Customer Reviews for

Neon Genesis Evangelion Perfect Coll

Average Rating 5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The most powerful collection ever!

    I own the platinum series, but a friend of mine has this collection and i was shocked! Just goes to show you that a normal mech is not enough to keep you calm. you just feel the surge the shout "Launch, EVA!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    amazing

    Neon Genesis Evangelion is amazing. I watched the episodes in japanese with english subtitles, which is much better then english translated, I love how (i think the 5th angel) is a boy, and shinji has to pop his head, perverted, but awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Begining and End to all anime period.

    This anime embodies what anime is really like. Hollywood could never even begin to aproach the greatness of this anime. A true 'work of art' for our time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    NGE

    one of the best anime series i've ever seen...so buy it people! lol its worth it...i think everyone should watch it some time...and be sure to get the 'end of evangelion' movie too cuz thats the true ending to the series :-D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Most Beautifully Done Anime EVER!

    I swear, after watchin' all the episodes (including the two movies), it gets a person thinking. The story, characters, everything is masterfully done. I truly recommend the Evangelion set for any anime fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is amazing

    This anime asks the thoughest questions ever questioned by mankind. Why are we here? Why am I doing this? What is truth? Who am I? Who are you? All these questions don't have an answer, but Eva shows you what some of the possiblities of answers that can fit into those spicific questions. They don't answer the question for you, they give you the facts, and what each chracter's oulook on these question, and leave you to try and answer the question yourself. It honestly changed my outlook on life, but you don't really need to be a deep thinker to enjoy this anime, if your into a deep plot, realistic characters, amazing music, and mind-bogging graphics. I would recommend this master-pice to anyone, and everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not for the young or pure of heart.

    Neon Genesis Evangelion was an amazing series to begin with. Starting out with a little boy, who was constantly trying to keep from running away, End of Evangelion helps continue this little boy's journey.. as the viewer relates with this boy's fears, trials, and the numerous screams that he lets out throughout the video. You look on as this boy gets crucified, and looks on at the world, for one last i love you. This story is one that change the way you look at everything. One that will leave you staring at the screen, thinking about five million things at once. You owe it to yourself to see this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MUST HAVE ANIME

    OMG! This is the one of the best anime I ever seen!!! If you are anime collector, you must have this series on your list. It's the perfect combination of intense mecha battles and the very interesting story with colorful characters. I highly recommend this series to any serious anime collectors!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    IN cred IBLE

    Neon Genesis/Evangalion is the BEST anime ever. There is no doubt about that. What sets this spectacular set aside from the rest of the anime world is the extreme character development and glorious animation. There are plot twists that will leave the viewer in a kind of frenzy, wondering what is going to happen next. Of all anime, this is the pinnacle. It is truly the thinking person's cartoon. More than anything else, though, the impact that Neon Genesis has on the viewer is one of hope and frustration, light and dark, good and evil, and the gray areas in between. The DVD set is awesome in every way, nothing wrong with it at all. If you have never seen Evangalion before, do yourself a favor and get it. You will not regret it ever. I know it seems pricy, but it is worth every penny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the best Animé out there.

    Neon Genesis Evangelion is one of the best Animé out there. It has amazing and very real characters. The mecha designs are amazing. There is nothing wrong with this Animé. Neon Genesis Evangelion is a must have. It has a very convoluted plot at times and will make you think after watching it. I highly recommend buying this title. It will also air 2 episodes on Toonami later on in February 2003, so if you are unsure watch those episodes, I think it is the week of February 24th.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Significant Revelation

    The only movie, anime or otherwise, that revolved my perception 180 degrees. It is truly a must have for anybody with demons.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A true modern masterpiece

    Director Anno has created his second most remembered masterpiece, Gunbuster being the first. There is a depth to the characters and the story not found in other Anime, which is typical of Anno's works. Without doubt, one of the best and a great investment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This just may change everything about your life!!!!!!

    This saga swells deep in your mind the further U proceed through it. The beautiful animation coupled with a story that will leave u scared and confused. A deep and penetrating look into the fragility of our own minds and culture. This is not just a anime series, its everything!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Evangelion Rocks!

    Evangelion, one of the, if not the best anime of all time is put together in a perfect collection. The animation is flawless, as is the plot. When ''angels'' try to take over the earth, Shinji, Asuka, Rei, and Toji take to their Evangelions to save the planet(and the human race). I have seen the first eight episodes, and ''Neon Genesis Evangelion: Death and Rebirth'' and my own perfect collection is well on the way. A note to parents, however, is not to show this to small children, as is contains violence, brief nudity, and harsh language. To all otaku, (if you are one, you'll know what that means, if you aren't, too bad!)enjoy this, and purchase ''Death and Rebirth'' and ''The End of Evangelion'', they are essential parts of the plot. P.S. The theme song is the best. Ever. I'm listening to it right now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Way too disturbing for the weak and squimish.

    I have seen the entire episodes 1-26 (including the movie End of Evangelion), and I must say, this is one of the most compelling, ground-breaking, and utterly complexed animes ever written. The first few episodes may just look like your typical mecha anime, but the storyline becomes darker and brooding when some of the secrets of the EVAs, NERV and the SEELE are revealed. This a must for anyone who wants to stay away from a bland mecha storyline. However, I do have a major complain with the video transfer. ADV didn't do justice on it. The images are a little blurry, but tolerable, and the English voicework isn't my cup of tea. I prefer watching it on Japanese audio and turn on the subtitle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a truly deep series...

    I borrowed it from a friend and have seen all of it through twice. But still I must own them so i can watch them more. It touched me deeply and i was truly able to relate to the characters. It is truly a splendid work of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Phenomenal...

    I've been an avid anime fan for almost as long as I can remember. I have seen many different ones, but they all pale when compared to Neon Genesis Evangelion. It's not even fair to try to compare it to another anime--it really stands that far above them. The animation is superb for a TV series, the characters are so lifelike you'll think you're watching yourself, and the drama and religious undertone give a feeling of depth and wonder that you have not and probably never will experience again. The last two episodes are very controversial, but I actually liked them very much. Ep. 26 was actually voted the best-loved anime episode in Japan not long ago. You must compare them to the movies--Death & Rebirth and End of Evangelion--to piece together the ending as it was meant to be understood. If you haven't seen this anime, don't insult it by renting it first. BUY THE PERFECT COLLECTION NOW.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Anime Series Ever!!!

    Best Anime EVER!!!!!! Well, for now at least. Stunning animation, magnificent storylkine, and a plot that will keep you hanging on until the very last second! Buy it now. You won't be sorry later.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome Series, Recomended for Mature Audiences

    Awesome! Great Animation, Character personalities, and plot developments. It's just......... awesome, that's all I can say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Evangelion is a Must Have!

    Hideaki Anno is an artist all his own. His sorrow and pain feed life into Evangelion and gave birth to one of the most thought provoking, disturbing, original, and beautiful animated series of all time. You may not understand everything, but u feel the force driving the series. Born from depression and despair, Neon Genesis Evangelion Perfect Collection is the premiere series that all should possess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2