one really eclipsed the other. This animated film offers something new. Anyone over five years of age probably won't find it scary and they shouldn't because its a kids movie. The movie is humorous and fast paced, and ORIGINAL. The concept is neat, and the characters are memorable. So do yourself and your kids a favor and purchase this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Monster House

    This was an interesting movie and seemed more for the 12 or older than some kids movie. Its basically about 3 kids who think their house is alive and go about in proving it and maybe stopping it for good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BORING! The same old thing!

    I thought this is going to be amazing as I expected. But its just another movie that had the same old factors. Plus, it DOESN'T EVEN DESERVE TO BE A NOMINEE AS A BEST ANIMATED FILM! Scariness is just plain corny. Don't even think of buying or renting this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Okay, but not a movie for kids

    The animation was great--they used the same motion capture techniques used to animate The Polar Express, so you get very subtle realistic movements. The characters were adorable and lovable. And its got a great cast. But the premise was a little too "icky" for me at spots, and felt a little cold--I never really warmed up to the characters, or the whole idea of WHY the house is possessed. Plus, it has a ton of no-no behavior for children: peeing in empty bottles, messing around with bulldozers on construction sites, using dynamite...I mean, come on. Not only is this over the top, but who wants their kids mimicking this or thinking this is normal. It was a little bit of a let-down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME MOVIE

    This movie was really, really good. I saw it in school on Halloween. I though it would be stupid and child-ish but it wasn't it was actually really good. I reccomend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Monster House

    I will have to admit this was a pretty good movie, but not for young kids. There were some scary things in the movie that young children would be afraid of, but i think kids that are over the age of 6 could handle it. The ending wasnt obvious like some other children movies, I didnt figure it out until the end. Overall I recommend this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too scary for kids

    A friend and I rented this, and were shocked at the scary things that were happening in a childrens movie. It wasnt a good movie for adults and way too scary for young children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie Destined to Become an Annual Halloween Favorite.

    I wasn’t able to catch this in theater but was able to purchased this DVD yesterday and watch it with my entire family on Halloween night. After viewing this I thought it was good and frightening for the event. My kids was mesmerize but it with awe while my husband was frighten by it (Just kidding dear) “Monster House” is defiantly cool for kids (7 years and up), yet certain to be a hit with grown-ups but defiantly not for the younger tot’s. It manages to strike a chord with children by inhabiting the world they live in, full of creepy old men living in haunted houses, while at the same time, offering up enough scares and laughs to keep any 30 year old kid at heart thoroughly entertained. The animation is nothing short of inspired, as the motion capture technology truly breathes life into the CGI animation. Facial expressions, "camera angles" and "tracking shots" are planned with painstaking detail it's truly a sight to behold. You'll forget you're watching a 'cartoon' right from the fluttering leaf of the opening credits. Not content to stop there, the filmmakers have added to the superb animation with equally superb writing and a cast to deliver those lines. Familiar voices (see the above credits) fill the adult characters with a lot of humor, even though each adult is given only about 5 minutes of screen time. Each actor does a lot with their 5 minutes, completely deserving of their pay check. The clever casting of Jon Heder makes this the first film to get full dynamite for his cameo, as he fits in perfectly as an arcade legend. Still, with all this going for it, “Monster House” would have failed if its child roles didn't measure up. Fortunately, the three leads steal the show, aptly performing voice work that stretches from childhood tomfoolery to ghastly terror to puppy love, all within the same scene. Their honest approach to the scripts' clever and accurate depiction of children almost too old for trick or treating, yet not quite old enough to forget the bogeyman makes this a film that will certainly become a perennial Halloween favorite under the kids listing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Animation As It should be

    One of the perks of this year's Halloween has to be this remarkable animation film. I haven't seen one in a while, but this one was pure pleasure. Old man Nebbercracker truly was creepy as was his wife or shall I say his house. Great, surprising end. Wholesome jokes abound that will make the whole family laugh or squirm.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1