Customer Reviews for

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Even though the movie doesn't follow the book, the movie is still a awesome movie to watch at anytime of the day.

posted by cmart112 on May 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

I can't believe people atually like this movie!!!

Where to start, where to start?*sighs*.Firrstr off they ruined the book!*cries hysterically*. They changed everything!I'm not bluffing!No Clarisse,No Ares,No Kronos! WTHECK?! I was so excited then I was soooooooo disappointed. WARNING:only watch if you haven't read the ...
Where to start, where to start?*sighs*.Firrstr off they ruined the book!*cries hysterically*. They changed everything!I'm not bluffing!No Clarisse,No Ares,No Kronos! WTHECK?! I was so excited then I was soooooooo disappointed. WARNING:only watch if you haven't read the books and ignore the cries of confusion asnd disappointment and sheer terror from ACTUAL Percy Jackson fans!!!

I know officially hate the movie studio who made this crap!
:( :( :(

posted by SuperReader13CB on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I can't believe people atually like this movie!!!

    Where to start, where to start?*sighs*.Firrstr off they ruined the book!*cries hysterically*. They changed everything!I'm not bluffing!No Clarisse,No Ares,No Kronos! WTHECK?! I was so excited then I was soooooooo disappointed. WARNING:only watch if you haven't read the books and ignore the cries of confusion asnd disappointment and sheer terror from ACTUAL Percy Jackson fans!!!

    I know officially hate the movie studio who made this crap!
    :( :( :(

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    has nothing to do with the movie!

    I actually watched this movie first than reading the books, but when i finished the books, i was shocked! This movie has nothing to do with anything in the book. Percy is supposed to be 12, not 18/17/16. Grover and Annabeth don't look anything like how they're supposed to look like. And what's up with all the cussing and sexy stuff ? Why is the "lotus hotel", which is supposed to be a game place, a casino full of alcohol and women in mini dresses? That didn't need to be here. My advice: Read the books instead, they are way better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2011

    Awful movie- Don't wsste your money!

    This movie was terrible. The half the characters looked nothing iike they were supposed to and the other half aren't even shown. Annabeth's personality changed completely. The whole entire plot is different, too. They go to most of the same places but for different reasons, "Find the pearls". Give me a break. It was very cheesy and horribly written. In other words I hated this movie. That's why I gave it one star; it sould have been 0 if possible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This movie is about a 12 year old named Percy Jackson. NOT! The

    This movie is about a 12 year old named Percy Jackson. NOT! The movie has no source of connection to the book! Believe me read the book, don't watch the movie! Reviewer Julia, Age 11  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    There's a reason they didn't immediately make the next book into

    There's a reason they didn't immediately make the next book into a movie. The lead is a decent actor as he's shown in perks of being a wallflower, but hardly hero material and a terrible script. You're better off just getting a second copy of harry potter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was not impressed at all with this movie. I read the books fir

    I was not impressed at all with this movie. I read the books first. Of course I had fallen in love with the books and was so upset when I saw the movie. It was nothing like the books. The age of kids where different and they went to different places than they had in the books.

    If you haven't read the books and don't plan to (which i don't recomend because the books are so good) then I guess the movie would be alright.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Biggest disappointment in my life.

    Now, Im all for a little change when it comes to adapting books to the big screen, but this was ridiculous. I dont have as big of a problem with the casting, thats not my problem at all, my problem lies with whoever wrote the script for this movie. It was horrible! They left behind all the wonderful things about this book and ruined it. From Percy's age change, to characters being cut out, to the sloppy storyline. The worst thing about this is that this movie could have been wonderful, there could have been sequels, the franchise for this could have been amazing, but now we'll never have the chance for any of that. I hope authors take this movie as an example when Hollywood is interested in making books into a movie, because this could have been as big as the Hunger Games and Harry Potter.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE! THE BOOK IS TEN THOUSAND TIMES BETTER!

    I ONLY RATED THIS MOVIE A 0NE STAR BECAUSE I CAN'T MAKE IT BE A ZERO STAR. THIS MOVIE DOES NOT FOLLOW THE BOOK AT ALL AND IS SOO00 BORING I NEARLY FELL ASLEEP WATCHING IT.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A wasted opportunity

    As a lover of Greek mythology and a middle school teacher, I have enjoyed the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series of novels. Unfortunately, their adaptation to film (or at least the first book) left me thoroughly disappointed and a little angry.

    The film only uses the book as a "suggestion," departing from the novel in too many ways to mention. Also, while the novels are fun and are deeply entrenched in Greek mythology, the movie is heavy handed and even gets the mythology wrong. One of my students (a 12-year-old mind you) was able to come up to my colleagues and complain that the movie did not make sense in one way or another.

    Those individuals who had not read the books and have only seen the movie commented that the film was okay, more of a B-grade Harry Potter rip-off. A very disheartening statement from someone who finds that the books have so much to offer a reader that the film will not inspire one to read.

    Please, take my recommendation, read the books and forget this movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1