Customer Reviews for

Open Range

Average Rating 5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    OPEN RANGE

    This was a wonderful movie if you like History and "westerns". Kevin Costner paired with Robert Duvall was unforgetable. The story line starts rather SLOW, however the acting makes you forget all of that. The VIOLENCE at the end of the movie is a little brutal for young viewers. I mean everyone gets shot it seems. Of course our main characters all survive, but then what badman do you know of ever survives?? The acting is phenomenal but then I am partial to Robert Duvall and Kevin Costner to start with. And I love a good western any ole day. It tells things the way you wish life could be. The good guys win and the bad guy loses. It is a good movie with a good story to tell. Annette Benning has a more or less minor role, but she is outstanding in what she potrays.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Western Ever

    The chemistry between Duval and Costner, the shootout, the warmth between Costner and Benning.....The whole thing was absolutely the best western I've ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Most realistic potrayal of real cowboys whom I have known and associated with.

    As a former working cowboy, I find the attitudes and values of Duvall's and Costner's characters to be more authenic than in any other movie I have ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Open As America

    Unlike many of Kevin Costner's recent flops, this has a clear agenda, one right and one wrong. Dismissing his embrace of the "revisionist" Westerns of long ago, the rather straightforward and black-and-white moral tale of this movie might be refreshing for his preachy, social commentary movies. Deceptively simple, the lethal and mysterious Costner, again unlike his former pictures, he plays in the background to the wiser, more mature cattle rustler of Robert Duvall--a formidable actor and a good choice for the role. In a corrupt town ruled by ruthless and dubious characters, the former gunslinger falls in love to Annette Bening and law and order after a brutal beating and killing on a fellow friend. A true comeback!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The farmer and the cowman still can't be friends

    Open Range is a worthwhile stop on the trail of modern westerns. It succeeds, most notably, in scenery, illustrating resentment and corruption in Old West society, and in starring Robert Duvall. Those who struggle with fiction and long films may find it exceptionally drawn-out. And Costner's life story is recited without much feeling. But there is a good old-fashioned showdown, clear good and bad guys, and a girl to be got. It's still the same old story of ranchers and cattle men quarreling over land, though this is a mercifully non-musical realization. And it's more family-oriented than the R-rating suggests. I believe it is on account of some violence, but they're only actors and it's not real blood. Watch for the bearded cafe owner, played by Herb Kohler, of bathroom-fixture fame.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    With Duvall, You Can't Go Wrong. . .

    The Costner brothers mistreatment of the trust afforded to them by the Indian Nation after Dances With Wolves has given me pause when it comes to Kevin Costner's films, but when one reads Robert Duvall has lent his name and career to a venture, it is definitely worth the time to take a look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Getting back to the West's Roots

    Finally, there is a modern Western that gets back to the roots of the American cinema--the Western film. This is a great traditional look at the West in a black-and-white moralistic outlook similar to the ole' John Wayne and John Ford films. Robert Duvall does his job as the wise and gravelly old cowboy and Costner gives his greatest performance in any movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A remarkable film in the great tradition of the western movie!

    Open Range is destined to join the classic western films. Beautiful, gritty, mythical, historic, sweeping, intimate, romantic and violent---in total, evocative. The perfect western. An exceptional cast. Robert Duvall,in another career-defining role like The Apostle,Tender Mercies, The Godfather, The Rain People---demonstrating again why he is one of America's great living actors. Kevin Costner directs and stars with Duvall. Like Clint Eastwood, he can lay claim to being America's western movie auteur. His performance is skillfully restrained;willingly and subtly taking a secondary but crticial role to Duvall. This is Costner's Unforgiven. And what a strong departure for Annette Bening--a small role, one I wouldn't have imagined her in and now can imagine no one else! The movie is rich in imagery and honest in characterizations. It's a story of morality and choices, of relationships, bonds, character,integrity, justice, love and redemption. Fans of western movies or these performers will not want to miss it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    EXCELLENT FILM

    GORGEOUS SCENERY, INTERESTING CHARACTERS, GREAT FIGHT SCENES! I LOVE A WELL-MADE WESTERN, WISH THEIR WERE MORE! I LOVED IT WHEN HE WALKED UP TO THE COCKY GUNMAN AND SHOT HIM IN THE FORE-HEAD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Don't overlook the background

    This was filmed, apparently, in the foothills of the Canadian Rockies. Spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spoil yourself and treat your senses to Open Range

    Whether you find yourself for or against the movie making of Kevin Costner (personally, he is one of my favorites), everyone owes himself/herself the sheer pleasure of watching Open Range. A few years ago, I remember reading reviews about Saving Private Ryan and the way it satisfied 4 of the 5 senses. And how, had it smelled, one would've believed that they themselves were storming the beaches of Normandy. Obviously set on a different scale, I must admit that Costner's newest masterpiece (the first being Dances with Wolves), clearly had an intoxicating affect on all 5 of mine. Hopefully, you too will appreciate the taste of bittersweet chocolate 'from Switzerland Europe' and Cuban cigars during a man's final hours, the feeling of being continuously drenched by torrential rainfalls, the smell of lumber being shattered by mis-fired bullets, the sights of majestic landscapes as well as the unbelievable authenticity of Harmonville and lastly the most realistic sound of a guns being fired that you'll EVER enjoy in cinema. Skeptical? Believe me, the first time Charley Waite (Costner's character) fires his rifle or you hear the piercing echoes that trail the brutally awesome gunfight, you'll know EXACTLY what I'm talking about. Taking peaks through antique window panes, using wood planks to cross muddy streets, and the incredibly written dialogue as well as the admirable camaraderie shared between Waite and Boss Spearman (Robert Duvall) are just a few of the many other moments that Costner offers in this wonderful treasure. I'd write another 500 words describing the superb acting provided by Costner, Duvall, Annette Bening and other's from the solid cast but I'll let the Academy Awards (if they're awake) push that aspect of the film with well-deserved nominations. Do yourself a favor and treat yourself to Open Range...before your friends come to you bragging about the new Costner movie that is 'the best western they ever saw'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Movie of 2003!

    Costner's movies always seem to be 'hit-or-miss'. He has been in some spectacular films such as Thirteen Days, Dances With Wolves, and The Postman. However, he's also responsible for the disgrace known as Waterworld (among others). However, Costner has struck gold with this film. This is probably the best Western I've ever seen, and definately the best movie I saw in 2003! The story was great, the acting was great, the scenery and cinematography were breathtaking, and the gunfight will blow you away! I wouldn't be suprised if this movie picked up some Oscars! Definately worth the money! See it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The most unfairly underrated film of the year

    'Open Range' would have been my pick for best film of 2003, were it not for Peter Jackson's 'Return of the King' (the greatest movie of any year). Costner's direction is outstanding, and he and Duvall are terrific together. Buy it immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kevin Costner and the Western genre return

    Were it not for the third cinematic installment of a certain J.R.R. Tolkien trilogy, 'Open Range' would easily be my choice for the best film of 2003. It's the kind of movie we don't see much of anymore -- the Western, a uniquely American artform that Hollywood remembers only periodically, after someone like Clint Eastwood or Kevin Costner briefly 'revives' it. Sadly, 'Open Range' was only a moderate success at the box office (though by no means a jumbo-failure on the level of Costner's own 'The Postman'). DVD should bring the film new life, however, as I'm sure a lot of people who missed the movie in theaters will discover it at home. The movie is certainly a treasure. Anyone who is interested can read a plot encapsulation elsewhere. I want to touch briefly on the aspects of the film that make it so great. First, the direction. Costner knows Westerns, as he demonstrated in 'Dances With Wolves.' Here he tells a simple story that is unabashedly 'Western,' and does a fantastic job. He builds tensions slowly and dramatically, without skipping on character development along the way, leading up to one of the best gunfights I've seen in a movie. Costner should direct more movies rather than sign up to star in bad ones. Hopefully, 'Open Range' will remind him of his immense talent behind the camera. Second, the acting. Costner gives himself second billing, playing a haunted ex-Civil War soldier named Charlie Waite. He's in fine form, turning a performance that reminded me of strong silent types like Charles Bronson or Steve McQueen. But there's also the star, Robert Duvall. His portrayal of open ranger Boss is remarkably similar to the one he gave in 'Lonesome Dove,' but so what? Robert De Niro and Al Pacino have given performances in different films that were very similar to other roles they had played. Duvall dominates this movie, delivering Oscar-caliber work. Annette Bening brings depty, warmth and smarts to her role as the woman who has a strange hold on the cold, murderous heart of Charlie Waite. And there's Michael Gambon, not on screen for much of the time, but memorable as a homicidal cattle baron. Third, the physical production. 'Open Range' looks like a classic Western, filmed in a lonely prairie town with mud for streets where it rains 90 percent of the time. Costner also includes some outdoors shots that have the sweep and grandeur of 'Dances With Wolves,' although this is a much different story, truer to the old Westerns than his earlier Oscar-winner. Fourth, the cinematography. The camerawork in this film is awesome. It looked great on the big screen, with Charlie and Boss framed against sprawling skies, emphasizing both their loneliness and each man's personal integrity. And, fifth, I guess, the sound, particularly during the gunfight, in which each gun rings as loudly as thunder. 'Open Range' is a different kind of film from a different kind of era, and that's probably why it didn't do as well financially as a lot of lesser special effects blockbusters from over the summer. I'm sure Oscar will overlook this film due to a lot of unfair animosity aimed at Kevin Costner. That's fine. Costner makes films for the long haul, not the weekend box office horse race or the annual popularity contest. Add this movie to your DVD collection. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pure Gold!

    This is the best western since 'Unforgiven' & a worthy successor to all the classic westerns. A film deserving of Oscar's notice. Kevin Costner, Annette Bening, & Robert Duvall are perfect ~~ lyrical, plain spoken & honest. A classic for all time ~~ evoking the 'Old West' with its spirit, temperment & rugged scenery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Classic Western story and style

    The Open Range evokes memories of those great western stories that have been overlooked in the age of films facilitated with CGI and non-stop action. There is a classic sense of plot and premise that begins in good literary fashion; there is a beginning, middle, and a strong forceful ending. But it is the development of characters; plot, scenery, and genre that make it all come together. This is not a story of spectacular premise, but rather one of what probably was a very ordinary occurrence during the frontier days in the American West. Many an adventurous man wanted to explore the new frontier and make a living away from what was then considered crowded cities; some for reasons of curiosity, others for reason of necessity. But progress came to the frontier, as it must, always, and it is at this point that culture and lifestyles clash. We learn of young and old men, rich and want to be rich, and love, not lost, but never given. And beneath it all a deep and dark memory that haunts one of the main protagonists. Cinematography is truly showcased in this film, and to the credit of the director and cameraman, it blends into the story and provides another character, with plot definition, all by itself! The film draws you in and offers you an experience unlike other action films. The viewer experiences the film, almost first hand, not on the surface looking in! There is no flashy veneer, but rather a film of substance and beauty that unfolds and captures your heart and mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Nice Western!

    This movie is an entertaining western with a beautiful location and talented actors. There is a lot of classic action as well as well-timed comedy, and the blooming romance between Costner and Bening is enchanting. It is refreshing alternative to some of the other, more hyped, new releases.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Will be a classic!

    Probably Costner's best work to date. Oscar nominations are assured for Duvall and Costner. The gunfight was riveting. This is, in every sense, a classic western.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Western History the Way It Should Be

    Open Range is set in a period of time that only lasted a few years, yet left a lasting impression in the history of the American West. In a fairly accurate depiction of the life of free range cattle outfits, Costner has captured the texture of life on the open lands before the coming of the homesteaders. Duvall's performance is believable and true to life; one not to be missed by his fans. The gunfight in the streets of the town at the end of the movie is spectacular, as is the scenery. A must see for all fans of the Old West.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2