Customer Reviews for

One Hour Photo

Average Rating 3.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just plain weird

    This movie was very weird. It will make you not want to talk to any strange guy with big glasses. I was glued to my seat.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Recommended

    One of Robin Williams more serious roles. I think it got off to a slow start. But all in all, I like this movie. It was worth purchasing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Did I miss something?

    Um, I didn't get the ending. Like, I kept expecting there to maybe another DVD attached so I could get the 2nd half of the movie. If the ending had been something worth watching, then the movie would have been great. As it is, I was just like, "huh?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2005

    ROBIN WILLIAMS AT HIS NEW BEST

    After seeing this movie, I never saw Robin Williams playing a different role. He was great!!! This movie was so great I would see it again and again. Parts of this movie most of us like taking pictures without a worry but .....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ouch

    Have you ever been watching a movie and really looking forward to the pinnacle but then it like never comes? That is what happened in One Hour Photo. The cast was good, direction average. What really killed it was the awful writing. It could have been way better but I guess that is all they can come up with because of their "Fox Searchlight" budget. Anyway, Robin Williams has had incredible films and I am not going to let one screw up ruin a great career. Better luck next time. I am only thankful that i did not buy this. I got it through a friend of a friend who kept trying to give it away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I CANNOT RECOMMEND THIS MOVIE !

    I was disappointed with this movie despite Robin Williams wonderful performance. It lead up to nothing but a cop-out ending. I felt a little sympathy for the wife and Sy but that's it. I can't in good faith recommend this film. I wish I had skipped it. And for some reason, this film had characters with the worst hairstyles I have ever seen. It looked like they just rolled out of bed and then were suddenly in a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It Was A Great Movie!!!!!

    I was terrified it was really scary!!! It made me scared to go to my uncle Roberts house...who looks a lot like Sy!! (I'm dead serious!!!).So watch it,It's a great movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing Pseudo-Thriller

    Although many elements of the film were well done, the director's choice to make a trompe d'oeil illusion of a thriller leads an anti-climactic wimper of an ending. Robin Williams plays Sy Parrish, a dedicated one-hour-photo technician whose solitary existance borders on psychosis. His work is his life and, his bonding with the photos he develops feed his illusion of being part of the families whose photos he develops: in this case, the family of Yorkins. Being psychotically unstable, Sy's work feeds his imaginary reality of the happy lives he sees in the photos and how he helps in bringing their joy. His fantasy is soon shattered when he sees that photos are only a snap shot of family life and that there are ugly sides of married life that are never included in the photo album: false expectations, mundane routine, dissatisfaction, and of course, infidelity. The film does a great job in entering the mind of a deranged person; the scenes explore for the audience the bland and montonous life of Sy. His empty life just blends in with the neat generic shelves and products of the supermarket he works in. The film brilliantly shows that theme unfolds in Sy's private life and how his deranged attempts at breaking out of his routine soon become psychotic. Robin Williams played his role surprisingly well. The acting by Connie Nielsen and Michael Vartan as Nina and Will Yorkin was nothing special however. The problem with the film is that it takes almost all of its time in building suspense and leading the audience to think that Sy is a demonic killer. Instead, the ending is as bland as Sy's character in that he ends up being nothing more than a harmless peeper who went a little overboard instead of the predatory stalker the film prepared us for. Perhaps the writer and director thought that they were being clever but, ultimately, the joke is on them given the box-office results of this film. They shouldn't have been surprised; they got exactly the same response from the audience as the feeling they sought to evoke with the end of the film: an unimpressive anti-climax. I have trouble recommending this film to rent as there isn't much to see afterall; again, all of this suspense is frustratingly brought to nothing of an ending. For this genre, I prefer films such as 'Taxi Driver' or 'Silence of the Lambs' instead.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    A Misunderstood Analysis

    I am not a Robin Williams fan, and have always depicted him a comic performer. For these reasons I did NOT like Insomia. But something was very different with One Hour Photo. I understood this movie perfectly. I feel that the movie is more of a STUDY of an individual's dark side rather than as a THRILLER MOVIE. Well, of course it WAS a thriller, but because Robin Williams was outstanding as he portrayed a disturbed man. He was so brilliant, in fact, that he made a believer out of me. I would swear that's how he really was in real life. As disturbed as he was, you had to like the man and feel for him. The father in the movie was extremely shallow and the mother and little boy seemed very depressed most of the time. People who don't like the movie don't understand it. I will probably be viewing more of Robin William's movies in the future. I give it 5 stars!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No Plot Whatsoever

    I saw it twice and both times, it made no sense. robin williams was good but the plot was stupid and unelievable. i didnt like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sy Makes You Think

    Still hard seeing Robin Williams in a serious role. I keep expecting him to make jokes or become upkey. I've wanted to see this movie since it came out, and am glad I finally did. Sy makes you think, and you get a whole new realization of what pictures mean to someone like him, and what they're really about.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Robin Williams Carries An Otherwise Boring Film

    Seymour ''Sy, The Photo Guy'' Parrish (Robin Williams - ''Dead Poets Society'', ''Mrs. Doubtfire'' & ''Insomnia'') has been the photo caretaker and developer for the Yorkin family since their son was just a baby. Not having any kind of a life of his own, Sy has allowed himself over the years to become part of their world, imagining himself to be ''Uncle Sy''...to the point of obsession. Oblivious to all of this, the Yorkins continue to drop off all of their undeveloped photos in the care of Sy, and view him as the quaintly nice photo man. Their son, Jake, even feels sorry for the lonely man. But on the other side of the counter, in Sy's mind, it is much more personal and troubling. Sy discovers ultimately that Will Yorkin (Michael Vartan - ''To Wong Foo, Thanks For Everything! Julie Newmar'', ''The Myth Of Fingerprints'' & ''Never Been Kissed'') has been cheating on his unknowing wife, Nina (Connie Nielsen - ''Soldier'', ''Mission To Mars'' & ''Gladiator''). Driven by his own painful past, Sy decides to take matters into his own hands, playing a sick, twisted game for what he views as recompense. *The movie was a well filmed movie with what for some people could be a very disturbing thought...that of invasion of their privacy through photos. However, about half way through the movie, I began to become bored with the whole thing, and I realized that the only reason I continued to watch it is because I am a Robin Williams fan. This movie turned out to be more of a morality tale rather than the psycho thriller that the trailers suggested. Had Robin Williams not been in this one, I would have scratched this one off as being pointless and ultimately absurd. But Robin Williams brought great affection to his character and kept your eyes glued to the screen, not so much to see what was going to happen next...but rather to enjoy the character study you are now involved with when it comes to Sy, the photo guy. Perhaps this is one of Robin Williams better acted parts...but in the end, One Hour Photo will be written off as one of his ''lesser'' films. I still have to say that overall, ''Fisher King'' was his best film and portrayal to date.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This has to be the best Robin Williams film ever

    I cant say I have ever seen a Robin William film I liked so much. Its a nice change for Mr. Williams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I so agree with the rave reviews 3star and more

    It is intelligent. Also liked very much Robin Williams in Good Will Hunting, Awakenings, Patch Adams.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What a horror!!

    Robin Will. did a great job as Sy the photo guy. He made you think twice about going to your very own photo guy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OK

    It was ok. Robin WIlliams did a good job in the role but overall there seems no real pull to the plot. From my point of view it keeps you interested but leaves you wondering what was the point?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Robin Williams is AMAZING

    This movie is incredibly deep and disturbing, but is INCREDIBLY well filmed, well written, and well acted. If you didn't think that Robin Williams was one of the best actors ever to the grace the screen, you will after you see this movie. It's not a movie that will inspire you so much as it will haunt you. You'll never look at the film processing guy at your local Wal-Mart the same ever again, I promise you...they see everything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1