Customer Reviews for

Napoleon Dynamite

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Just Flippin' Classic

    Never gets old, sill stand the test of time, no doubt

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Give it a chance if you don't get it the first time.

    Did not like or get it the first time. You have to be in a certain frame of mind. Not sure what my frame of mind was the second time around, but I laughed alot. Don't try to over analyze. The quirky characters and story line are original. Just have fun with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Napoleon Dynamite

    I Really Loved this Film,Alot!!! I had just Felt that the Film was Speaking to Me & I Could Definitely Relate to the Main Characters!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Napoleon: The Plottless Wonder

    This movie was the most incredibly boring piece of crap I've ever seen. Someone said that it's not supposed to have a plot it's just supposed to be about real life. This is the real life of an idiot, which is not funny, as you might think. Movies need plots. Most people's lives are not interesting, so why make movies about them. These kids seemed like they should be in special ed (no offense to anyone who is actually disabled). This has no plot. I didn't want to see it. I only saw it to tell my friends, who loved it, that I despised it with every fiber of my being. I have nothing against independent or different films. I love Little Miss Sunshine, but this movie was an absolute disgrace. This just shows what society is coming to. People fawn all over this, but criticize REAL movies. DON'T WATCH THIS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Number 1 anyone who doesn't like Napoleon Dynamite is a sap! This movie is the BOMB! I bought the soundtrack and i can't stop playing it! It's the best movie on earth! So yes if you didn't like it you're a dry, old, crusty-critter! (this is said from the bottom of my heart)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Napoleon Dynamite is the Bomb!

    This movie may be dumb"oh wait, it is!" but it is a true classic. it is so funny! the humor may be dry, but it is told in a nerd's point of view."sorry,no offence!"anyway if you love good,clean,laughs, the I highly recommend this movie. Enjoy!! :"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Why do people enjoy this? It deserves about a negative 27 rating.

    I watched the movie simply so that I could tell my friends that I had watched it and still thought it was stupid. It looked dumb to begin with. People say it's funny, I don't see why. I didn't even find stupid humor. I could understand if it had stupid humor, but it doesn't. If you liked it don't get all offended. Maybe you something that I didn't. It was idiotic, rediculous, and the acting was abysmal. They say it's a love it-hate it movie. Well, I guess that's true because I HATED it, and I've never bet anyone who said, "It's okay." So so don't watch this. It's that simple. I found myself just wanting to turn it off. That rarely happens, even if I don't like a movie I'm curious about the end. WARNING: THIS MOVIE WILL CAUSE BRAIN MELTAGE AND OR ROTTING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "O" if I could

    I have no idea why this movie is so popular. I do like cult films and other non-traditional films, but this film was dull and depressing. The actors were horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jon Heder, the modern day Jim Carrey

    I have never seen a movie quite like this one. In it's own bizarrely twisted way, it tells a story about an insecure high schooler named Napoleon Dynamite, an unlikely hero, whom like the rest of us, is trying to deal his life, and the people that surround him. It also tells the stories about the people that surround him, like his love interest, his new friend, his equally nerdy order brother, his schemingly snake-like uncle, the school bully that torments him, and the typical snobby teen princess who doesn't know he exists. This is a story of about all of us, but it is told in a very different way, than we are all used to. It's kind of charming, but very dry as well. It is the kind of movie that all ages can enjoy, and reflect upon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I dont understand how anyone thought this was funny...

    Okay, well first of all it was the worst movie i have ever encountered in my entire life. It was horrific. I hated the dry humor that made no sense at all. i hated this movie more than i hate brussel sprouts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WASTE OF TIME!!!!

    THIS MOVIE TOTALY SUCKS.... DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WATCHING THIS MOVIE.....IT WILL BE A BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG DISSAPOINTMENT....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cult Classic

    Just as the Breakfast Club and Fast times at Ridgemont High will always be classics, that is what ND will become as well. Though it is stupid and doesn't have a plot, it is hilarious. John Heder is destined to become the next Jim Carrey, and if you watch this movie, all of your wildest dreams will come true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DOESN'T EVEN DESERVE THE ONE STAR!

    Ok, I have no idea how this movie appeals to anyone. It's a movie about a guys pathetic life where nothing happens at all. The movie attempts to be funny, but it's just not, it's boring to watch. The characters have no emotion whatsoever, and there's no plot at all. I only watched maybe a half hour of it, I couldn't stand it anymore. I don't see why any actor, director, producer, or writer would stoop so low as to make such a horrible movie. There aren't any hidden plots or anything, like some people are saying. It's simply an extremely boring movie, which should have never been made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I would give it Zero if I could!

    Many people say that the point of this movie is that there is no plot. If a movie doesn't have a plot, then why should I see it? It's the same thing if a book doesn't have a plot but merely just words thrown in- it has no purpose. If they billed this as a bildungsroman or something, maybe I'd appreciate it. Throughout the whole movie, I only laughed twice, not finding the jokes that funny at all (although I got them). Napoleon Dynamite also seems like a movie made for the kids who make fun of kids like Napoleon Dynamite. I don't like laughing at people, so this could be why I despised it, in accordance that there was no plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    That's the point!!

    The point of the movie is that THERE IS NO PLOT! It's just a peek in the life of a geeky kid and his friends and how he copes with life. The movie is clever and brilliant-Americans haven't been 'dumbed' down-if you try to figure out the movie, then you won't 'get it'. You either love the movie or hate it-there is no in between. I never STOPPED laughing! Try not to take life so seriously and you just might enjoy it. It's just a fun movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie is flippin incredible!!

    My kids absolutely loved this movie (as did I) there are few movies with no profanity or sex that the whole family can enjoy, this movie gives you just that! I think Napoleon Dynamite is going to be a cult classic like Rocky Horror Picture Show.....It is one of a kind!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my lips hurt real bad

    This movie is brillant. I have seen it four times and it just keeps getting better, my husband and I laugh nonstop. The humor is original and quirky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved It !

    I am a 48 year old who watched this with my 10 year old daughter. I loved it and have watched it over and over. I even repeat the lines. It is really nice to see the geek not only win, but stay true to himself in winning. I hope that a sequel is in the works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A classic like Willy Wonka

    The reviewers who didn't like this movie have no sense of humor. This is a very funny, tongue-in-cheek movie that will split your sides - if you aren't uptight. Don't expect a Hollywood production. Expect wonderful performances by a group of then-unknown actors who truly bring these endearing characters to life. I have watched it countless times with my children (ages 8, 10 and 13) and love it. My kids love to impersonate the characters - and the whole family laughs along. Yes, it's a lot more fun to watch it with kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie is flippin' sweet!!!!

    this is one of the best movies......ever! it is so stupid, that it's funny! if you love to laugh, this is a movie for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7