Customer Reviews for

My Fair Lady

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

PYGMALION

This movie is originally titled Pygmalion. It starred Julie Andrews on broadway, which earned her prestige. Unfortunately Julie was not Jack Warner's choice when he bought the rights on the story for $5M, a whooping amount then. Jack Warner had Audrey Hepburn on mind, t...
This movie is originally titled Pygmalion. It starred Julie Andrews on broadway, which earned her prestige. Unfortunately Julie was not Jack Warner's choice when he bought the rights on the story for $5M, a whooping amount then. Jack Warner had Audrey Hepburn on mind, to play Eliza Doolittle, though she does not sing in films. George Cukor, the director did a magnificent musical out of the story and Rex Harrison was excellent as Prof. Higgins. The other cast was superb too. Though a studio movie, it was a huge success. Warner Brothers refurbished its studio and made monumental production design for My Fair Lady. Prof. Higgins study was equipped with more than 4000 books and the costumes were made by a fleet of designers and sewers. The movie employed the latest camera bought by Warner Brothers that time. The scenes came to life with interesting characters in each of them. This one of the must see musicals that is a classic by itself. No one should miss Audrey Hepburn's performance in this movie as well as George Cukor's directorship.

posted by alexphilAU on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

What possesses Hollywood?

What possesses Hollywood to palm off inferior products on an unsuspecting public? This new DVD released 10/6/09 is not a wise buy. Notice in the product description of this Paramount/CBS DVD release no mention is made of the sound. That's because it doesn't have Dolby...
What possesses Hollywood to palm off inferior products on an unsuspecting public? This new DVD released 10/6/09 is not a wise buy. Notice in the product description of this Paramount/CBS DVD release no mention is made of the sound. That's because it doesn't have Dolby 5.1, but instead some hokey stereo track of much inferior quality. Likewise, and contrary to the product descriptions online, the original aspect ratio of 2.20:1 has been cut to 16:9 as stated on the DVD sleeve.

If you love My Fair Lady as much as I do consider purchasing either of the Warner Home Video releases which are available new online through private sellers at moderate prices. The first Warner release was issued 12/08/98 and reputedly has the best picture. The second Warner release was a 02/03/04 deluxe two-DVD set with expanded special features well worth watching. The quality of this deluxe set is also far superior to the newly released Paramount/CBS DVD version. Both Warner versions have the original aspect ratio and Dolby 5.1

Why does Hollywood issue inferior products like this? And to ad insult to injury their doing a remake of My Fair Lady to be released in 2010. I'd call that a "must miss." The very thought is repulsive.

posted by PrairieCal on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    PYGMALION

    This movie is originally titled Pygmalion. It starred Julie Andrews on broadway, which earned her prestige. Unfortunately Julie was not Jack Warner's choice when he bought the rights on the story for $5M, a whooping amount then. Jack Warner had Audrey Hepburn on mind, to play Eliza Doolittle, though she does not sing in films. George Cukor, the director did a magnificent musical out of the story and Rex Harrison was excellent as Prof. Higgins. The other cast was superb too. Though a studio movie, it was a huge success. Warner Brothers refurbished its studio and made monumental production design for My Fair Lady. Prof. Higgins study was equipped with more than 4000 books and the costumes were made by a fleet of designers and sewers. The movie employed the latest camera bought by Warner Brothers that time. The scenes came to life with interesting characters in each of them. This one of the must see musicals that is a classic by itself. No one should miss Audrey Hepburn's performance in this movie as well as George Cukor's directorship.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My Fair Lady - a wonderful time

    The purchase was originally for my daughter who is working vocally on "Isn't it Lovely". We had a wonderful time watching My Fair Lady and it took me back to when I was young. Melodious tunes keep you singing right along. The only issue for my children was I had to interpret Eliza's cockney which played havoc on understanding the first 5 - 10 minutes of the movie. But once I translated they found it delightful and fun to watch. It's a classic worth buying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Not such a bad movie!

    I saw the play of this at a college once befor and when I learned that Audrey Hepburn was in this one I knew I had to have it! It was great. Just two little things, Hepburns accent got a bit on my nerves, but I guess that's the point of her character and some of the songs just seemed to go on and on just a little bit too much. Rather than that two thumbs WAY UP!! :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    What possesses Hollywood?

    What possesses Hollywood to palm off inferior products on an unsuspecting public? This new DVD released 10/6/09 is not a wise buy. Notice in the product description of this Paramount/CBS DVD release no mention is made of the sound. That's because it doesn't have Dolby 5.1, but instead some hokey stereo track of much inferior quality. Likewise, and contrary to the product descriptions online, the original aspect ratio of 2.20:1 has been cut to 16:9 as stated on the DVD sleeve.

    If you love My Fair Lady as much as I do consider purchasing either of the Warner Home Video releases which are available new online through private sellers at moderate prices. The first Warner release was issued 12/08/98 and reputedly has the best picture. The second Warner release was a 02/03/04 deluxe two-DVD set with expanded special features well worth watching. The quality of this deluxe set is also far superior to the newly released Paramount/CBS DVD version. Both Warner versions have the original aspect ratio and Dolby 5.1

    Why does Hollywood issue inferior products like this? And to ad insult to injury their doing a remake of My Fair Lady to be released in 2010. I'd call that a "must miss." The very thought is repulsive.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sensational Humor

    This movie is good clean family fun with lots of humor and can be enjoyed by everyone in the family without fear of offending anyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful Hepburn Film

    One of my favorite Audrey Hepburn films, wonderful soundtrack, smart script

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    I really like this movie, but I think that Audrey should have sung the part she sounded fine. They should have used her and had someone help with the high notes. Other than that it is a great movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still A Pretty Fair Lady

    To answer a reviewer below, two of Audrey Hepburn's original vocals have been included on the dvd. Hearing them makes it clear that she needed some help with the more difficult parts of the score...however, I think they should have found someone other than Marni Nixon to do the dubbing. Marni's voice does not match Audrey's in timbre or style at all...and it is jarring to watch. Although not as perfect for the part as Julie Andrews, who originated it...Audrey has undeniable talent, and it shows. Wildly popular in its day, I think this film seems less magical and more overblown when viewed today....But it is gorgeous to look at, and the acting is first rate.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shaw/Cukor

    I am looking for the version with the voice of Audrey Hepburn singing all the songs of the musical...It was show in American Classics....A new copy with the original soundtrack singed by Audrey Hepburn.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Audrey Hepburn Was Probably The Best Choice.

    MY FAIR LADY is a musical adaptation of Bernard Shaw's play PYGMALION. It enjoyed a long and successful run on Broadway with Julie Andrews starring as Eliza Doolittle. Julie was replaced by Audrey Hepburn for the movie. This was of course a major change which was met with much skepticism. Audrey turned in a superlative performance although her singing voice was provided by Marni Nixon. Rex Harrison in the role of Professor Higgins proved to be as good in the film as he was on the stage. Stanley Holloway was superb as Alfred P. Doolittle. The movie walked off with most of the Academy Awards in 1964 winning Oscars for Best Picture, Best Actor (Rex Harrison), Best Director (George Cukor), Color Cinematography, Color Art Direction, Sound, Adapted Musical Scoring and Color Costume Design. Nominations were also receivedfor Best Supporting Actor (Stanley Holloway), Best Supporting Actress (Gladys Cooper), Adapted Screenplay and Editing. Ironically Julie Andrews won the Oscar for Best Actress in that same year for her appearance in MARY POPPINS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2013

    Get it

    I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie I Have Ever Seen

    'My Fair Lady' is by far the best movie I have ever seen. It's got music, romance...something for everyone. Before I saw this movie, I was sure I wouldn't like it. I was shocked after viewing it. I absolutely loved it! I have never seen a better film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3