Customer Reviews for

My Big Fat Greek Wedding

Average Rating 4.5
( 104 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(80)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Eh?

    I have no idea why people thought this movie was so funny. It had its moments, but they were few and far between. At the end I thought, ''This is it?'' It wasn't the non-stop funny movie that everbody said it was. Rent it don't buy it, or wait till it comes out on HBO.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Greatest Greek Wedding Spoof

    From the beginning to the end, this film exhibited behide the back spoof of the most hilarious minupulation of one shy individual and a guy who fell into a relationship, with the Greek family for support!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Family Safe!

    The best comedy I've seen in years. A delightful cultural tale that will make you laugh and cry all in one sitting. A must have for any DVD library! Best of all, its safe for the family!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Best Comedies ever

    The movie's biggest achievement was to show how funny some cultural characteristics might be to another culture. Since I am Greek it was like I was watching my life on the screen! I could not stop laughing. It has been years since I heard so many people laughing constantly and so loud at the cinema during the whole time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Should win Best Movie Oscar

    If you are from a big family or you've ever been around one, you'll love this movie. If you are neither one, this movie will make you wish you were. It's funny, it's heartwarming, it's touching and it's FUNNY. The last time I saw a movie that was this good was Fried Green Tomatoes. This is your mother speaking. Go. Laugh. Enjoy. It's good for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!!!!!!!

    This movie is SO funny! I loved it so much! The characters were really believable and they had such funny personalities. I laughed harder than I ever have. I must have laughed at least 100 times because this movie was SO hillarious! Each character had his or her own personality that was nothing like that of any other character. I loved the characters of the dad (w/ his Windex gag) and Aunt Voula (You don't eat no meat? That's all right...I'll make lamb). This was by far the best movie ever! Everyone should see it. The plot was a bit predictable, but that made it fun. I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great romancic comedy!

    This movie is perfect off you like romantic comedies. I am glad to see that others have enjoyed it, but I can see how some might not like it. There's little sex, no profanity, adultery, violence, or horror. It's a great PG romantic comedy that reminds me of some of the great old romances with the great comedy of today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    We ALL loved it!

    We live near Tarpon Springs, FL - a true Greek community - and found this film hilarious and loving at the same time - all generations loved it and it's fun to watch a movie together and not feel ''awkward'' at any time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely FABULOUS!

    What a wonderful movie! It warms the heart with a pleasant storyline and makes the viewer roll over laughing at the hilarious, yet clean, humor of the movie! GREAT MOVIE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Movies Can Be Fun Without Violence

    If ever we needed a ''feel good'' movie for Americans to forget our country's troubles, leave it to the wondeful characters in My Big Fat Greek Wedding to see us through. It is by far the best comedy ever -- thank you Nia and cast members for adding laughter to the seriousness of the world. I sincerely hope the tv series does as well. I'm definitely adding this to my DVD collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWESOME!!!

    This movie was the best I have seen in some time. Never have I been in a theater with so much laughter!!! Everyone was talking and laughing about the movie as we were exiting the theater. It certainly put everyone in a great mood! I am going to see it again tonight! Great acting by all!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funny, funny, funny

    This is without a doubt the funniest movie ever, and I am a big comedy buff.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    You'lll never look at Windex the same way!

    I've heard it called a ''chick flick'' and nothing could be further from the truth. This is everybody's flick! It has been a long time since I've laughed so hard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Everyone Can relate to this movie!!

    This movie was fantastic!! I'm buying it as soon as it comes out. Everyone who has a big family should understand what Toula went through, and why it is so funny, and yet so true to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I rated this title 5 stars. I would have rated it more.

    My Big Fat Greek Wedding is honestly the most recommended movie I've ever seen in my life. It's filled with the right humor at the right time. When I went to see a the theater I asked an employee- ''How long has this movie been out for''? She said ''EIGHT months''! I haven't heard of a movie that ran longer than that. If you have well lets hear about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Big Fat Triumph!!

    I'm not sure what that one person is saying when they call this a flop! This movie is fabulous and my husband and I laughed hysterically through the entire movie. Of course there are some bittersweet moments, but the movie is wonderful!! I highly recommend this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie was so funny and so realistic.

    This was a really funny movie. I enjoyed watching it. It was interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    this is the best family romantic comedy

    The best romantic comedy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh So Greek!

    This movie was one of the best movies I have seen yet! Nia Vardalos played an awesome Toula Portocalis, but what was Joey Fatone doing in there? Well, this movie never lost its charm, even after seeing it 4 times already. The same joke keeps working time and time again. I promise you that you will NOT REGRET buying or renting this movie. It's a timeless classic, and not just to Greeks. Overall, an awesome movie, and I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Its great!!!!

    ITS A GREAT MOVIE FOR ALL AGES REMEMBER ABOUT THE WINDEX WELL IT ACTUALLY WORKS IVE SEEN IT 5 TIMES AND I STILL WANT TO SEE IT CANT WAIT UNTIL IT COMES OUT ON VIDEO!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 104 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6