BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Paint Your Wagon

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Sing Clint Sing!

    A surprisingly entertaining musical filmed in 1969, 'Paint Your Wagon' boasts top names in the production department including--Alan J. Lerner, Frederick Loewe, Paddy Chayefsky, Andre Pevin, and of course the big stars, Clint Eastwood (singing, yes!) and Lee Marvin as boisterous and grizzly as he always is. It's worth watching just to see Eastwood in his prime and Marvin much younger too.
    You won't recognize the music except for "They Call The Winds Maria" and "I talk To The Trees" if indeed anyone out there does remember those at all. The plot's a little weak and some silly business but hey! It's a musical. What can we expect for 1969 when they had to do it all the hard way? Worth adding to your musical collection.

    Evie-Z

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Classic Western/Musical

    Beautiful natural, scenery; good music; funny, twisting plot. Good overall entertainment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    PAINT YOUR WAGON IS AN AWESOME MOVIE!!

    THIS MOVIE IS TIMELESS! THE ACTORS IN THIS MOVIES ARE SUPERB!
    Lee Marvin, Clint Eastwood and Jean Seberg, Harve Presnell& Ray Walston.
    The acting and the singing are the best. Clint Eastwood singing, can't get any better than that. Harve Presnell what a Voice ~ love him, "They Call the Wind Maria", the best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent rendition of funny Broadway musical

    Absolutely funny. The choruses are really "unsung" hits of the overall musical. This is the late Lee Marvin's great musical debut. The young Clint Eastwood surprises with a nice untrained voice.

    The colapse scene of the town is one of the best yet. All in all, "Paint Your Wagon" is just entertaining. That is why we bought it and that is what it delivered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Trivia question of the week!

    What is the only movie that has Clint Eastwood singing? I really don't know if it is own voice but it sure is a long way from Dirty Harry! I love this old classic and Lee Marvin is hilarious as usual. It's a long movie but well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must see

    If you like westerns and music you will enjoy this movie. Lee Marvin and Clint Eastwood both do a good job singing in this movie adaptation of the musical "Paint Your Wagon".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the great experiment

    I just watched this movie for a second time around-having seen it for the first time decades ago, and this movie is still a treat! Although the viewing experience was different this time, there are plenty of positive things to write about in regards to this movie. I do have one minor gripe so I'll get that out right off. A few of the songs...Ummmm, they kinda stunk, and a couple of the men who sung them stunk too, but that's okay because most of the songs that Lee Marvin and Clint Eastwood sang were pretty good and they both sang well. Who can resist Lee Marvin's rusty rendition of Wandering Star? It appears that this movie was some sort of filmmaking experiment as it came out in the sixties and it shows. It highlights many of the themes of that period non-conformist notions of free love and independent ideology. Who would of thought to combine a musical and western together with such originality? And amazingly, somehow, it works! Give this movie a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Funny and NOT just for "old fogies"

    I am a 24-year old who grew up watching Clint Eastwood movies. This is one of his lighter-mooded pics, but is also one of the best. The movie is hilarious to folks of all ages: I loved it when I was a child and love it just the same now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Movie With Everything!

    Absolutely one of my favorite movies. If you want romance, comedy, music, and action all in a movie you can watch with your mom and not be embarassed this is it. Clint Eastwood gives a performance so far removed from his 'spaghetti westerns' and the Dirty Harrys that you will see him in a different light from now on. Lee Marvin also is at his best. The musical score for this picture is flawless. Even Clint displays a talent (though not terribly polished) for singing and Mr. Marvin's performance of 'Wandering Star' is perfectly rough in keeping with his characther in the film. Jean Seberg also does a fine job and has a lovely voice. All in all a truly wonderful film well worth adding to you video collection and one you will watch over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just Magic!

    Okay, so I may be on my way to the 'Old Fogies Home' but this has been and still is my most favourite movie of all time. It's just a shame Lee Marvin was never given more scope for what I believe to to a hidden streak of comedy genius. With his ''I've just gargled with gravel'' rendition of ''Wanderin' Star'' his talent shines. Clint Eastwood holds his own in the acting stakes, but I'm undecided about his singing. The sound track features the most wonderful mens choirs, that are, unfortunately not noticed until one listens to the songs without the pictures. The making and then breaking of No Name City is a funny, but accurate version of the building of towns in the gold rush era. No blood, no gore, just a truly great family movie. A movie suitable for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the FUNNIEST movies I've ever seen.

    A who's who's of Hollywood of the modren era. What starts out as a covered wagon trip west evolves into the greed for gold. And alot of the vises that go with a mining town. You'll laugh till your sides hurt. They don't make them like this any more. When is the last time you heard Clint Eastwood sing? This might have been the only time. Folks this is off the hook !!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1