Customer Reviews for

My Big Fat Greek Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Purchased as a gift

    This DVD was on my daughter-in-law2B's Christmas list & I looked everywhere to find it. No one had it. I was able to find it here and at a great price!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Seen it over and over!

    It's hard to find romantic comedies that are enjoyable and don't have depressing endings. It seems too many movies are going for that "realistic" feel, and so they don't have happy endings. Well, I don't mean to spoil it for you, but there's a good ending to this movie. Some things may seem a little cliche, and they's becuause they probably are. But if it is, it's definately one of the best cliche movies you'll ever see. It's cute, romantic, and it's the kind of movie you buy because you know you will watch it more than just one time. I also like it, because kind of like Spanglish, it shows how people with different ethnic backgrounds learn to compromise their traditional culture with modern American culture. I also really like Toula's character - it shows how confidence goes a long way in making you look and feel beautiful. Ian is such a nice guy, you can't help but like his character. Watch this movie!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SO FUNNY!

    this comedy is outstandingly funny. i must admit, after i saw it, i couldn't stop laughing. yaya, is so funny, especially when she keeps going on the neighbor's yard. this movie is so fun-packed, and it's a famliy movie for everyone. trust me, YOU WILL LAUGH!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The director made the movie

    After seeing the TV series you can really appreciate Joel Zwick. A one joke movie paced and not over done vs the horrible and short lived TV series. Zwick undertands comedy. He should receive more credit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BIG FAT COMEDY CLUNKER WITH FEW LAUGHS!

    I¿m at a loss to explain why ¿My Big Fat Greek Wedding¿ got the Oscar nod for best screenplay. It¿s the story of an ugly duckling, Toula Portocalas (Nia Vardalos) who (stop me if you've heard this one before) turns into a beautiful swan by the end. This transformation is made possible by the love and respect of Toula¿s floppy-eared fiancée cum groom, Ian Miller (John Corbett). Though both of Toula¿s parents, Gus (Michael Constantine) and Maria (Lainie Kazan), are initially opposed to the marriage they eventually they warm up to the idea that their daughter loves a Catholic. Written by Vardalos, who clearly thought this was some sort of homage to her middle European heritage, the plot is excessively burdened with middle-European clichés that get overplayed, tapping into the bias that all Greeks are warm-hearted simpletons and all outsiders are clearly cold fish. Perhaps a more fitting title would have been, 'My Big Fat Greek Stereotype'. Really, there are maybe four instances in the entire film where I found myself genuinely smiling. The rest of the jokes fall somewhere between middle of the road and 'oh God, I can't believe they did that!' Clearly, this was a movie written for and marketed to a very specific audience, and in so far as that goes, ¿My Big Fat Greek Wedding¿ hit its target right on the money and all the way through to a failed television spin off and lucrative Hollywood career for its star. Never has so little originality been stretched such a long, long way. But this is not a great comedy or even a mediocre one. It's just big and fat. At least there's some redemption to be found in the widescreen transfer. Anamorphically enhanced, colors are rich, bold and well balanced. Contrast levels are admirably presented with a remarkable amount of fine detail present, while blacks are both solid and deep. Edge enhancement is present but is kept to a bare minimum. Pixelization and shimmering crop up now and then, but here too, they are nothing to quibble about. The audio is 5.1 and nicely presented.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Movie Has Warmth

    We enjoyed the DVD immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BRAVO

    1. Michael Constantino should have gotten second billing. 2. Really enjoyed the scene of the three ladies striding down the sidewalk (Maria, Toula, Thia Vola) with purpose - I think the reference was it from NEVER ON SUNDAY of the striding of the three 'Keries tis Niktas' down the street with a different purpose. Wrong? 3. Am I mistaken but in the map of Ellas in Costa's office was Turkey scratched out? (I'm a semi-Ellenetha too)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Uh....These Films are Gay

    This movie sucks. It really does not even make sense. I'm an american and weddings should not be a big deal. Why, because I'm fat.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    APPLE AND ORANGE

    This is one movie that is so simple but very adorable for people have mind of wisdom, love and compassion especially for family welfare in their past and future. It is not as funny as other movie with nonsense comedic scenes, although it is entertaining in which we can see through of how hilarious and tedious for some ones preparing a wedding. No matter if it is Greek, Italian, American, and Asian; if it is going to be a combination of species or same kind… it is all about family supporting a family. Also it clearly defines that woman power is absolute character in creating another generation to generation (Grandma, Mama, and Toula.). That woman is always behind man’s success. It is also a show that embracing another world is not bad thing to do, other custom, other culture; no matter what kind of religion it is, it is the good belief we stand for, and the good deed we can do for ourselves and for our love ones. American family was not being introduced to some part of the world as a big supporting strong church going family, but they are. It mention that immigrants in United States always have the opportunity to change their lives to a better direction where they come from, although there is always few old generation that has their mind of themselves who suffered because of evolution, but in the end it is always for love and dreamt come true of happiness for the child. It shows that education is still number 1 for every person to adapt the changes of environment. The male parents play a little bit down to earth which not a lot of parents do especially when it comes to cross culture marrying. They would always have to pitch in something like the other family do. Somehow it shows a conservative-well educated American family in the movie which is good and normally, good heart family marries good heart family. Thank you for making the film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved It

    I loved the movie, the kind of humor I enjoy, not overacted like most films, it's the kindof movie you could watch over and over and never get sick of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MY PREDICTION COULD NOT BE ANY RIGHTER !

    I saw this movie a total of 4 times in a very small theater near my house, before it made it to the Big screen. I laughed so hard my jaws hurt. From the very beginning, I already predicted that it was becoming ''A Big-Hit'' and told everybody I know about it. I even took my friends to see it.I am so happy it become such a phenomenon. The first day the dvd came out, my husband and children bought it for me right away. I have to admit that watching it on TV we could not get all the fun as watching it on the big screen, but we still cracked up over the little cute jokes. The characters were excellently casted. Movies like this one definitely pick up our moods on the rainy days.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I agree with David.

    I give this film 3 stars not because I loved it, but because it was well acted and directed. I do not, however, see why it is such a big hit. Like he says, a person really has to suspend disbelief to enjoy this movie. It is also an extremely hackneyed theme that everyone has seen before. I do not mind fantasy, but I prefer it in the realms of science fiction and horror. This is one of the most unbelievable ''based on a true story'' films I have ever seen. I accidentally ''lost'' my girlfriend's copy after she begged me to watch it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    movie review

    i think this movie is really good for EFL students,because it will help us to understand more steadily English,and also help us to learn how to use steadily English in everyday life!i will give it 7 out 10,it is really funny !!so i hope those who wanna practice your English skills people watch this movie,it is really pretty good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my big fat greek wedding

    toula , she is one pacitipation of traditional greek's family. she loved nongreek man and troubling between her family and lover. this movie makes me to think about my country's tradition thinking and i felt similarity between my father and her father. their thinking is very stubborn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie helps you study English

    This movie is good for EFL students because it has so many incorrect sentences. For example, when we say ''She doesn't know it'', they say ''She don't know it''. This is a very simple mistake, and we can find this kind of mistakes everywhere in the movie. It's good for EFL students to check the incorrect sentences and correct them. Therefore I suggest EFL students watch this movie. This movie is certainly good for studying English, but we can enjoy it just as an entertainment. If you can't hear English very well, you can enjoy it because of its funny actions, and sounds of language. And the most important point is that we can learn about Greek culture which we hardly have an opportunity to learn about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It makes you happy

    Toula and her family are imigrants to America.Although they live in America,their English is not so good and sometimse they make mistakes when they speak English. For them, English is a foriegn language, so they can't speak fluently like native speakers and pronounce easy words. That's why this movie is good for EFL students. It is not so difficult for EFL student to understand their conversations. If you look for funny,happy, warm-hearted movies, this movie doesn't disappoint you. It is not only ridiculous but also touching. You can feel warmth, you can understand culture and customs of Greece

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You are all wrong

    This movie rots. Plain and simple. This cliched and stupid film (which could have easily been My Big Fat Italian Wedding, Jewish Wedding, et al, just as easily) was a success for one simple reason: America is filled with dowdy, obese women who believe that there is a John Corbett out there who likes them no matter what. It makes the milkshake go down a lot easier. Corbett has made a career of playing annoying ''sensitive males'' in acute pain causing roles in Northern Exposure and Sex and the City. But that is the beauty of capitalism. I hated this movie and I am a ham and egger who can pretty much sit through anything. I assume this is what natural childbirth would be like.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I should've spent the 1 hour and 35 minutes cleaning my room

    I didn't laugh as hard as I hoped. In fact, I had to force a few laughs just so I could justify why I bought the movie. I don't know what the big hype was all about. Sure, it had good acting, but I just expected to bust out laughing and never did. I do wish I saw this in the movie theater, I would have saved half the money I spent on the DVD.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Big Fat Greek Flop!!!!!!!!!!

    I can't believe I wasted my time watching it! I would have given it no stars except for the fact that it made me laugh once. All good actors, just in the wrong movie. Do yourself a favor, never EVER watch it or at least tie one on before you do. It might be funny then.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    funniest movie I've seen in years

    excellent screenplay and very good actors. Held my attention all the way through. Nice to be able to watch a movie and not be offended by language or nudity. I laughed out loud over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6