Customer Reviews for

Northanger Abbey

Average Rating 2.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    I really enjoyed this movie. It was simply done and the actors s

    I really enjoyed this movie. It was simply done and the actors seemed to really have fun doing it. It is true 
    that it might not have followed the book exactly and it was not an expensive production but so what. I have 
    seen many productions that were much more flashy and sophisticated but were not half as much fun. I liked it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What were they thinking?

    This is a horrid production of Jane Austin's book. The story line is incomprehensible and confusing. The acting is very immature. Everyone around the heroine is creepy, including her romantic Henry, who is not very attractive and seems as devious as the rest of his family. This production seems to have run out of money half way through and then hurried to throw together an ending. It was unrecognizable as a Jane Austin story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    I thought the movie was superb. I thought that it could have followed the book a little better but it was still a great movie. The actors did a good job and it felt as if you were actually in the movie and experiencing some of the things that were happening. A thriller!! Great Movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could Have Been Better.

    I think that the actors all did a good job except for John Thorpe. They didn't really expand on his character, and he's an important thorn-in-catherine's-side. He chases after her a lot more in the book. They also make him seem more malicious than Isabella, and they're both pretty deceitful. I think that they did overdo Catherine's imagination a little bit however, for the movie version, it's important to show how she occasionally ivisions horrific scenes to shows why she would think the general would kill his wife. they also needed to expand on isabella's character and show how she tried to get back catherine's brother. however, they did some her up pretty well. The movie could have been better. Some of it was weird, but I still enjoyed it better than some of the other Jane Austen BBC movies, like BBC's P&P - that one had many good qualities but lacked romantic passion which is essential to P&P.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Absolutely Dreadful!

    First off I want to say that Peter Firth is a superb actor who just had the bad luck of starring in a bad adaptation of a Jane Auten book. I personally think Peter Firth worked well with what he had to work with but the actress playing Katherine's acting consisted of her making faces, like making her eyes get all big and her mouth drop open in a o shape for every single time she was supposed to show emotion. She looked constantly shocked, puzzled and surprised. This movie was also too short and the saxophone music was too modern and out of place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Okay But Could Have Been Better!

    I watched this BBC production of Jane Austen's Northanger Abbey and it has it's moments of okayness but for a BBC production which are usually great it is a little disappointing. I liked Peter Firth as Henry Tilney, I have been a fan of him since he was in the American television show That's Life so I watched him in Northanger Abbey and I liked him and I thought he was very good and that the actress who played Cathy was good too, though her big eyed stares did get a little tiresome and the bizarre dream and fantasy sequences were just too weird and the movie was too short and the ending too abrupt and the jazz music soundtrack was out of place. They should have used classical music like in the other BBC Jane Austen productions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Registers a solid 10 on the Poopookakameter

    Is it possible to give a NO star rating? Because this one deserves it. While I'm not a big fan of Jane Austen's books, I sat through this one with two women who are both big fans and were awaiting the order with this DVD in it for over a month. Well, at least we had a big laugh about how bad this film is. Robert Hardy was the only actor with any charisma in the whole thing, though he overdid it as he usually does (nearly as bad as Shatner), but that wasn't enough to save this stinker from total suckitude. It's often hard to separate the girl's dream sequences from what is "really" happening, and so many holes are left in the story that you can barely figure out what is going on. Too many loose ends and the ending feels like a "tune in again next week" climax. The lead actress is too ditzy and weird-looking to be a heroine, the leading man is too goofy-looking and effeminate to be a convincing hero and the music sounds like some kind of cheap new-agey pet project of the director's hippy daughter (I mean saxophone??? mixed in with some kind of spacey operatic female wailing?). So, in conclusion, I suggest you blow the budget and order this DVD as soon as possible. Especially if you like disappointment. I'll be watching my copy of "A River Runs Through It" again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing

    I was very disappinted with this pruduction. I felt they left out to much of the book, and way over did Catherins imagination. I feel they should have left that up to the observer. If it was done right it would be a top seller. It came the closest of Jane Austen's novels to be a comedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Lacking

    I was very disappointed with the quality of the production. Was difficult to follow because I couldn't get interested. I'd pass on this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1