Customer Reviews for

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

a great movie for everyone to watch!

When the lightning bulb is stolen Zeus acuses Poseidon's son Percy Jackson and gives Poseidonn fourteen days to return it. If the lightning bulb is not returned Zeus will start a war with his brother Poseidon. Meanwhile Percy has a normal life. One day while visiting a...
When the lightning bulb is stolen Zeus acuses Poseidon's son Percy Jackson and gives Poseidonn fourteen days to return it. If the lightning bulb is not returned Zeus will start a war with his brother Poseidon. Meanwhile Percy has a normal life. One day while visiting a museum gets attacked by his teacher that turns into a creature. Percy finds out about his professor being a halfhorse halfman and his best firend Groover being his protector.Sally (Percy's mom) and Groover take Percy to camp Haalfblood. Percy's mom gets stolen.percy meets new friends at camp. Percy and his two friends go on a journey to find Percy's mom. They have a really big adventure. It is a really good movie.

posted by gonzalez on January 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I can't believe people atually like this movie!!!

Where to start, where to start?*sighs*.Firrstr off they ruined the book!*cries hysterically*. They changed everything!I'm not bluffing!No Clarisse,No Ares,No Kronos! WTHECK?! I was so excited then I was soooooooo disappointed. WARNING:only watch if you haven't read the ...
Where to start, where to start?*sighs*.Firrstr off they ruined the book!*cries hysterically*. They changed everything!I'm not bluffing!No Clarisse,No Ares,No Kronos! WTHECK?! I was so excited then I was soooooooo disappointed. WARNING:only watch if you haven't read the books and ignore the cries of confusion asnd disappointment and sheer terror from ACTUAL Percy Jackson fans!!!

I know officially hate the movie studio who made this crap!
:( :( :(

posted by SuperReader13CB on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I can't believe people atually like this movie!!!

    Where to start, where to start?*sighs*.Firrstr off they ruined the book!*cries hysterically*. They changed everything!I'm not bluffing!No Clarisse,No Ares,No Kronos! WTHECK?! I was so excited then I was soooooooo disappointed. WARNING:only watch if you haven't read the books and ignore the cries of confusion asnd disappointment and sheer terror from ACTUAL Percy Jackson fans!!!

    I know officially hate the movie studio who made this crap!
    :( :( :(

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    has nothing to do with the movie!

    I actually watched this movie first than reading the books, but when i finished the books, i was shocked! This movie has nothing to do with anything in the book. Percy is supposed to be 12, not 18/17/16. Grover and Annabeth don't look anything like how they're supposed to look like. And what's up with all the cussing and sexy stuff ? Why is the "lotus hotel", which is supposed to be a game place, a casino full of alcohol and women in mini dresses? That didn't need to be here. My advice: Read the books instead, they are way better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Even though the movie doesn't follow the book, the movie is still a awesome movie to watch at anytime of the day.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    a great movie for everyone to watch!

    When the lightning bulb is stolen Zeus acuses Poseidon's son Percy Jackson and gives Poseidonn fourteen days to return it. If the lightning bulb is not returned Zeus will start a war with his brother Poseidon. Meanwhile Percy has a normal life. One day while visiting a museum gets attacked by his teacher that turns into a creature. Percy finds out about his professor being a halfhorse halfman and his best firend Groover being his protector.Sally (Percy's mom) and Groover take Percy to camp Haalfblood. Percy's mom gets stolen.percy meets new friends at camp. Percy and his two friends go on a journey to find Percy's mom. They have a really big adventure. It is a really good movie.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Recommend This Great Movie

    I saw the movie and I loved it! Then I read the books and loved them! I can see a lot of differences between the books and the movie. Even so, I still love the movie. I think it is a great movie even if it doesn't quite follow the books. I recommend this movie to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Awful movie- Don't wsste your money!

    This movie was terrible. The half the characters looked nothing iike they were supposed to and the other half aren't even shown. Annabeth's personality changed completely. The whole entire plot is different, too. They go to most of the same places but for different reasons, "Find the pearls". Give me a break. It was very cheesy and horribly written. In other words I hated this movie. That's why I gave it one star; it sould have been 0 if possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Movie

    This movie was good but the book was so much better because the true villain wasn't the one in this movie. I think this movie, however, is great for ten and up because during fifth grade children begin to learn about Greek myths that they will continue to learn in history class to the point that they might want to have a career associated with myths. Overall, a good movie that couldv'e been a bit better!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    OMG!!!

    I love this movie!!! I read riordan's book ad the movie was a liitle different!!! But i loved it anyways!!! i especially liked that logan lerman was in it!!! He is my fav actor!!! I'd recomend this movie to anybody looking for action, suspense, and humor!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    i llllllllooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvveeeeee this movie althou it is deferent from the book

    i love the book and i couldnt wait to see it in theatres. It is a funny movie and i love the action. my only complaint was how different it was from the book but nevertheless i loveed it. i hope they come out with a sequel (but this time actually keep with the books storyline cause rick riordan is a fantastic writer.),,,,,,,,also logan lerman is GORGEOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Percy is a dyslexic boy that also has adhd. He has been kicked o

    Percy is a dyslexic boy that also has adhd. He has been kicked out of many schools because of his bad behavior. He soon learns that he is a demigod and the son of Poseidon. Later in the book there is a war between the gods. Poseidon is accused of starting it because Zeus thinks he stole Percy stole something of his.  Then Percy has to go on a quest to find what is lost.  Then the book goes from there.

    I liked the book because it has a bunch of action and it is kind of freaky like the time when they cut medusas head off. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2014

    Okay

    This was okay. Interesting and good in some moments but other than that this was okay.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This movie is about a 12 year old named Percy Jackson. NOT! The

    This movie is about a 12 year old named Percy Jackson. NOT! The movie has no source of connection to the book! Believe me read the book, don't watch the movie! Reviewer Julia, Age 11  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    There's a reason they didn't immediately make the next book into

    There's a reason they didn't immediately make the next book into a movie. The lead is a decent actor as he's shown in perks of being a wallflower, but hardly hero material and a terrible script. You're better off just getting a second copy of harry potter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was not impressed at all with this movie. I read the books fir

    I was not impressed at all with this movie. I read the books first. Of course I had fallen in love with the books and was so upset when I saw the movie. It was nothing like the books. The age of kids where different and they went to different places than they had in the books.

    If you haven't read the books and don't plan to (which i don't recomend because the books are so good) then I guess the movie would be alright.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    watch the hunger games movie

    the percy jackson books are my favorite and the movie is even better. it is the best movie ever so if you like the movie you should read the collection.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Biggest disappointment in my life.

    Now, Im all for a little change when it comes to adapting books to the big screen, but this was ridiculous. I dont have as big of a problem with the casting, thats not my problem at all, my problem lies with whoever wrote the script for this movie. It was horrible! They left behind all the wonderful things about this book and ruined it. From Percy's age change, to characters being cut out, to the sloppy storyline. The worst thing about this is that this movie could have been wonderful, there could have been sequels, the franchise for this could have been amazing, but now we'll never have the chance for any of that. I hope authors take this movie as an example when Hollywood is interested in making books into a movie, because this could have been as big as the Hunger Games and Harry Potter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    where is everybody?! ps the rating is on how well it matched the book

    THERE IS NO KRONOS, NO ARES, NO CLARRISE, NO DIONYSUS! I was dissapointed in the movie for a lot of reasons but what reallly ticked me off was the main villian is gone. WHERE IS KRONOS!? KRONOS IS IMPORTANT NOT ONLY TO THE LIGHTNING THEIF BUT TO THE ENTIRE SERIES! Oh and another message LUKE IS NOT THE MAIN BAD GUY YOU FOOLS HE IS ONLY A TOOL OF KRONOS! And where is kronos!? AND WHERE IS HIS OTHER PUPPET ARES AND HIS DAUGHTER!? Ares and his dughter clarrise also contribute a lot to this series! PERCY'S FIGHT WITH ARES WAS THE CLIMAX OF THE STORY FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!!!!! um and i have another question...WHERE IS DIONYSES!? DIONYSES IS ALSO IMPORTANT TO THE SERIES AND ALSO HE I PERCY'S OTHER RIVAL! well that's about it except for the fact that there were a million and one changes. But we'd be here all day if i were to name all of them. I wont lie the movie was pretty good with the special effects and action but as percy jacksons #1 fan it would go against everything i stand for to rate this more than 3 stars. and ps if they make another movie for the sea of monsters i expect to see better!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE! THE BOOK IS TEN THOUSAND TIMES BETTER!

    I ONLY RATED THIS MOVIE A 0NE STAR BECAUSE I CAN'T MAKE IT BE A ZERO STAR. THIS MOVIE DOES NOT FOLLOW THE BOOK AT ALL AND IS SOO00 BORING I NEARLY FELL ASLEEP WATCHING IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Not that bad but it's still not that good

    Well I prefer for all people to just read the book rather than watch the movie . Look the movie is way off the way the book is. They left out a lot of parts and for people who are lazy .......... Read the book it's really good and better than the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended!

    When Zeus's Master Bolt is stolen, Zeus accuses none other then Poseidon's son Percy Jackson. Zeus gives Poseidon 14 days to return the Bolt to him. If it is not returned by the deadline, he would begin a war.

    Now, Percy doesn't know he's a demigod, a son of a Greek God. So he's surprised to figure out he is none other then the son of Poseidon, the God of the Sea. Not to mention, two of the teachers in his 'normal' life happen to be mythical creatures.
    So much for 'mythical' Oh, and Grover? His best friend? He's a satyr. He's half goat and his protector.

    So, Sally, Percy's Mom and Grover have no choice now that Percy knows his true bloodline. They take him to Camp Halfblood, a camp for Demigods. On the way, a Centar comes and ends up taking Sally. That's were the adventure begins.

    I love this movie. The first week I got it I watched it multiple times in a day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 89 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5