Customer Reviews for

Nights in Rodanthe

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one very lame boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one very very very lame boring long easily forgettable movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    one seriously lame boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    one very long boring movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Unforgetable characters

    Although different from the book, it was such a beautiful story and so well done by Richard Gere and Diane Lane two of my favorites together. It was total magnitism between the two, once again. Hope they continue to work together. Have tried to read as many Nicholas Sparks books as possible since I first discovered his writings last year. How wonderful they have been made into movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Breath of Fresh Air!!!

    Great love story! Very emotional! Beautiful scenery and both actors supurb! They are beautiful together! I don't usually see movies twice. This one will be the first and I will probably want to own it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nights in Rodanthe

    I was very disappointed in the movie. I expected more. After having read the book I felt they did no justice to the story. They, in my opinion did not follow the story. Why not write it as looking back over her life as she helps her daughter deal with her loss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Romantic

    A very good story that makes you cry and laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Escapism, pure & simple

    Despite a strong cast & intoxicating setting, the choppy waters of the sea, mirror the choppiness "Night's in Rodanthe". Even though it surpasses the contriteness of the original book, the script & editing could use some help, especially in the first half of the movie. As the movie unfolds, the forced feeling eases up some. This movie is pure escapism.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautiful Love Story!

    Nicholas Sparks's Nights in Rodanthe is beautifully transformed to movie. I can't wait for the next movie based on a book by Nicholas Sparks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Nights in Rodanthe - Lacking that Romantic Touch

    I really wanted to love this movie as Richard Gere and Diane Lane are two of my favorite actors. However, the movie was very disappointing. The story line should have worked with these 2 actors, but I found the movie
    very superficial and less than satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Extremely touching

    A very emotional movie. Fantastically written, it's another great Nicholas Sparks love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nice movie

    It's a little slow but the story is good and the characters are great. Nicholas Sparks is an excellent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Vivid but not acurate

    The movie was just wonderful IF you didn't read the book first.
    The book was fantastic and the movie should of been also BUT the script changed the things that happened, changed the sequence and changed the dialog. What a real disservice to a great author and book.
    Otherwise it was a real good movie and fantastic actors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    TOTAL TEAR-JERKER!! AWESOME MOVIE!!

    This movie is definitely on my fav. list! If you've ever read the book or seen the movie "P.S. I Love You", this movie is right up there with it. I just watched the movie a couple days ago, and I knew even partially through the movie that I HAVE to go get the book!!

    If this is one of your fav's, I'd highly reccomend PS I Love You. Both the book and the movie. For me, just like how it'll be with Nights in Rodanthe, I saw the movie before I read the book. When I read PS I Love You, I kept picturing scenes from the movie in my head. I hope the book for this will be just the same.

    This is a great movie for cuddling on the couch with a warm blanket (and some tissues!) at night, alone or with a friend(s). Definitely a "Chick-Flick", unless you have a guy friend/boyfriend,etc. who likes these kinds of movies. Hope you enjoy this as much as I did!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A second chance at love

    This movie showed two people taking a risk at a second chance for love and happiness. Even with the twist, it helped you realize that you have to take risks to get rewards. The risk of a broken heart allowed true love to begin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    nights in rodanthe

    I saw this movie in the theaters, and cried at the end so long.
    I liked the movie so much that I purchased it on line before it came out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    um ... chick movie?

    I watched this movie on Valentine's Day with my wife, and she liked it. I zoned out, but I didn't fall asleep. To be honest, I kept wondering who in their right mind would build a 3-story house on stilts over the Atlantic Ocean. Who would insure it? How do you heat it? These thoughts kept me preoccupied for 90 minutes.<BR/><BR/>Look, I'm clearly not the target audience for a story like this, but guys - if you want to please your wife, rent this. It'll buy you credits for some inane guy movie. I'm thinking Death Race.<BR/><BR/>I love Diane Lane, so that was a plus for me. I can't stand Richard Gere, so that was a minus. All in all, I survived.<BR/><BR/>I sat through The Notebook on a flight out west several years ago, and if I could have opened the doors to the jet, i would have jumped out. This movie was somewhat better. I thought the last 15 minutes were pretty good, even though the ending was clearly telegraphed. Again - Diane Lane saved this movie (for me).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    bring on the tissues

    For those of you who have not read the book before seeing this movie make sure to have a box of tissues. It is a very emotional movie. Perfect to help the watcher believe that people can change/ rediscover themselves after a heartbreak/ breakup of a marriage. Happiness is out there. An emotional journey. A wonderful movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2