Customer Reviews for

One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2014

    I recently watched the movie ¿One Flew Over The Cuckoo¿s Nest¿ a

    I recently watched the movie “One Flew Over The Cuckoo’s Nest” and really enjoyed it. I give the movie “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” a 5 star rating because it’s a really funny movie and I enjoyed the actors. The book One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest was good to read and I recommend you to read it before watching the movie. The Author of the book One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest was Ken Kessey which was published in 1962.The Movie “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” was produced by Miles Foremen. The book/movie is about a guy named McMurphy gets put into this asylum. McMurphy has a rival in Nurse Ratched who makes McMurphy mad because she game him electroshock therapy. McMurphy is a very funny actor and the story of the book/movie is great. I think that the actors, plot and genre are what make a movie exciting.
    I thought they chose really amazing actors to play in the 1975 film “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest”. I thought they chose the wrong actor to play Nurse Rached because she looked and acted nicer than she was in the book. In the book One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest Nurse Ratched seemed like she was yelling at McMurphy but in the movie Nurse Ratcheds always calm about the conversations with McMurphy. If there weren’t any skilled actors then the plot in “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” would be boring.
    I thought the plot of the movie “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” was excellent. I thought the story was awesome because I liked the fact that McMurphy is normal and fights with Nurse Ratched. I also like how the movie followed the book so well. McMurphy is in this mental institution because he was acting like he was crazy and fights with Nurse Rached because she thinks she can help him with his illness. Do to the light hearted nature of the plot this movie is a comedy.
    The genre of the movie “One Flew over the Cuckoo’s nest” is a comedy and based on a true story. I think Chief is the funniest actor in the movie. I think Chief is the funniest because while they are playing basketball Chief makes a shot and they get excited. Then on defense the black janitors made the shot but Chief grabs the net and hits the ball out and I thought that was funny. The genre is one of the 3 things you look forward to in a movie.
    Throughout the movie it consists of funny actors, a twisting plot and the genre is an excellent comedy. I recommend you to read the book One Flew over the Cuckoo’s nest, then watch the movie . It contains funny actors, excellent plot and a funny genre; this movie will knock your socks off.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Age remains Just the Beginning The book One Flew Over the Cucko

    Age remains Just the Beginning
    The book One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest remained published in 1962, written by Ken Kesey. The movie “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” was produced by Milos Foreman in 1975. The movie briefly remains about a man named McMurphy who comes into a mental hospital who always gets himself into trouble by aggravating Nurse Ratched. McMurphy also thinks he can control the men on the ward. I would rate this movie 5 out of 5 stars based on the age, the actors, and the ending.
    The first criteria I used to evaluate the film is the age of the movie. I think the age of the movie stands the test of time because of being about 40 years old while it still stays decent to this day. Throughout the movie McMurphy tells jokes that stay funny and understandable. You might think a movie from 40 years old would stand in black and white, well not this one. Some of the actors from 40 years ago still remain alive and acting in movies today.
    The second criteria I used to evaluate the film were the actors of the movie. If you’re looking for something funny, actors is the way to focus on. Especially Jack Nicholson, who plays McMurphy, he remains an indeal funny guy. Louise Fletcher, who plays Nurse Ratched, is a demanding woman in the movie but remains funny in the real world. I believe the ending remains the best part of the movie because than you will leave with something to remember by.

    The third criteria I used to evaluate the film was the ending. I thought the end of the movie and the book were going to remain the same. In both the book and the movie McMurphy got a lobotomy. In the novel McMurphy gets the lobotomy during the day; in the film he takes it at night. When McMurphy took his lobotomy in the book they destroyed his face, therefore he looked dead. When two of the workers brought McMurphy back into the ward during the movie, chief stayed upset. Chief told McMurphy he wouldn’t leave him like he stood, thus he suffocated him with a pillow. Later Chief threw the panel that held down the water in the tub room threw the window and escaped. Perhaps the other men on the ward could’ve escaped because there remained a giant gash in the wall so they consumed the chance to leave but instead they stayed.
    In conclusion, I would rate the film “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” 5 out of 5 stars based on the age, the actors, and the ending. The movie stays rated R but I think it could stay suitable for people who remain interested in comedy, action, and violence. The only corrupt thing this movie partakes is the language; otherwise I think anyone should be able to watch it. If you’re looking for something funny, you should focus mostly on the actors. I didn’t except the ending of the movie, I thought there was going to be more, like the other patients escaping the ward. To find out more about the movie, I suggest you watch it because it is great!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    My first time watching this was in my Psychology class. All I c

    My first time watching this was in my Psychology class. All I can say is that it is now one of my favorite movies, if not my favorite. I highly recommend watching it. The characters were portrayed with such conviction and genuineness. To me, these characters were real. It's no wonder they won an Oscar. Milos Forman is a genius.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I LAUGHED WHEN I SEEN THIS MOVIE

    VERY FUNNY WOW THIS MOVIE CAME OUT THE SAME YEAR MY PARENTS GRADUANTED FROM HIGHSCHOOL 1975 MAN IT S A REALLY FUNNY MOVIE HE'S CRAZY LOL!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Movie

    One of Jack's great movies along with all the other stars in it a very serious film dealing with mental illness and also our servicemen who also suffer some mental challenges. It brings some comedy and saddness to the screen, but hopefully the movie is enjoyed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    One Flew Should Continue Flying

    This is still one of my all-time favorite movies. Of course, Jack Nicholson can't be beat and what a great job Louise Fletcher did. Everyone should watch this movie. Beautifully done!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great movie!

    Before I watched One Flew over the Cukoo's Nest I was a little bit worried that it wouldn't be as great as the book was. After I watched the movie I was blown away by how great this movie was and how well it portrayed the book. Cukoo's Nest has become one of my new favorites and, if you have read the book, you will not be disappointed by the movie.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Movie

    This movie is such a good movie, where not only it has comedy but has everything. Jack Nicholson is such a excellent actor, i have never seen him act that way. he made me cry.i truly recommended

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    I love This Movie

    This is the best movie I ever saw and it is probable the best I ever will see.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the best movie ever!

    when i first saw this movie i thought it would be a boring movie then when i was watching it it was a very dramatic, and sad movie . but overall it was a great movie those out there that hasn't watched it yet go and get it1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One Flew Over The Cuckoo's Nest

    There are not enough stars to rate this film. It is a powerful film in which Jack Nicholson plays a man sent for evaluation at the state mental hospital. In a ton of events that show him trying to show the other boys in the hospital who to live life to the fullest, tragety strikes. This film means a lot to me since I have been in a mental ward of a hospital and I had a hard task watching it for the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2