Customer Reviews for

Ong-Bak: The Thai Warrior

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Simple, Silly, but amusing

    I can appreciate a simple plot and a character who doesn't try to be more than he is. This film is worth watching for the fight choreography and fun, little surprises as the plot ramps up. If the film seems a bit slow, give it 20 minutes. Also, I found it more enjoyable to actually read the subititles than listen to the pathetic dubbing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    O.K.

    Nice Kung Fu, pretty, and kind of interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Moves you've never seen

    Since you're even looking at this film it means that you are of a group of people who are interested in this genre. I don't need to tell you, then, that the script can be melodramatic and the acting sometimes is a bit awkward.....who cares.... if you're a fan of this genre of film, you couldn't possibly. Ong-Bak is a brilliant adaptation of gymnastic muay thai moves that you've never seen before. The beauty of the fight scenes is reminiscent of Chan-style humor mixed with Lee intensity. I enjoyed this film from start to finish for its original moves and beautiful backdrop. A must see and a must own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This movie is meant for Tony Jaa!

    Ong Bak had to be the one of the most fantastically realistic and awe-inspiring martial arts movie of all time. The stunts were incredibly original and fantastically choreographed. The movie is a nonstop roller-coaster-ride of action and originality. The "instant replays" were also a sweet deal. Every punch made me just cringe. The action scenes were frequent and insane. The storyline was effective, yet obviously not the main attraction. The acting was well performed with the exception of George's sister. But it was forgotten within five seconds. Ong Bak is a very good movie for several reasons. It has great action, and I don't mean just the fighting. If you think it is easy to hurdle a Honda or do a double flip, and I mean two complete rotations in one jump, not just to flips in a row, you may disagree. The fighting is excellent as well. It is very well choreographed and pretty much constant throughout the film. The thing that really sets this movie apart from most Martial arts films is the humor. It is a very funny movie, and not in the overt Jackie Chan hamming it up way we are used to seeing in this type of movie. There are some really funny moments you just don't see in action movies. There is an evil crime boss who has to talk into a microphone because of a trachea hole. There is something really funny about an evil man cursing in a monotone electronic voice. There is a low speed chase in three wheeled motorbikes with back seats that are used as taxis. And I don't mean a couple of taxis, there are like twenty. There are some really funny parts in this movie! This movie doesn't have the story of “Crouching Tiger” or the Artistic vision of “Hero,” but it is an excellent movie with a lot of humor and is full of good characters who are pretty well developed despite not spending much time in the movie not on the action. I would recommend any fan of action movies to see this film and to see it for Tony Jaa's amazing martial art skills.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Good martial arts movie

    ok, three stars why? Not highly recommend, but sure a good moive. It wasn't a bad movie, it was great, I love it, but it was alright. The ending was alright, and everything was cool. Before you buy this, you sould at least rent it before buyig.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kick-arse movie!

    Being a fan of oriental movies since childhood, it was a nice surprise to see a new face to the genre. Tony Jaa can fight like no other martial arts master I've seen in a while. The English dubbing is on par with all other oriental movies--fair to dumb--but it somehow doesn't detract from the sheer enjoyment I found in this movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spectacular!!

    Plot may be a little eh.. but the fighting scenes definitely makes up for it! By the time the movie is done, you're jaw will be on the floor! Definitely a movie worth buying, you won't get sick of it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1