Customer Reviews for

Munich

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Important period in modern history

    This film was certainly produced with Spielberg's usual high degree of craftsmanship, but more importantly it deals with an important period in recent world history. I found the film particularly intriguing as I had recently visited Munich, and been to the Olympic park where the Israeli athletes were taken hostage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazingg

    omg this is da best movie.. ever! highly reccomended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disconcerting

    More edgier than the usual Spielberg film, almost like a documentary filled with emotional and very violent scences. Revenge-filled and what's disturbing is that it's true, with the Munich tagedy of 1972. The Mossad goes full throttle and their key agent Avner (Eric Bana) goes from believer to non-believer with the confilic still raging and no end in sight. That is the final analysis of this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Flawed but worthwhile Spielberg

    "Munich" is far from Steven Spielberg's best film,but is still worth watching because of its excellent cast.Eric Bana,Geoffrey Rush,and Daniel Craig are particularly outstanding.The film is also full of Spielberg's visual flair,a top-notch production,and a moving John Williams score. So what's wrong?It's too long,for one thing. But Spielberg shares this problem with other directors.Why do all of today's big movies have to be nearly three hours?The biggest point,though,is that the movie is too one-sided.Spielberg,Kushner,and Roth have really stacked the deck for Israel.It would have been nice to see the other side,and show WHY the athletes were seized in the first place.All in all,"Munich" is an imperfect film,but one worth seeing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Brilliant.

    The begining made my heart pound.The greatest moment in movie history: an athlete,in his underwear, instead of running to safety picks up a knife and stabbs a terrorist in the head.Very brave and like a nightmare.Spielberg's smart movie had moral equalivincy between murderer and executioner so natrually everyone hated it.Take that to the bank.STEVEN! PLEASE MAKE MORE MOVIES! (and don't get depressed).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    vengence deserved

    The best picture of 2005. Of all the nominees for best picture Munich should have won. It is based on the true story of the 1972 Olympic massacre in Munich,west Germany in which members of the terror group BLack September slaugtered 11 israeli athletes competing in the olympics. The film follows operation wrath of god, which was the response to the attack by hunting down and killing those responsible. While there are many errors in the story it is still a powerful heartbreaking film, every thime I watch it I can't help but cry when they show the murder of the athletes. The need for vengence was justified. The score including the opening theme is very haunting. I have the 2 disk limited collector's edition which now appears to be out of print but is great with a lot of behind the scenes documentaries.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Boooooooooring

    Don't get me wrong, Spielberg is a great director and this was a brutally honest true thing that happened. However, except for the graphic fight scenes and the emotional weight that dwells upon the folks who hunt down and terminate the people responsible for the Munich attacks, the movie dragged and just when you think it will end, it drags on another half-an-hour more. The plot was interesting but by the third hour you are worn out and pleading mentally for it to end so you can go to bed. Some may say Speilberg's best. Halfway decent in my opinon but certainly nothing special.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bana is HOTTTTTTTT

    ERIC BANA is an excellent actor and his true talent is displayed in this film. Apart from being GORGEOUS he does a fantastic job at re-creating this tragic story. A MUST SEE FILM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!!!

    this movie is the best!! it's beautifully done and very interesting! a must!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Picture of 2005

    With "Munich", Steven Spielberg has accomplished something most people thought would never happen: He has made a film that matches up to his masterpiece, "Schindler's List". It is certainly Spielberg's best film since "Schindler's List", and it was the (overlooked) best film of 2005. As with most of his best films, Spielberg uses subject matter that is very close to his heart and heritage. In this instance, it is the ongoing Israeli-Palestinian conflict. He masterfully uses the medium of the thriller to keep the audience in constant suspense during the film's actual running time, but more importantly, he gives the audience a question to take home and ponder: Is revenge beneficial? Certainly Spielberg sees vengeance as a necessary tactic in certain situations, but it is crucial that the party seeking it knows what they want the outcome to be and whether or not objectives can be reached. In our war on terror, this is a question that should be pondered. Whatever the message, this is a phenomenal film that people will come to admire more as the years pass on. It's just too good to pass by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Tells It Like It Was and With a Passion!

    When the Black September Organization (BSO) terrorist group attacked the Israeli Wrestling Team athletes at the 1972 World Olympics, the world held its breath. And then, the unthinkable happened. In a single furious instant at Furstenbruck Airport near Munich where German sniper teams botched the rescue, they were dead, all of them dead and butchered by the Black September terrorists. There was a previous movie about these events made in the 1970s and starring Michael York, Rod Steiger and Steven Bauer, "THE SWORD OF GIDEON". Like Speilberg's "MUNICH", it was true to the events at Munich, and the long hunt for the perpetrators and planners by combined Mossad-Commando teams. I have a quote at the beginning of a manual I wrote for the U.S. Government in 1985: "Terrorists who take hostages and spill their blood, who kill innocents with impunity, should be paid in their own coin but at higher interest." The man who said it was Colonel Joshua Shani, Israeli Air Force. And I think he was right. After the attack on the World Trade Center and the Pentagon in September 2001 by Al Qaeda terrorists, the U.S. had similar choices to make. Only history will show whether we succeeded or failed. And, "MUNICH" does an excellent job of showing what the Israelis took upon themselves to ensure that a similar atrocity never happened again. A long time ago, I stood on top of Masada by the Dead Sea and watched young Israeli military officers take their oath of office. On Masada. The symbolism was lost on no one, and in the near 100 degree heat, I had goosebumps and my hair stood on end. Yes, I thought then and think now, we could learn from them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1