Customer Reviews for

Napoleon Dynamite

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Napoleon: The Plottless Wonder

    This movie was the most incredibly boring piece of crap I've ever seen. Someone said that it's not supposed to have a plot it's just supposed to be about real life. This is the real life of an idiot, which is not funny, as you might think. Movies need plots. Most people's lives are not interesting, so why make movies about them. These kids seemed like they should be in special ed (no offense to anyone who is actually disabled). This has no plot. I didn't want to see it. I only saw it to tell my friends, who loved it, that I despised it with every fiber of my being. I have nothing against independent or different films. I love Little Miss Sunshine, but this movie was an absolute disgrace. This just shows what society is coming to. People fawn all over this, but criticize REAL movies. DON'T WATCH THIS!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Why do people enjoy this? It deserves about a negative 27 rating.

    I watched the movie simply so that I could tell my friends that I had watched it and still thought it was stupid. It looked dumb to begin with. People say it's funny, I don't see why. I didn't even find stupid humor. I could understand if it had stupid humor, but it doesn't. If you liked it don't get all offended. Maybe you something that I didn't. It was idiotic, rediculous, and the acting was abysmal. They say it's a love it-hate it movie. Well, I guess that's true because I HATED it, and I've never bet anyone who said, "It's okay." So so don't watch this. It's that simple. I found myself just wanting to turn it off. That rarely happens, even if I don't like a movie I'm curious about the end. WARNING: THIS MOVIE WILL CAUSE BRAIN MELTAGE AND OR ROTTING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "O" if I could

    I have no idea why this movie is so popular. I do like cult films and other non-traditional films, but this film was dull and depressing. The actors were horrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I dont understand how anyone thought this was funny...

    Okay, well first of all it was the worst movie i have ever encountered in my entire life. It was horrific. I hated the dry humor that made no sense at all. i hated this movie more than i hate brussel sprouts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WASTE OF TIME!!!!

    THIS MOVIE TOTALY SUCKS.... DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME WATCHING THIS MOVIE.....IT WILL BE A BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG BIG DISSAPOINTMENT....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    DOESN'T EVEN DESERVE THE ONE STAR!

    Ok, I have no idea how this movie appeals to anyone. It's a movie about a guys pathetic life where nothing happens at all. The movie attempts to be funny, but it's just not, it's boring to watch. The characters have no emotion whatsoever, and there's no plot at all. I only watched maybe a half hour of it, I couldn't stand it anymore. I don't see why any actor, director, producer, or writer would stoop so low as to make such a horrible movie. There aren't any hidden plots or anything, like some people are saying. It's simply an extremely boring movie, which should have never been made.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I would give it Zero if I could!

    Many people say that the point of this movie is that there is no plot. If a movie doesn't have a plot, then why should I see it? It's the same thing if a book doesn't have a plot but merely just words thrown in- it has no purpose. If they billed this as a bildungsroman or something, maybe I'd appreciate it. Throughout the whole movie, I only laughed twice, not finding the jokes that funny at all (although I got them). Napoleon Dynamite also seems like a movie made for the kids who make fun of kids like Napoleon Dynamite. I don't like laughing at people, so this could be why I despised it, in accordance that there was no plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dumbest movie ever

    I sat through this movie on HBO and it is the DUMBEST movie ever. It is NOT funny, pointless, and a complete waste of time. If anyone thinks this movie is entertaining and funny, it just proves how pathetic our society has become on what they think is comedy. I did not laugh once. Since it was produced by MTV, it proves how stupid this movie really is. Don't waste your time and don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Waste of money

    This had to be the worst movie I have ever seen in my entire life if I could give it 0 stars I would. There was no plot to it at all, it made no sense, and it wasn't funny like everyone said it would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THIS MOVIE SUCKS BALLS!

    The only funny people in this whole movie, are Kip and his uncle. Napolean himself was just annoying. You could tell that everyone associated with this movie was a high school drop-out and thought they had a hell of an idea. I guess they were wrong. And to the guy who concieved the idea for this movie, here's and idea: have a point to your movies, it makes it so much more interesting for the viewer! I guess we'll see them all in "Napolean Dynamite 2: The Search For More Money and a Purpose"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    no words can describe how stupid this movie is.

    it's dumb and stupid. it had a few funny parts but other than that it was a waste of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It doesn't get any worse!

    This movie was absolutely the most aweful movie I have ever seen! It is not at all funny. Instead, I simply found it to be a stupid, dumb movie. In addition, it had no plot, and all of the characters showed little intelligence or sensibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awful, Horrible, cant get any worse

    This movie is by far one of the worst i have ever seen. Its not funny, its stupid, its not entertaining, and its a waste of time. Do not waste your time wathcing this movie it has no plot, action, romance, comedy, anything a movie is suppsoed to have

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the worst movies i've ever seen in my life.

    This really is not a good movie. This is a very dull, tasteless movie that bores you after the first 20 minutes of watching it. This movie basically doesn't really have a plot, but if you try, you can find a theme. I think it's that you can overcome any obstacle if you try and put your heart to it. Okay, themes aside, this is a really dull, pointless movie. There are so many plot twists that a viewer can get very lost very easily and not find a way back to the path that the movie first started out on. I do have to admit though, there are some funny parts, like the part where the farmer shoots his cow behind a moving truck and the part where Napoleon slaps Kip and runs away. Also, the part where LaFawnduh changes Kip into a wigger. I'd say those are the only true funny parts of the movie. I felt my mind wandering off into space every 10 minutes because my mind wasn't really occupied with this movie. I fought hard to stay awake until the very end and to my surprise, I actually did. It's pretty evident that this was the work of a first-time director. I only wish that this directorial debut was as good as Donnie Darko. Maybe Jared Hess should be an understudy to Quentin Tarantino or Joel Coen. All in all, this movie really doesn't hold an audience's attention and loses an audience half way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Whut wus goin on..........gosh it so STUPID

    Wut wus going on??????????? I cant believe i rented it! all my friends think it wuz so awsome and are always quoting frum it, but the movie had no point at all. Seriously, who wants to watch a movie where a guy just goes around doing weird pointless things and living a pointless life? I completely hated it!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Napoleon Dynamite Is The Worst Movie Ever

    Napoleon Dynamite is the worst movie that I have seen. It is long, slow, boring, and has no plot. Someone told me this movie was funny. This movie doesn't even come close to being funny. I laughed a few times while watching this movie. To think I watched this movie on a Saturday night. I would have rather twiddled my thumbs. All in all this is the dullest and worst movie I've ever seen. I give it two thumbs down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stupid Movie

    There wasn't even really any point to this movie. Its just a whole bunch of retarded people talking and stuff. Its stupid. I don't care if anyone else likes it but I just don't see the point of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie was painful to watch.

    Alright, I'll admit that it did have some funny parts but mainly, this movie was painful. It left alot of empty holes to the story. Was Napoleon retarded or just slow? Did this movie take place in the 80's? If so, why did Kip have a computer? Why was Pedro running for President? The big climax in this movie was the dance scene. Stupid, stupid, stupid!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie sucks...Gosh!

    Napolean Dynamite was more slow, boring, and stupid than it was funny. In fact, it was basically a waste of time (about 95 minutes). The story seemed to go nowhere until the end when good things began happening to Napolean and all the other loser characters. I will admit he did have a cool pair of boots, but wearing them all the time made him even more of a geek. The moral of the story is it's ok to be either a nerd, someone whose been living in the past, or both, because eventually good things will happen to you (yeah right).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Terrible

    If I could review this with zero stars, i would. This was the worst movie that I have ever seen. It wasn't even moderately funny and the whole concept was retarded. My two year old sister could probably make a better movie. What a waste of a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2