Customer Reviews for

Napoleon Dynamite

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(75)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Number 1 anyone who doesn't like Napoleon Dynamite is a sap! This movie is the BOMB! I bought the soundtrack and i can't stop playing it! It's the best movie on earth! So yes if you didn't like it you're a dry, old, crusty-critter! (this is said from the bottom of my heart)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Napoleon Dynamite is the Bomb!

    This movie may be dumb"oh wait, it is!" but it is a true classic. it is so funny! the humor may be dry, but it is told in a nerd's point of view."sorry,no offence!"anyway if you love good,clean,laughs, the I highly recommend this movie. Enjoy!! :"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jon Heder, the modern day Jim Carrey

    I have never seen a movie quite like this one. In it's own bizarrely twisted way, it tells a story about an insecure high schooler named Napoleon Dynamite, an unlikely hero, whom like the rest of us, is trying to deal his life, and the people that surround him. It also tells the stories about the people that surround him, like his love interest, his new friend, his equally nerdy order brother, his schemingly snake-like uncle, the school bully that torments him, and the typical snobby teen princess who doesn't know he exists. This is a story of about all of us, but it is told in a very different way, than we are all used to. It's kind of charming, but very dry as well. It is the kind of movie that all ages can enjoy, and reflect upon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cult Classic

    Just as the Breakfast Club and Fast times at Ridgemont High will always be classics, that is what ND will become as well. Though it is stupid and doesn't have a plot, it is hilarious. John Heder is destined to become the next Jim Carrey, and if you watch this movie, all of your wildest dreams will come true!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    That's the point!!

    The point of the movie is that THERE IS NO PLOT! It's just a peek in the life of a geeky kid and his friends and how he copes with life. The movie is clever and brilliant-Americans haven't been 'dumbed' down-if you try to figure out the movie, then you won't 'get it'. You either love the movie or hate it-there is no in between. I never STOPPED laughing! Try not to take life so seriously and you just might enjoy it. It's just a fun movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie is flippin incredible!!

    My kids absolutely loved this movie (as did I) there are few movies with no profanity or sex that the whole family can enjoy, this movie gives you just that! I think Napoleon Dynamite is going to be a cult classic like Rocky Horror Picture Show.....It is one of a kind!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    my lips hurt real bad

    This movie is brillant. I have seen it four times and it just keeps getting better, my husband and I laugh nonstop. The humor is original and quirky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved It !

    I am a 48 year old who watched this with my 10 year old daughter. I loved it and have watched it over and over. I even repeat the lines. It is really nice to see the geek not only win, but stay true to himself in winning. I hope that a sequel is in the works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A classic like Willy Wonka

    The reviewers who didn't like this movie have no sense of humor. This is a very funny, tongue-in-cheek movie that will split your sides - if you aren't uptight. Don't expect a Hollywood production. Expect wonderful performances by a group of then-unknown actors who truly bring these endearing characters to life. I have watched it countless times with my children (ages 8, 10 and 13) and love it. My kids love to impersonate the characters - and the whole family laughs along. Yes, it's a lot more fun to watch it with kids.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this movie is flippin' sweet!!!!

    this is one of the best movies......ever! it is so stupid, that it's funny! if you love to laugh, this is a movie for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "I'm not using her's you sicko!"

    Gosh! Napoleon Dynamite is the best thing that has ever happened to me! If you don't buy this movie you are missing out on a true classic. The funniest part of the movie is that there is no plot, you crazies! I've seen this movie over 30 times and every time it gets even better! Gotta go watch it right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GREAT for the right people.

    It's simple. There are two groups. One group gets this movie and one doesn't. The Napoleon/Pedro/Deb's and the Summer/Ron types. If you were a popular, prep, jock (Nothing wrong with that) You won't get this movie. Your school years came from a different perspective then the other group. But, if you ever felt a little outside the main cliques, ever spent way to much time outside practicing made-up martial arts moves, ever felt wrong in your own skin, you will totally get this movie. It's freakin' AWESOME! ESPECIALLY if you were ever a teen in the 80's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Are you serious?

    How could you not laugh hysterically at this movie. Even if you don't have a sense of humor it is funny. I'll admit that the first two or three times I watched it, I thought it was stupid, boring, and I even fell asleep through parts. But for some reason, watching one more time was all it took to get me hooked. It's hilarious. Amazing. Clever. A masterpiece.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of my favorites

    this movie is great. it makes you laugh and warms your heart. ive watched it a hundred times over and im quite picky about what i watch. it is hard to follow the plot but there is one...despite what some people have been saying. and there is romance and comedy and yes, even action. this is an adorable movie that is great for guys and girls of all ages. but its true, there really is no middle ground in terms of who likes this movie. you either love it or hate it. comdies these days arent funny and i dont usually like them because i get bored but this is a great one that i really appreciate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Give this movie a chance

    I am a 52-year-old dad to a senior in high school who brought home a friend's copy of Napoleon Dynamite, and asked my wife and me to watch it. The first viewing made me almost physically ill. I had been a nerd in High School, and bullied a lot, like Napoleon. Since there is not a large amount of plot in this film, it was easy to insert my own memories of high school into the film. That reflexive identification kept me from clearly seeing what was actually portrayed in the movie. I didn't understand that at the time. All I knew was I felt very uneasy as I saw my own discomfort re-lived on the screen. I was angry that all those rotten experiences had been dredged up and I didn't want to see it again. Lucky for me, my daughter had this DVD on for days. Every time I'd walk by the TV, I catch a scene of Napoleon and Pedro, or maybe Kip, and laugh at the absurdly deadpan delivery. After seeing these bits and pieces often enough, and hearing my daughter quoting some of the funnier (seemingly) throw-away lines ("I caught you a delicious bass...")I started to get the joke. Please watch this a few times, and give some space between the screenings. I think most of you will start to see the great joy of life that the director and the entire cast put into this movie. Now when I watch it, I can't help but laugh at Kip and his hot Internet babe LaFawnda, Pedro's family member "enforcers" and on and on... Napoleon’s dance is brilliant. Give this movie a chance, it grows on you like those family members who drive you nuts, but you know they are trying to be the best people they can be. Once you get to know their lives, and their troubles, their minor achievements become major accomplishments, and like this movie, a cause for celebration

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE EVER!

    this is the funniest movie ever. No, it may not have a plot, or good acting or anything that would win it an oscar, but who said you need all that to be funny. Just appreciate the movie for what it is. Just stupid humor that will crack you up from beginning until the end. There is a lot of hype around this movie, so don't expect more than dumb humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great!!

    i thought this was a great movie very funny and always made you laugh i recomend this movie to anybody you just wait and see how much hilarius comedy there is!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'd Vote For Pedro

    This has to be THE best movie released in the past 5 years. A close second is Shaun of the Dead. This movie has you laughing at the stupid things you did while growing up in the 80's...no plot, maybe, but funny as hell! You will be talking about this movie many months afterwards and recommending to anyone you meet that has not already seen it...also, it gets better the more you watch it. You see things that you missed the first time around, so you really should buy it and not just rent it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Heck Yesss

    What a Great Movie!! Non-stop laughs. Others need to loosen up and just enjoy this movie for its wonderfully unique humor!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    good movie

    i really liked this movie. it made me laugh. it was also very moving in some way. i think it's a great comedy and if you just want a movie to watch on a friday night with some friends or with family, this is the movie to watch! i especially like it because it was released on my birthday, December 21!!! AWESOME MOVIE!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4