BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Over the Hedge

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Gut wrenching funny!

    After I had seen this, I knew I had to have it in our collection. My granchildren watch it often!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Hey... this was pretty good! Very entertaining, not corny, great animation, and funny story line. When I saw the previews, I didn't think it was going to be that great of a movie. I thought it was going to be dumb and somewhat pointless. I was in for a big surprise!! I could not stop laughing, and there was a lot of cute gags. I recommend it for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cute and Fun

    Great voice casting. The squirrel (Steve Carell) is hilarious and definitely steals the movie. Dreamworks has definitely nailed 3d scenery, which is fantastic. While not the full-bodied must-see movie that Shrek and Monsters Inc. were, it is still a good movie and has some very funny moments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Outragiously Funny!

    This is one of the most hilarious movies I have seen all year. If anytime you need a laugh this is the movie to watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hedge of your seat comedy!

    A bear gives a thieving racoon one week to get his food back or he's a goner. It is a pretty funny plot line if you ask me. The characters were all funny except for the woman who was the president of the homeowner's association. Obnoxious. I am also don't know why they decided to cast Avril Lavigne in the film, which is pointless because she doesn't have any talent and is a nasty human being. Bruce Willis did a great job as well as Eugene Levy (as usual), and a fantastic job by Steve Carrell as the spunky squirrel with ADD. A great film for the family and even just plain old-fashioned fun for kids of all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Party Cause You Know The Future All Yours!

    The best movie in the history of dreamworks fof kids!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Over the Hedge is a really cute movie.

    I wasn‘t aware that ‘Over the Hedge’ is based on a comic strip. I've never seen it, but I can only imagine that it would be just as good as the film, if not better. And while it's not an astonishment, I can say that Hedge is genuinely enjoyable, and great fun for everyone. The story is well written, but feels very brisk. It starts, it continues for a bit, and then it ends. It is not as short as some films, but you can't help but wonder what more could have been done if they had a little more running time. It is a much stronger film than other Dreamworks titles like Madagascar and Shark Tale, and really seems like it can stand next to the likes of Shrek 1 and 2. The voice acting is all top-notch, from Willis' take no-nonsense raccoon, to the sadly missed Shandling as a neurotic turtle. Steve Carrell also stands out as the absolutely insane Hammy the squirrel, as does William Shatner as Ozzie the possum. As I had read before seeing the film, Shatner does an absolutely fabulous job playing possum. I couldn't stop laughing any time his character did something, it's just that great. The rest of the voice cast, from Eugene Levy and Catherine O'Hara as parents of hedgehogs, to Wanda Sykes as a skunk, to Thomas Hayden Church as an exterminator, to Nick Nolte as Vincent the bear, all are great and well suited for their roles. They all have quite a bit of screen time, and none feel over-used at all (unlike Madagascar's blatant overuse of Ben Stiller and no one else). Of course, the random inclusion of Avril Lavinge as Shatner's daughter Heather was a little bizarre, you can see that she is at least making an attempt at voice acting here. And as usual, the animation is excellent. While not being a total improvement from the likes of other Dreamworks films, the advancements are still very noticeable. The grass, the fur, the emotions and gestures, all of them are perfectly captured, and look gorgeous on film. All the colours are great too. It's a funny movie, and a fabulous cast. It's one of the better animated films of the last few months.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious...

    I loved this movie. It was so adorable and so funny. I loved the squirell..Hammy I think...but he was so cute. I think everyone should watch this movie its good for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where education and entertainment met

    i went to see this movie w/o any preview knowledge of it, I told my chidren:-"wake me up when it finish"- but i couldn't it is so good...!and also educative for those concern with environmental issues is a great example of a good work dealing with our relationships with wildlife

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I don't get it

    Over the Hedge didn't live up to my movie rating standards. It wasn't as funny as hoped and the plot line was terrible! I mean, animals trying to find food? Please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really funny

    Great funny movie. One of those cartoons that slips under the radar coz other films come out with better hype and bigger stars at the same time, but this was a really enjoyable film.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hillarious!!!!

    This movie was hillarious!!! At first I thought that it would be another stupid kid movie, but I loved it! I mean, who doesn't love talking baby porcupines?! I would definately reccomend this movie to anyone who loves funny talking animals!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really funny movie

    The parodies of our human foibles is hallarious and the characters great. I haven't joyfully laughed that much at anything in a while. We had to rewatch the movie because I was laughing to much and to loud for my husband to hear it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Better than expected!

    Haven't seen one of these type movies I really loved since Shrek and Shrek II. However, Over the Hedge was awesome. It was hilarious, Steve Carell as the squirrel totally makes the movie! My hubby and I both loved this movie, and our kids are grown up! =D Can NOT wait to own the DVD! It is a must have!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2