Customer Reviews for

O Brother Where Art Thou?

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Loads of fun

    O Brother Where Art Thou? is a fun movie from start to end. The Coen Bros. wrote an amazing script based on the Greek Odyssey. It is wholly entertaining without a dull moment. The soundtrack is phenomenal, and the feature song, "Man of Constant Sorrows" has become a classic. The performances were spot on, and the dialogue is brilliant. The comedy is intelligent and fast-paced at times. I can't imagine anyone NOT enjoying this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great movie...a must see!

    The cast are all in top form, playing the odd, quirky characters well. The soundtrack is worth buying, also. Very humorous, a bit odd, but worth the watch for anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wildly Entertaining Movie!

    I love this movie! It's so witty and wildly humorous & entertaining. I like how they portrayed the 30's within it too...very well done on that! Just watch it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    1930's lives again!

    As a history teacher I love this movie with its subtile but very accurate portrayal of life and the issues of the Great Depression. The music is simply outstanding. The actors are wonderful with an exception in the actor who plays the part of the preacher/crook.... One of my all time favorite movies!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the coen brother's best since "Fargo".

    this movie, first of all was halarious. some may not find it to be. i have rather strange taste, so i like the coen brother's humor. i am only 12. don't let that fool you. this is not just a kiddie movie. i have won several state art awards for best in show. with that said, you can tell that i choose to watch artistic films. it is my dream to become a director and i am currently working on scripts titled "song of the hummingbird", "death of the crickets", "knott", and "the touch me not". i like films that have an unusual style or look or rythm of dialouge, and so on. i like unusual movie with strange directors. my movie heros would be alfred hitchcock,m. night shyamalan, tim burton, and of course the coen brothers. this film has colorful characters and strange but halarious jokes. some parents my not like the language in this movie. most of the swear words in this movie are either son of a you know what or the "g.d." word. this movie DOES take place long ago so there is usage of the "N word" toward african americans. there is a bank robbery and a run in with the KKK, including a burning cross. if you enjoyed this you may enjoy the coen brother's earlier 1996 "fargo". i sure did enjoy them both very much and this is one of my favorite movies ever. ta.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great job

    this is such a neat movie. is rich which genuine down-home american heritage, and the actors did a great job of drawing out the characters and complementing one another. George Clooney is hilarious! Never liked blue grass music but this movie changed my mind. Watch it sometime!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie!

    I absolutely loved this movie! I don't like to buy them but I had to have this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW! A movie to watch again and again!

    My entire family (teen-no little ones)loved this movie.We bought the movie and soundtrack too! We downloaded the words to sing along! It's just FUN!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best

    O BROTHER WHERE ART THOU had a great plot, great acting, great acting, and most of all, great music. I read the Oddysey, and though it wasn't perfect, it had most of the themes captured. I love the soundtrack, it is one of the best records in a long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    MOSTEST AWSOMEST MOVIE EVER IN A LONG TIME!!!!

    Man, u need to see this movie right away! It is awsome like i said, and it made me laugh and it made me cry and it made me sing along like one of those baby sing along song things that arent't good enough for DVD! This move was just so awsome and George Clooney is exceptional he is just the best he is so awsome U have to see this movie! When u r done seein the movie u got to see it again and again this movie is SO awsome!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie will Keep You Rolling!!!!

    This movie was absolutely hilarious!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    George Clooney CAN act!

    Clooney did a wonderful job of bringing his character to life. His outrageous vocabulary accompanied by his cunning schemes makes this film a laugh riot. Great movie if you're looking for laugh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Coen brothers strike gold

    Genius is being able to grab inspiration from the classic Homer¿s Odyssey and turn it into a depression era, bluegrass comedy. The Coen brothers displayed their genius with O Brother, Where Art Thou? The entire cast is great, but George Clooney steals the show. The film is carried by its music, a bluegrass and gospel period-fest. I love this movie. If you¿re into bluegrass, comedy and George Clooney, you¿ll love it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just About the Best

    This movie had superb acting along with a musical score that complemented it to the utmost. You will want to see it over and over again. Each time you see something new and better. It is really good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Movie...Destined to be a classic.

    I Loved this flick. Based on Homer's ''Odyssey''. Very , very funny. I watched it twice in a row and then again the following day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Clooney is the best.

    I rented this movie hearing that is was really good from one of my friends. It was. I think that just the subject matter was real good and each character was played so well. George Clooney (Ocean's 11) was witty, charming, and hilarious, ''We're in a tight spot!'' It's hilarious how he repeats the same thing 4 times in like, 2 minutes. The song he sings, ''I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow'' is great. It really attracts attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    New American Classic

    I loved the movie,I bought the video a couple of weeks ago,the whole family watches it ,we must have watched it now at least eight times, we also had to go get the soundtrack! It's an adventure with kind of a Stienbeck flavor to it,and a small pinch of The Wizard of Oz. It is sure to be an American Classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a Surprise

    I am not a Clooney fan and that almost made me miss a great movie. The entire cast, including George Clooney, was absolutely outstanding. It was a delight from beginning to end. Good music, lots of laughs, and a good story line. Don't miss it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Odyssey?...Blasphemy!!

    Perhaps this movie would not have seemed such a disgrace had it not explicitly claimed attachment to Homer's Odyssey. I, for one, am glad that the epic poet was blind, such that he will not be able to view this tantalizingly banal rendition of his epic. Now the soundtrack happens to be amazing, but that's a different story. The scenes that surely parallel Homer, (the sirens, the cyclops) seem to be novelty renditions just thrown in for the sake of saying it is a modern Odyssey. If Goodman's character can be compared to Polyphemos, then I suppose any theif can...oh wait, he had an eyepatch...what an amazingly clever way to suggest the connection to the epic monster. I'm stunned...really. The creative juices must have been flowing on that one. Clooney's attempts at lyrical virtuosity, I assume, are supposed to evoke the smooth-tongued Odysseus...but again, they seem just thrown in as if the movie was finished and then somebody remembered they were supposed to be evoking the Odyssey. And what was with the Robert Johnson character? Why didn't they just call him Robert Johnson...I mean, it was so obvious that it wasn't even fun to guess at the symbol...so why give him everything except the right last name? If people still read books, I'm sure Homer's Odyssey would expose the inadequacies of this version...but, people don't. Or when they do, they don't read them well. I give my two stars for cinematography. Maybe television has lulled our collective imaginations too sleep...granted, books aren't as easy as movies...learning the Odyssey, not just flying through it, is truley knowledge painfully acquired, but well worthwhile. Read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Oh Brother! This Movie Was Great!

    If you see only one movie ever, please make it this one. You won't be disappointed. You get action, drama, loads of comedy, and great music. This movie features George Clooney like you've never seen him. The supporting cast also features excellent performances from John Turturro, Tim Blake Nelson, and Holly Hunter, just to name a few. Oh Brother is set in the Depression-era South, and the wonderful cinematography makes you feel like you're there. I don't want ot say too much, except you must see this movie!! I haven't met anyone yet who didn't like this film! (well, maybe people who lack taste).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3