BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Moulin Rouge

Average Rating 5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This movie has it all!

    WOW this movie has it ALL. The cast is incredible! I never knew Nicole Kidman OR Ewan McGregor could sing, and wow can they sing! Girls love this movie, guys love this movie, everyone loves this movie!! Its about this woman who wants to become a star and she thinks the way to do that is to marry a duke. Or should we say a penniless writer who she mistakes for a duke. From there is all about their love. The music is perfect, absolutely perfect. The costumes are eye catching. the plot was so intriguing! I must warn you though. The costumes, the colors, the whole movie might be a little too much to handle for some people at first. But after a little while you get used to how the movie is and you'll love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OMG AMAZING MOVIE

    Ok i just turned 12 and i am amazingly in love with this movie the first time i saw it was in first grade ofcourse i didnt understand it or anything but i am in love with this movie me and my friend everytime i go to her house we watch it and i go over like every weekend. We both are good at singing and she is an alto and sings christian's lyrics and i sing satin's lyrics. We sound really good too we kno every word and it is so much fun when we were in fourth grade we were in her parents bedroom and the have a really high big bed with like poles for a canopy(no i dont mean that kinda pole) and we were like singing on the bed like we were on Satin's roof and it was so much fun. This movie may get confusing at points but its amazing and i love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    Having seen this film before the Blu-Ray makes the home experien

    Having seen this film before the Blu-Ray makes the home experience even better. It is still cutting edge with perfect casting. I recommend it just as a fim not only as a musical.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    this movie rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    this movie rocks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SPECTACULAR SPECTACULAR!

    The first time I watched this movie, it instantaneously became my favorite! I watched it 4 times in that one week, and 6 times that month. This purchase was completely worth every cent, and my family loves the film as well. Whether man or woman, this movie is an absolute delight. It's fun, funny, enthralling, sexy, and heartbreaking. Visually, it's remarkable, with amazing sets and a backdrop of early 20th century France. Modern pop songs are blended with old tunes to make this musical exciting and enticing. I recommend it to anyone who likes some excitement or a good cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it!

    I am not normally into musicals but Moulin Rouge changed my mind on them! I watched it once and have been in love with it since. Both Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor do a wonderful job. Ewan gets very into his character. Kidman and McGregor both have very good singing voices. I love the plot aswell. The whole movie is just so cute. It makes you laugh and cry. Christian and Satine I think are the best couple ever in a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    The Red Windmill

    Moulin Rouge is one of my favorite modern musicals. Nicole Kidman puts in a striking perfomance as Satine and her voice is so beautiful when she sings. Ewen McGregor is a wonderful actor; he really gets into his character in this movies, bringing Christian to life. This movie is a must see because it is SPECTACULAR SPECTACULAR.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I absolutely adore this movie.

    I love musicals, and Moulin Rouge is the best when it comes to unoriginal music. It is beautifully composed and puts an interesting twist on songs you already know and love. The context of the songs is also really cool. Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor are amazing. It's humorous and emotional and you'll laugh and cry and probably both at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE

    Moulin Rouge is one of my favorite movies of all time. It will make you cry and laugh. The music in this movie is great. Nicole Kidman did an awesome job and so did ewan mcgreggor. I can watch this movie over 40 times and still be in love with it and not get bored because its just so cute.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Amazing

    This movie is such a classic. I love it sooo much. It has an epic love story and the music is amazing! Everyone and anyone will love this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Moulan Rouge

    I am mearly a 12 year-old girl; yet i have fallen head over heels for this movie. From the beautiful love story (that ends in tragity for the main character) to the rediculas Tolouse. This movie will have you on the edge of your seat, untill tears fill your eyes at the ending. I would recomend this movie to any and everyone. All drama, music, or comedy lovers will love this, i gatentee it.
    THE GREATEST THING YOU'LL EVER LEARN IS JUST TO LOVE AND BE LOVED IN RETURN!! ?
    thanks for reading!!
    ~rosalie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome!

    I love this movie!But I am not aloud to talk about it.<BR/>Because I am only 10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Favorite Movie

    This movie is full of such imagination and creativity. It is visually and emotionally stimulating, and quite frankly makes me want to run off to make movies that will affect people how this one affected me. Just a stunning film. I can't wait to see director Baz Luhrman's next, Australia.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "I Will Love You Until My Dying Day"

    I will always love this movie!! Ewan McGreggor and Nicole Kidman make an awesome couple. The way that it is written and performed, is perfect. This really made me take another look at the way that 'love' is discribed. The rendition of 'Girls Best Friend' is great, I like it better than Marilyn Monroe's version, the 'El Tango De Roxanne' is probably one of my favorite scenes, though I love the 'Elephant Love Meldley' is my all-time fave. If you are to see this movie, or own it, then I say that you must get the soundtrack, it does need to have the song 'Spectacular Spectacular' in it tough, but Ewan McGreggor is a lovely singer! Please make another soundtrack, a super soundtrack!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ANY ACTORS HERE?

    Oh my!! All these positive reviews and not a single decent performmance in sight. Kidman hams it up and is completely unconvincing. Ewan McGregor has all the character depth of boiled chicken. Poor plot overlayed with bad music and flashy production numbers. DON'T BUY THIS MOVIE Rent it and save the landfill space.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    INCREDIBLE!!!!!

    I loved this movie as soon as i watched it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Only one rule: Never fall in love

    This movie is totaly awsome! Richard Roxburgh did a great job as the duke, and Nicole was tubular! I think it's a wonderful love story, even if it is deppressing every now and them. Sometimes, it's really funny. Like the beginning, it was totaly hilarious. The only thing I would've changed was the ending when they're all happy and the duke leaves. I would've kept Satine alive myself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Thing You Will Ever Learn, is Just to Love and Be Loved in Return

    I saw this movie because I had heard so many wonderful things about it, and although it was not quite what I expected I still say it is a beautifully done love story with spectacular music to match! Beautiful prostitute Satine, artfully portrayed by Nicole Kidman, is the main attraction at the Moulin Rouge. But despite her fame, she still feels something is missing, although she doesn't quite realize it until a poor writer named Christian enters the picture. She realizes that although she has always had countless men wanting her, it was never love, and Christian shows her what true love really is. Now she is torn between fame and love. Will she marry the duke, pursue fame and riches, and forget Christian? Or will she leave her splendid life behind for the sake of love? Not only is the story incredible, but the music is supurb! From the dazzling beginning scene with 'Diamonds are a Girl's Best Friend', to the tragic ending with 'Come What May', the score is what grabs your attention and holds it for the entire film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    what a wonderful story

    this is one of the best movies ever made...ewan mcgregor and nicole kidman have an amazing voice, and the songs and the story line are just amazing. one of the few movies i cried in. This movie made me laugh cry and in the end, i wish it couldve gone on

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A sparkling Diamond above all others

    Moulin Rouge is a movie to dazzle the audience. The bright colors and costumes draw you in even further. When the two main characters, Christian and Satine fall in love, you know they are in for the ride of their lives. From a dwarf to a narcolepsy stricken Argentinean, the cast has never ending surprises for the movie goers. The endless signing also gives a new flavor to the movie making it even more enjoyable. You will be amazed at the voice powers of Nicole Kidman and Ewan McGregor. For four stars, this is a tale to impress as audiences of all ages will appreciate the Bohemian revolution in this tale of freedom, truth, beauty, and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10