Customer Reviews for

Penelope

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nice to finally see something like this

    This film was really touching, but also very funny and witty. I loved the idea that this poor girl had to go through so many guys to find one who would accept her despite her...imperfection. Don't we all feel that way sometimes? The film touched on some very universal themes of self esteem, confidence, acceptance (both others and self), and following your heart. The script was funny and had excellent dialogue. The acting was superb, and I felt like the actors chosen to play the characters couldn't have been better. Ricci was adorable (yes, even with the nose) as Penelope, O'hara protrayed one of her best excentric preformances as the ever-driven mother, Grant was great as the agrieved father, Witherspoon made a funny, spunky Annie, and McAvoy couldn't have been better as "Max." One of his best preformances, and that's saying something! The color usage and direction were excellently done, making this an enjoyable movie in all ways. Everyone 10 to 90 should watch this!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    'Penelope' is an outrageous movie that lets the whole family enjoy being together!

    This movie is definitely one of my favorites! It carries a meaningful message along with some laughter,excitement and even emotional parts. I love this movie because the message is really great and it's so cool how they add a real message to a fantasy film. Basically, the film is fantasy yet reality.Whenever it is family night or a sleepover, this movie is perfect for that. Everyone should watch this movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must Watch!

    I love this movie... seriously one of my favorite movies where I can watch it over and over again! It truly is a must see!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cute and Charming

    Penelope was a refreshing modern fairy tale with a talented array of actors and actresses. While it does follow the basic skeleton of a fairy tale the story is unique and enjoyable. The movie also is not without many-a-laugh, some humor is macabre.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Must See!

    This is a great movie. Yes, it is a fable, but it also holds a great message with great acting and so many amazing parts to it. Watch it!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2014

    I'd chosen to watch this because of James McAvoy, and am glad I

    I'd chosen to watch this because of James McAvoy, and am glad I did. It's silly, but endearing and adorable despite some fumble-y parts in it's script. I very much enjoyed it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Really Nice Family Movie

    It's sweet, funny, captivating, and all around good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Enchanting Fairy Tale Romance

    In the spirit of Ever After and Princess Bride, this is a beautiful fairy tale kind of movie. The visuals are spectacular, the directing phenomenal. I personally love the kind of romance where it is obvious WHY the pair fell in love - not love at first sight, but the developed kind. Penelope Delivers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A GREAT CHICK-FLICK AND FAMILY MOVIE!

    The fun movie, "Peneope" is a totally enjoyable and lovable film that the whole family will enjoy! Penelope is a very likable character and the storyline is absolutely wonderful! Anybody, young or old, girl or boy, will definitely enjoy this awesome family movie!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bravo!

    This is a good movie! It really shows you that you should always be thankful for who you are no matter what the circumstance! This movie has drama, adventure, and romance all packed into one awesome film! Bravo to Penelope!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Surprise Fable to Discover

    PENELOPE may at first glance seem like one of the few summer releases on DVD to merit watching, but though the selections on the shelves are inexplicably thin, this little modern day fable is so well made that it deserves wide attention. Though the plot is rather thin and predictable, the choice cast and production values gives it a luster missing from most films of the 'romantic comedy' genre. The story (written by Leslie Caveny) is narrated by Penelope (Christina Ricci) who takes us back to the days of a curse placed on the wealthy Wilhern family who refused to allow a son to marry the impregnated common girl he loves and opts instead for a fellow blueblood. The rejected girl leaps of a cliff and the girl's mother places a curse on the family: the firstborn child, if a daughter, born to the clan will have the face of a pig that can be changed only if she is able to find lasting love. Years of firstborn sons trace the curse to contemporary London where the Wilherns (Catherine O'Hara and Richard E. Grant) finally give birth to a firstborn daughter, a dear child who indeed has the nose of a pig. The parents convince a reporter Lemon (Peter Dinklage) that the child died and was cremated and raise Penelope hidden from the real world outside. Penelope loves life and fills her enclosed space with joy until she becomes of courting age: the parents then make every attempt to secretly introduce her to wealthy young boys, each of whom flees when they see the pig girl in person. Lemon tracks the events, knowing that Penelope still lives, and convinces some cohorts (including Simon Woods as the wealthy but squeamish Edward) to attempt to get photographs of her. Finally a likely prospect appears in the person of Max (James McAvoy) who apparently has squandered a fortune on gambling and is in desperate need of money. Max begins a cautious but consistent courtship of Penelope and is even able to look at her without disgust, but when Penelope finds her possible beau is in the game for the money, Penelope flees the 'prison' mansion and goes into the world for the first time (her nose is kept covered with a scarf). She finds the strange world fascinating, makes friends with a barkeep and a wild living Annie (Reese Witherspoon), and gradually is able to remove her scarf cover only to find that people like her despite her odd appearance. The concept of self- acceptance is well delivered. The only problem with the story is the manner in which the fable 'sells out' in the all too gratuitous ending. But the message remains and the films glows with a magic in the way that fables should, much to the credit of sensitive director Mark Palansky and a very fine cast. Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3