Customer Reviews for

Moulin Rouge

Average Rating 5
( 181 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(158)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Movie of the Decade!

    I limit myself to watching this movie only once a year, just so that I can be flooded and floored afresh all over again. Yes, it may lose viewers in its manic, mad, over-the-top, completely exciting first half hour, but if you can get through the visual assault you'll be treated to a lush, at times hushed, love story. And beautiful songs, great sets, wonderful acting, comedy, tear-inducing tragedy, and even the kitchen sink. It has it all. Baz Luhrmann spent years making this movie and it shows. Nicole Kidman gives her best performance, as does Ewan McGregor. The strangest thing is that even know Luhrmann adds many fantastical touches - such as Zidler backflipping through the air - the drama and the human emotions feel very real. The extras on the double disc DVD are the best I've ever seen, with uncut dance sequences and tons of interesting info. A must-have DVD. MediaMale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    makes me happy

    This movie makes me happy in a way that no movie ever has before. Sure, its heartbreaking, but my god is it beautiful.... and it just gets better every time I watch it. Easily in my top 5 all-time favorite movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Subverting the Postmodern Superfice

    ¿Moulin Rouge¿, completely unexpectedly, became my favorite movie when I saw it for the first time a couple of years ago. I'm not a huge fan of musical theatre so it was not a reaction I would have predicted. At the time, I never wrote an on-line review of the film because I frankly did not think that I could do my ideas about the film justice in a short review. Thankfully, I have just discovered a review that does do this historic film the justice it deserves: the one by David Bruce. What it is that I find both culturally significant and technically brilliant is that in this movie Baz Luhrmann subverts the postmodern superfice by using visual and tonal simulacra, playfulness, parody, performance and boundary/genre conflation to point not to the superficiality and relativity of all points of view but, instead, to sing a love song that strikes the viewer as both archetypal and eternal--almost as if the love story itself is a Platonic form or Luhrmann believes that these two souls were destined to yearn for and find completion in relationship with each other (and Plato¿s myth recognizes, at its best, the possibility for many types of gendered love arrangements). Even amidst a postmodern culture industry that glorifies pleasure without context, sexploitation and equates the power to consume with the power to prevail, Christian, an Orphean hero, is able to transform Satine with his earnest-- almost naive--idealism, romanticism and humanity. Satine, for her part, is able to channel the solo pilgrim's energies away from an unwitting narcissism towards true connection, relationship and mutuality (at the beginning of the movie, Christian yearns for poverty in a world where most people have no choice over the matter and sets out to write about 'Truth', 'Beauty' 'Freedom' and 'Love' though he probably has not allowed himself to experience any of those things 'in the flesh' before meeting Satine). Satine acquires the power and spiritual presence to teach Christian about truly embodied love and how to freely give of himself to an actual other precisely because it is in relationship with him that she learns the lesson that while she might be skilled at the art of giving herself to men for selfish gain (and at a price to her own karma and/or spiritual destiny), true dignity in love is mutual; she learns that she can and should be loved in return for everything that she is. By actively struggling with her material conditions rather than falsely and prematurely claiming spiritual transcendence (e.g., the first time she sings ¿Fly Away¿), Satine¿s spiritual and redemptive powers become realized. To summarize, Christian learns to love another person and not simply his romantic idealizations of and Platonic musings on love while Satine finally learns to love herself apart from the material shackles of her jewels and commercialized sexual appeal. Orthodox hypocrisy is overcome in the character of Christian and Gnostic pretension is called into question by the incarnate route that must proceed Satine¿s moment of ultimate spiritual transcendence at film¿s end. As we are told from the onset, the lovers are separated by death. However, even this separation lacks permanence¿not in the positional sense of juridical impermanence postmodernists talk about but rather in the sense that Satine¿s destiny to ¿fly away¿ finally comes to pass precisely because her loving and sensual relationship with Christian makes her escape from material slavery possible. Her spiritual possibility is eternally linked to Christian. If one wants to explore Eastern spiritual angles, as David Bruce certainly does, this simply means that the historical is linked to the trans-historical by karma. As Bruce discusses, Luhrmann seems, on some level, to be commenting on the relationship between Gnostic spirituality and Orthodox Christianity. I have tended to read some Gnostic texts as rather world-weary¿albeit from the point of view of my own inevitable neo-Orthodox Christian

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heart teardrops

    One of the best musicals, romances, and overall films ever made. You can see it over and over again and never grow tired of it. It makes you cry everytime. Ewan and Nicole were great together. The setting was also perfect since it took place in the early 20th century Paris. The Best!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    oh my gosh the best movie ever made and iv ever seen!!

    I LOVE EWAN MCGREGOR!!!! hes the hottest guy on earth!!!yessss you gotta see the movie its the best i love to sing with it i know every single word in the movie and the movie just plays over and over and i never get tired of it!!(ewan mcgregor is mine)lol :D YAY! you all better see it its the best movie ever seen in the world!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Romantic

    It doesn't matter how many times I see this movie, I will cry every time I watch it. Ewan and Nichole were great. Great movie to see with that special someone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    'Spectacular, Spectacular'

    The best movie ever! The songs, costumes, and the plot are great! I could watch it all day, every day! Both Kidman and McGregor were excellent. I would recomend this movie to everyone. Earned much more than 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my all time favorite movie!

    i love the plot, songs, and characters! it is seriously the best movie ever and i reccomend it to everyone! deserves more than 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Moulin Rouge

    i love the movie! i love the characters! i love the songs! i can watch it over and over again and not get sick of it! the songs are wonderful, and they sing some familiar tunes i'm sure most of us have heard! this is by far the best movie that nicole kidman has been in! i recomeend this to everybody and anybody. everyone should see it at least once! i recommend it for: anybody and everybody! a little stuff might now be appropraite for people under 13.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best musical ever

    this movie is the best. come what may and roxane are my favorite songs. I never know that it could be such a great movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Truly 'Spectacular Spectacular'

    No argument, this is the greatest movie ever made. Every aspect of it is exellent:the acting, singing, dancing, costumes, ect. I could watch 'Moulin Rouge' every day and never get bored of it. It's that good. the songs don't seem reused;it feels as if you're hearing them for the first time. I'd keep on talking, but i'll spare you. I am extraordinarly in love with this movie! P.S. The best song is 'One Day I'll Fly Away'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Creative Genius

    I have watched this movie literally dozens of times, and each time there is something new that jumps out... Jim Broadbent's rendition of 'The Show Must Go On,' performed with Nicole Kidman, is show-stopping, just as his rendition of 'Like a Virgin' is hilarious. My all-time favorite scene, though, is the 'Moulin Rouge Tango,' performed to 'Roxanne'. Both the choreography and the editing are classic; it is possibly the finest dance sequence ever filmed. What is even better, is that the DVD contains an extended version, where you can see a wider camera angle of the dance. It is truly spectacular. Bravo to the creative genius of Baz Luhrmann and the amazingly talented (and courageous) cast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Moulin Rouge

    i love this movie and everyhting about it! i can watch it over and over again and never get tired of it! the musical numbers are awesome! i have one of the songs stuck in my head right now! i recommened it to everyone! it's my favorite movie and this is by far the best movie nicole kidman has ever been in! this deserves more than 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    1,2,3 & 4 storylines and ratings up now!

    I love Moulin Rouge so that's why I have decided to create a Moulin Rouge trilogy down below are the stories first M.R.2. M.R.2 ______ Storyline: Satine is alive and unmarried and is pregnant and Christian is insanely jealous when he learns the baby is the Duke's. Rating: PG-13 Adult Situations, Violence, Content. M.R.3 _____ Storyline: Satine is a singer at the Moulin Rouge, and Christian stay's at home and takes care of seven month old Christine but the problem is Christian refuses to let Christine see her mother or does he have no choice? Rating: PG-13: Situations,Content,Violence. M.R.4 _____ Storyline: Christian now has legal rights to keep Christine who is a spunky 9-year-old girl with the likes of her mother,but one day Christine doesn't return home and Christian knows that she was either bashed to death or she was kidnapped and taken hostage in the Moulin Rouge. Rating: PG-Situations and Violence. I hope they all come out before 2006 and I hope you will enjoy them as much as I enjoyed writing them so until 2006 enjoy the first one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spetacular! Spectacular!

    This movie belongs right up at the top. The cinematography is so magical and colorful you'll never forget it. Plus it's got every kind of music and dance you can name (hip-hop, opera, tango, can-can). If you want to know the truth, beauty, freedom, + love behind the rouge curtain Moulin Rouge! tells you everything in a spectacularly exciting, tragic, romantic way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My all time favorite!

    i love it! just...fabulous! i have never seen a movie as...energetic and romantic and funny and quite as wonderful! i watched this movie 7 times in a row one time... i always sing a long... you gotta get it! it'll be ur fav ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Moulin Rouge

    This movie is awesome. I laugh, I cry...I dream. It's full of symbolism...I love it. I love the way that everything fits together and in the end..though she's dead...you still seem contented. The symbolism, like I said, is wonderful. Every person that watches it leaves when its over with a different..something instilled in them. Every time I watch it..even now...I get all shivery and happy...and I learn something new every time, so it seems. I give this movie a 100%!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfection

    This movie is definately one of the best movies of all time. It is a whirlwind of color and sound which stimulates the senses. Baz Lurhman has reinvented the movie musical, delivering a sumptuous masterpiece which should have brought home the oscar. Have I mentioned how good a singer Ewan McGregor is? And how can you not be totally and completely seduced by the ever magnificent Nicole Kidman? I also applaud the very talented Jim Broadbent. This movie never tires it just continues to enthrall and please in all of it's cinematic glory with each viewing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW!!!!!

    This movie is absolutely wonderful it is my all time favorite ( along with Pearl Harbor ) I love the singing dancing and acting if you believe in beauty,truth,freedom and above all else love this movie is for you. Nicole Kidman is absolutly excellent in this movie with superb singing right along with Ewan McGregor this is a beatufuly made movie. *The Greatest Thing You'll Ever Learn Is Just To Love and Be Loved In Return*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible! Best movie ever seen in a long time!

    Moulin Rouge was utterly fantastic! The love story was absolutely ravishing and the song and dance were amazing to watch. Baz Luhrman really did it on this one. I recommend this to anyone who just wants to see a great film!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 181 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 10