Customer Reviews for

Persuasion

Average Rating 4.5
( 71 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Captain Wentworth to Die for

I have seen three different versions of Persuasion in DVD: the BBC one dated 1971 and very theatrical, the one dated 1995 with Amanda Root and Ciarán Hinds and the late Corin Redgrave and finally the one from 2007 with Sally Hawkins and the gorgeous Rupert Penry-Jo...
I have seen three different versions of Persuasion in DVD: the BBC one dated 1971 and very theatrical, the one dated 1995 with Amanda Root and Ciarán Hinds and the late Corin Redgrave and finally the one from 2007 with Sally Hawkins and the gorgeous Rupert Penry-Jones.

The one from 1971 does follow Jane Austen book Persuasion very well, but it can become a little boring and because it is a very theatrical version, the actors are not as attractive as in the other versions, plus they have a terrible teeth problem (thank God that the young generation of European actors, in general, take better care of their teeth).

The one from 1995 is the one where you see that the actors chosen are perfect for the roles they are playing, starting with Amanda and Ciarán and without forgetting the late Corin Redgrave as Sir Elliot (the best Sir Elliot I have seen), the Elliot sisters, the Musgroves, Lady Russell (the late Susan Fleetwood) and Mrs. Croft. Ciarán plays a more mature and cynical Captain Wentworth than Rupert Penry-Jones in the 2007 version.

About the 2007 all I can say is: Rupert Penry-Jones. The cast is good, especially Sally and Rupert playing a more caring Captain Wentworth, and I'm sure they are playing their characters as the director wants them to play them, but Mary Elliot is unbearable! It is a very free version of the Jane Austen book and although the end is a little crazy, just to see the change on Rupert's face and especially those gorgeous blue eyes when he is asking Sally Hawkins if the rumors of her marrying her cousin are true, is worth the price of buying the DVD. What a face and eyes!

So, if you want to buy a DVD that reflects Jane Austen's book as well as a fantastic cast, buy the 1997 version with Amanda Root and Ciarán Hinds, but if you want a different version with a Captain Wentworth to die for, then buy the 2007 version.

posted by mirbarnatomas on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Character portrayals were a big miss

When I read Persuasion I always picture Anne as a graceful, strong, and engaging woman who is suppressed and humbled by the overbearance of her father and sister. The portrayal of Anne in the movie is of a woman who is easily manipulated and shy and who has no shining ...
When I read Persuasion I always picture Anne as a graceful, strong, and engaging woman who is suppressed and humbled by the overbearance of her father and sister. The portrayal of Anne in the movie is of a woman who is easily manipulated and shy and who has no shining traits aside from a sweet disposition. I didn't see a self-sacrificing, mature, strong woman in the movie -- just a mumbling, bumbling, forgetable albeit sweet girl. I was disappointed as this is my favorite novel by Jane Austen.

posted by 169150 on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Captain Wentworth to Die for

    I have seen three different versions of Persuasion in DVD: the BBC one dated 1971 and very theatrical, the one dated 1995 with Amanda Root and Ciarán Hinds and the late Corin Redgrave and finally the one from 2007 with Sally Hawkins and the gorgeous Rupert Penry-Jones.

    The one from 1971 does follow Jane Austen book Persuasion very well, but it can become a little boring and because it is a very theatrical version, the actors are not as attractive as in the other versions, plus they have a terrible teeth problem (thank God that the young generation of European actors, in general, take better care of their teeth).

    The one from 1995 is the one where you see that the actors chosen are perfect for the roles they are playing, starting with Amanda and Ciarán and without forgetting the late Corin Redgrave as Sir Elliot (the best Sir Elliot I have seen), the Elliot sisters, the Musgroves, Lady Russell (the late Susan Fleetwood) and Mrs. Croft. Ciarán plays a more mature and cynical Captain Wentworth than Rupert Penry-Jones in the 2007 version.

    About the 2007 all I can say is: Rupert Penry-Jones. The cast is good, especially Sally and Rupert playing a more caring Captain Wentworth, and I'm sure they are playing their characters as the director wants them to play them, but Mary Elliot is unbearable! It is a very free version of the Jane Austen book and although the end is a little crazy, just to see the change on Rupert's face and especially those gorgeous blue eyes when he is asking Sally Hawkins if the rumors of her marrying her cousin are true, is worth the price of buying the DVD. What a face and eyes!

    So, if you want to buy a DVD that reflects Jane Austen's book as well as a fantastic cast, buy the 1997 version with Amanda Root and Ciarán Hinds, but if you want a different version with a Captain Wentworth to die for, then buy the 2007 version.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Persuasive

    At first, I wasn`t so sure about this film but as others have mentioned it, it kind of grows on you. After I had seen it for the first time, I thought how impossible it is to put the entire novel into 1.5 hrs - and yes, the movie does suffer from it, and at times there are differences from the original,but then I watched it a second time and it grew on me immensely.
    The performances are great, Sally Hawkins is superb as 27 year old Anne Elliot, who a decade ago broke off her engagemnt to the man she loved because of her family`s objections. She since then came to regret her decision. She meets again Captain Wentworth, her former fiancee, who had since then become rich and made a career in the navy. It is quite clear that he resents Anne and the two must bear with each other and decide whether all feelings they once had for each other are now long gone and lost.
    Rupert Henry Jones is great in this film, and I loved Anthony Head (from Buffy).
    As I said, at first, I wasn`t convinced, but since then I grew to love this film- my only complaint is that it is way too short and the movie suffers from it. You can`t do Austen in 90 minutes!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Character portrayals were a big miss

    When I read Persuasion I always picture Anne as a graceful, strong, and engaging woman who is suppressed and humbled by the overbearance of her father and sister. The portrayal of Anne in the movie is of a woman who is easily manipulated and shy and who has no shining traits aside from a sweet disposition. I didn't see a self-sacrificing, mature, strong woman in the movie -- just a mumbling, bumbling, forgetable albeit sweet girl. I was disappointed as this is my favorite novel by Jane Austen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A minor disappointment...

    I, too, have watched the 1995 adaptation many times and find it superior to this one. For one, except for Anne, the characters were poorly developed in this version. I did think Anne's direct glances into the camera were quite effective as a punctuation to her feelings, but found it implausible that she would literally run through the streets of Bath, trying to find Frederick towards the end. The reading of the letter from Frederick to Anne, one of the most powerful scenes in the movie, was done hastily on the street, instead of more appropriately, at home. There is no triumphant revelation of their feelings in front of the family and the ending fell flat... the seemingly romantic gesture of bestowing her family home upon her as a wedding present was nothing compared to having Anne join Frederick on the bridge of his ship.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Even though the story is quite condensed compared to the book, i

    Even though the story is quite condensed compared to the book, it flows really well. One doesn't feel they are missing something at any point, and acting is absolutely superb!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Simply Lovely

    I've seen both the 1995 (Amanda Root, Ciarán Hinds) version & the 2007 version w/ Sally Hawkins, Rupert Penry-Jones. I much prefer the 2007. The stories are very close to each other, even down to some of the script, so I don't think you can use that excuse as the reason why one is better than the other. For the most part I don't have a problem with the "ugly" costumes (although they are, but still do not detract from the story) or the lighting of the 1995 version, as some reviewers here did. Some commented on the lack of character development in the 2007 version, I fell there is less character development in the 1995 version. I do agree with the general consensus that Anne & Capt. Wentworth are far too old in the 97 version.

    There is absolutely no chemistry between Amanda Root & Ciarán Hinds until about the last 27 minutes of the movie, by that time because there wasn't any type of build of emotions depicted & because the movie's running time is winding down & they gotta end up together in less than half an hour it all seems forced.

    Also in the 95 version, Anne's cousin Mr. Elliot shows no signs of liking Anne until the concert. Capt. sees the two of them having a conversation & seems to stomp off jealous. While in the 2007 version Anne & her cousin have several conversations before the concert where Capt. overhears his sister and her husband talk about a possible wedding & then he stomps off. Not to mention Capt. speaks with Anne (before the concert scene) when he ducks into a little shop to get out of the rain. Anne is waiting for Mr. Elliot, who pops into the shop and Capt. watches as Mr. Elliot and Anne leave together. So later when Capt. stomps off from the concert in a bit of a jealous fit it makes since in the 2007 version because of what he saw prior to that one instance, in the 95 version his stomping fit doesn't seem rational or justified.

    It's these little details the 2007 hit right on the money where the 95 version may have been trying so hard to stick to the book that it forgot that the things you imagine when reading a book have to be done visually for a viewing audience.
    If some feel the 2007 version strayed from the book slightly, it was for good reasons & it worked to the benefit of the movie as a role and the overall enjoyment for the viewer.

    The actors in the 2007 version did a far better job with their physical acting and facial expressions of communicating their feelings, often without saying a word. Anne in the 95 version always looks like a deer in headlights, and from the moment Capt. sees Anne for the first time in years he doesn't show any signs of an inward emotional struggle or regret the entire movie, so there is simply no build up, where in the 2007 version Anne and Capt. gradually found themselves in each other's company more and more, and the corner glances were effective in communicating their feelings. Preferred Capt. picking up Anne in the 2007 version and putting her into the back of the Croft's carriage b/c of her twisted ankle over the 1995 version where her ankle is not twisted & he merely helps her into the carriage with a hand. The 2007 version did a better job in how it revealed to Anne that Capt. was not to marry Louisa & how Capt.'s brother told him that the Musgrove's were under the impression he intended to marry her, this whole part of the story was done far better than the way the 95 version handled it.

    I recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A good version, at times it felt rushed, especially the ending but still worth a watch.

    Anne Elliot (Sally Hawkins) fell in love with Fredrick Wentworth (Rupert Penry-Jones) and the two wanted to get married. But she had to call the whole thing off because of the disapproval of Fredrick by her family and her friend Lady Russell. Years later, she finds that Wentworth's angry at her, having not forgiven her. If you've read the book then you'll probably notice some changes here and there. Both Sally and Rupert do a good job, especially Sally. I'm sure many felt the kiss scene was a bit, awkward. Overall give this version of Persuasion a look.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable Austen

    Lovely adaptation. Well worth your time and popcorn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a long-lived love story

    Persuasion is a story that appeals to anyone who feels misunderstood by those closest to them. For the woman who feels like she is taken for granted or in the way, there is encouragement that being true to yourself will ultimately lead to happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Story

    This was a wonderful addition to our video library. A timeless tale of love lost,and love found

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of Jane Austin's best!

    I loved this movie! I have watched it over and over. The chemistry between Anne and Captain Wentwoth was amazing... A must see for every romantic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    It Will Grow On You

    Jane Austen fans and fans of the Masterpiece Theater series will especially like "Persuasion." It comes off as a little confusing and may be a slight turn-off at first, but once you've watched it a few times and perhaps if you've read the book, you can really enjoy it. It's a complex story and you'll pick up new things each time you watch it. I'd definitely recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Persuasion with Sally Hawkins and Rupert Penry-Jones

    I was so used to Persuasion with Ciaran Hinds, that this version was a little shocking at first. But, I have watched it three times now, and each time I find that is has its own charm. The storyline moves quickly, but the viewer can understand the main plot, and most of the subtext. The actors are superb.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loooved it!

    Really really good. I just watched it today and I'm 16 and the book is my second favorite Austen novel (next to P&P) and I was really, really pleased with this version. I could really feel the passion and the awkwardness that came with their reunion between Wentworth and Anne. This is a difficult story to adapt from the book, because there isn't alot of interaction between the two, but this version did a very good job with the secret longing stares across the room, and I could really feel it. Also, the acting was really good, and I think that the actors looked more of how I pictured them in the books. It was a great adaptation for only being an hour and a half, I only wish that they could've made it multiple parts, like Pride and Prejudice and North and South, because the last 10 minutes of it was really rushed. Also, my two favorite scenes from the book were cut from the movie! The children and the letter part! That was my only real disappointment. If you've read the book, you know what I'm referring to. However, it's a good choice for people becoming interested in Jane Austen's work, as it is simple and sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Persuasion

    I found this DVD excellent for entertainment and historical value as per Jane Austin's novels. I watched it over and over and will continue to watch it when I can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    weak heroine...should not be

    I did not find the heroine of high moral character...unlike that which I KNOW she must have possessed knowing Jane Austen's writings. She came across as weak, mumbling, and nervous! I wanted to scream, "just say it!" while she was sputtering throughout the final scenes in the movie. Oh well, I will take a look at the other version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Persuasion by BBC

    While it was a good production, I could not understand how they had Ann Elliot dashing about town. It would have been nice to see more on Ann's friend and her connection with Mr. Elliot and how Ann help her friend get out of her poverish state. Neither movie covered that. Plus, when do invalids go running about town? It was like they had to speed up the ending because they overshot the first half. But, if you have never read the book, it is a nice show to watch with Jane Austen's happy ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very Nice

    I thought that this movie was great. Only part I didn't like had to do with people kissing and slobber (don't want to spoil the movie). Anyhoo, it's one of my favorite Austen movies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Jane Austen Fan

    Loved it! Will enjoy this video for years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite.

    First saw this on Masterpiece's Jane Austen series and have to say that it is my favorite. Love the story, choice of actors and the quiet but powerful "looking into the lens" moments - not to mention the scene where Anne finally gets it right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 71 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4