Customer Reviews for

National Treasure

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great fun for fans of history and action alike

    Who would not wonder at the idea of stealing a national treasure? Ever since "The Da Vinci Code" was published, much has been said about the Knights Templar and the existence of a magnanimous treasure, sometimes with religious implications, sometimes, as is the case in "National Treasure", just related to pure mutiny. I was never a fan of American history, yet this movie has managed to lit up my interest in it. <BR/><BR/>The story centers around Benjamin Franklin Gates, a role impersonated by Nicolas Cage. A descendant of THE Benjamin Franklin, historian, engineer and Navy ROTC Ben Gates is on a quest after a family's life pursuit about the ancient treasure of the Knights Templar, that somehow seems to have found its way to America during the Revolutionary War, and was hidden in this land by the Freemasons who, among others, counted the names of George Washington, Thomas Jefferson and Benjamin Franklin himself as members. But the Gates family has been the laughing stock of the historical community in Washington D.C. for generations due to the elusiveness of said treasure. Just when Ben Gates appears to have found someone rich enough and willing to fund a costly search that includes an expedition to the Arctic, Ben realizes that not everyone has the same solemn intentions as he does when it comes to finding the greatest treasure ever coveted by mankind. For starters, the clues leading to its discovery are to be found in the Declaration of Independence... but how does one get to it and, more importantly, how can the clues be interpreted? Ben has his friend and co-conspirator Riley Poole, played by hilarious Justin Bartha, and National Archives expert Dr. Abigail Chase (played by Diane Kruger) as his right and left hands to help him. <BR/><BR/>This is the premise of "National Treasure", a movie which unpacks fun and loads of action while taking the viewer on location to the National Archives and the Library of Congress in Washington D.C., the Liberty Bell in Philadelphia, and the catacombs under Trinity Church in New York City. <BR/><BR/>I have enjoyed it immensely, especially the historical aspect. Although the acting is not stellar by any means, one must admit that Sean Bean still offers a fantastic view of the human male species even when he is getting on years, and the feminine element offered by Diane Kruger as Dr. Chase is... cute, though sometimes borderline callous. <BR/><BR/>True to a Jerry Bruckheimer production, the film offers great photography, and the 2-disc Collector's Edition is jam-packed with extras presented in the form of a treasure hunt, my favorites being "Riley's Decode This!", with three levels of discovery - of which I still have not been ablt to conquer them all! - and the featurette on "Ciphers, Codes & Codebreakers", a great documentary on code making and breaking that goes back to the first World War. The deleted scenes offer much needed background to the film, although it is understandable how they did not make it into it - at 2:35 hours, nothing else could go in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    National Sham

    The exploration of the National Treasure is fascinating, but the characters are just awful and the mythology is off as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Wow,this movie has to be the best Nicolas Cage movie I have ever seen.It packs action with a history lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    National Treasure

    In a way, it reminded me a bit of The Da Vinci Code but made it in a lighter way for the family. Basically group of people on what's like the amazing race to the finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a great family movie

    So sick of the uber-sweet and dumbed-down movies for families. This is the perfect example of what a great family movie can be. I originally watched this on my own and have recommended it to EVERYONE. Its exciting enough to keep you on the edge of your seats, educational enough that you almost feel like you've learned something new, and light enough that the kids will love it. Oh, and no swearing or violence (really). A must have, whether you have a family or not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AWSOME!!!!!!!!!! nicholas cage was fantastic!!!

    I love this movie and am a fan of nicholas cage I thought that justin bartha(rilly) was hallarious and wished that they would have mentioned more about how they made the movie but other than that i thought it was awsome!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This was an amazing story!

    I loved this movie with a passion. It's a great action movie that's appropriate for the entire family. It's also pretty funny. I loved it. And for all you people who are hungry for more. There's also going to be a NATIONAL TREASURE 2 in 2007. I can't wait. See it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Movie!!!!

    This is probably my favorite movie of 2004. It was awesome. I like history and well with all the action, it was a great movie for someone like me. I think that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST MOVIE

    This is by far my most favorite movie that is rated PG. It was a great movie for Nicholas Cage and the other stars in the film as well. It is action, slight romance, slight comedy, informal, and many other movie types all rolled into one, normally that would end up in a big explosive, boring movie, but not this time, NT is AWESOME!! I highly recommend you watch it, now!! You also learn little facts of history as you are watching the movie, though you don't realize it until you've seen it a couple times. Well, go get some popcorn and enjoy this movie already!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nicholas Cage is back on top!!!!

    This was a great film! Nicholas Cage did a great job and his costar Justin Bartha did a fine job as the comic relief. My favorite scene is when Ben's Dad (Jon Voight) realizes he stole the Declaration of Independence and Riley, wearing yellow rubber dishwashing gloves points to Cage. Hysterical!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved this movie!!!

    My husband and I saw this in the theater and it was one of the best movies we've seen in a long time. From beginning to end, it was thoroughly entertaining. For those of you looking for a good family film, I would highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bruckheimer Does it Again

    Jerry Bruckheimer worked his movie magic once again in this wild ride of a movie. Nicholas Cage's performance was one of his personal bests and the cinematography was very, very good with great shots of the historical U.S. sites. Any action movie fan should buy this great film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can I watch it agian?

    This Movie was awsome! I think that you should watch it. It is a great movie. If there was a 1-10 star rateing, I would give it a 10. The movie has a great story, and is fun to watch with a friend, or your family. This exciting movie keeps you wanting to see more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good movie

    This movie is fun to watch.....but should have been 30 minutes shorter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A totally cool movie

    I love this movie!! It's great mystery movie and has lots of action too. It's makes a person wonder at the end of the movie if there really is a national treasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    National Successor

    This movie is a big treasure hunt that is great from start to finish. Staring Nicholas Cage, Jon Voight, Sean Bean and more this is possibly the best movie i have ever seen. It is very realistic and is a true success. The movie though seems to take a long time to find the treasure but it is worth the time. While some may say been there done that (because of the Indiana Jones movies) it has a twist, they are looking for a treasure left behind by the founding fathers. When they think the Declaration of Independence is there final clue, is only the first of many clues that leads them on a wild goose chase. This thriller is a must see movie and i highly recomend it to everyone. Have fun and enjoy the treasure hunt!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    incredibly exciting roller coaster of a ride!

    one awesome film just got even more awesome on dvd! got my copy tuesday morning, and was astounded by the sheer thrills and wonders of it all. nick cage, sean bean head a great cast, including diane kruger (troy) in a non stop thriller of a suspense what if flick! loved it from start to finish-and it's wondrous entertainment for the entire family. not to be missed, national treasure is a real keeper- to be seen over and over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awesome,best movie of the year

    This movie has everything! A little comedy alot of action. I recomend this movie to everyone from grandparents to toddlers. A perfect movie to watch again and again. Awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best movies of 2004

    I absolutely love this movie. I cant wait to buy this on DVD. This is one of Nicolas Cage's best movies ever. This is also one of Diane Kruger's best movies next to 'Troy'. This movie is an absolute classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4