BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Peter Pan

Average Rating 4.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OMG!!

    I loved this movie. Everything seemed so real. I watched it almost ten times in one day. I felt as if Peter Pan himself could have taken me away. I recomend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Film I'll Never Forget

    This is seriously one of the most spectacular, dazzling films I have ever seen. The story is just as beautiful - not only is Peter actually played by a BOY (and a very cute boy, at that, you teen gals), but his personality is spot-on - devilish and impossible not to adore. The film also reveals Peter's more mature side, funnily enough - the side that is truly in love with Wendy. The set is wonderful, the cinematogrophy is some of the most beautiful I have ever seen, and the music is startlingly powerful. I reccommend this movie to absolutely anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A magical film for all ages

    This is by far the best adaptation of Peter Pan, even surpassing the animated Walt Disney classic. The movie maintains the heart of the story and deepens the relationships and emotions of the characters. Great cast, great set, great special effects--everyone will love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Adventure!

    When I saw the poster for the movie, I had no desire to see it. However, when it came out on DVD, my dad brought it home and we all watched it. I was only 11 then...I think...and so I wasn't very good at paying attention. I though Wendy(Rachel) had big teeth! Tonight I watched it on my own, and am amazed at how awsome it was and how GREAT the actors did. This is a must see for the family!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Quaint Little Adventure

    I will admit that I love this movie, I've never seen the original Peter Pan movie, so I have nothing to compare it to. But it was delightful to watch, a little corny in parts. I really DID NOT like the girl picked to be Wendy - but I enjoyed watching Captain Hook - best actor in movie by me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Unforgettable Adventure!

    When I first saw this movie I was very impressed. The best version of the Peter Pan story so far. It's nice to actually see a boy play Peter Pan as J.M. Barrie had intended when he wrote the classic story. Jeremy Sumpter is perfect as the boy who never wants to grow up. As a personal fan of Jason Isaacs I thought he did a flawless performance as the despised Captain Hook. Ludivine Sagnier's purely pantomime performance as Tinkerbell is so much better then Julia Roberts in Hook. PJ Hogan's protrayal of Neverland is so magical that you wish you could fly there yourself. The music is beautiful, the sets, the characters, and the story all come together to make this a wonderful film for the whole family to enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A favorite with my daughter and I

    Of course I grew up on the Disney animated version of Peter Pan...but this live adaptation was beautiful. The acting and cinematography were very well done. Every one of the characters, from Mr. Smee to Mrs. Darling, were perfectly casted. We loved every character regardless of which side of the goodies or the badies they fell. Hope you enjoy the end when Wendy gives Peter Pan a thimble. My closet romantic daughter and I squeeled with glee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OMG...

    THis movie kicked butt! I love the story of peter Pan but this one set the high standered for it so it can't be out done by anyone else. I also think the chemistry between Wendy and Peter, fits so well in it. I think Rachel is such a good actress!! And by the way Rachel i am sooooo jelous you got to KISS Jermey, you luicky dog!! Because i think he is so HOT!!!!! The grapics of this movie where awsome, and the actors and actress where picked out very well!! I also think if jermey hadn't been in this movie it wouldn't have sold as good!!The lost boys where so good in this movie so of them where so cute! :) So over all this WAS A AWESOME MOVIE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A Dazzling Masterpiece!

    I absolutely loved Peter Pan. It is my favorite Disney movie, so seeing it in live action on the big screen was really good fun. All the actors were wonderfully picked for their character. Rachel Hurd-Wood was especially good as Wendy Darling for this being her first appearance in a film. Jeremy Sumpter, Peter Pan, was also perfect as the boy who never grows up. The sets were bright and cheerful, but dark and gruesome in the right scenes. I liked Neverland’s dawning blue skies and green jungles, and the shadowy Jolly Roger, Hook’s pirate ship, was also a pretty convincing haunting vessel. Peter Pan had many funny moments and every scene had a wonderful magical touch to it that makes me want to see it again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    This was a great movie! I saw it in the theaters and it was instantly a favorite. It makes a wonderful little family movie. The music was great and went well with the different scenes. It was well made and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Peter and Wendy need to be together!

    This is the best Peter Pan movie I have ever seen! The romance between Wendy and Peter was so tounching, I just wish that they could have ended up together. That is the only thing that would have made the movie better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow

    At first, I had no desire to see this movie. It looked dumb and very violent, I mean, it IS Peter Pan. But I changed my mind the day before Christmas. I rented it when it came out on DVD. I was suprised at how well Rachel Hurd-Wood and Jeremy Sumpter act. It was also more funny that expected! Worth the rent, and I think the girls will like Jeremy's looks! (8 1/2/10 A-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Advertising shoved down your throat, but...

    First of all, it was really low for the makers of this DVD to put an ad at the beginning without any means of jumping past it. Ads served a useful purpose in videotapes because the starts of tapes were often mangled so ads served as a safety buffer before the actual movie, but this is inexcusable for DVDs. As for the movie itself, it's excellent, probably the best 'Peter Pan' yet. Those who have read the book know how dark and violent the original story is (one person I know even called it 'sick'), but this film took a medium course between the sugary 1953 Disney version and the original novel. This film includes some of the darker aspects like the murderous mermaids and Hook's indiscriminate killing of crew members, but it does so tastefully, and there are enough warm or cheery scenes to make it pleasant overall. The effects are excellent, all the young actors and actresses have great faces, the humor is great (how'd you like to wake up to a parrot shrieking in your ear?), and everything fits together smoothly and logically, creating its own version of reality. Unlike 'Return to Neverland,' this film captures that same warm family feeling that the original Disney film did, and doesn't go overboard on demonstrating female equality. It seems a little odd that the actress for Tinkerbell was older than Peter Pan, but that's a minor squabble. The author J.M. Barrie would have appreciated the uncensored aspects of this film. The DVD's bonus features are all quite short but some are nice, like the short interviews with the actresses, or behind-the-scenes views of the props and effects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Exhilerating!

    This movie is a blast of fresh air. It proves dirty humor and swearing are not necessary in a good film. Everyone involved-- set builders, actors, director, composer-- did a wonderful job. The movie is cohesive, with fast action well-choreographed and slower character scenes that reach the heart and make you laugh. The single unfortunate hiccup is the length of the 'I do believe in fairies' sequence, but that is overwhelmed by the vitality and reality of the rest of the movie. My thanks to the creators of Peter Pan for giving us valuable, enjoyable entertainment!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Do Believe in Fairies!

    I mean it! No one could possibly love this movie more than I do! I saw it a couple of days after it came out, (I couldn't the same day because it was Christmas Day). This movie literally picks you up out of your seat and sends you flying through every moment of Peter and Wendy. I will most definitely buy it the same day it comes out!!!I loved it more than any other movie that I've ever seen! So come away to Neverland, where you'll experience the magic and brilliance of what it's like to never grow up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A children grow up.... Except for one

    OMG! I LOVE THIS MOVIE! IT IS SO AWESOME. I WAS IN COMPLETE AWE WHEN THEY SHOWED THE FAERIE TREE. THIS MOVIE IS GREAT FOR CHILDREN OF ALL AGES... EVEN ADULTS.THIS MOVIE IS JUST SO BEAUTIFUL!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW

    This movie is great for the family. No bad language or anything. What i loved most about this movie was the chemistry between Jeremy Sumpter and Rachel Hurd-Wood, Peter Pan and Wendy. I also loved the action. The only thing i wish they could change is the ending. Why can't Peter and Wendy be together, its really sad..but a great movie over all!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very sweet.

    This is an awesome movie as a break from all the constant 'R' rated movies coming out. There is no bad language, no sexual innuendo or suggestions, and no extreme violence. The acting was done pretty well, though it could have been better, and the new actors/actresses in this movie brought forth a few new child entertainers. Great for children, teens, adults...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very...cute.

    The movie was pretty good. Fighting was great, acting was good (except Rachel Hurd-Wood can't act as well as the other cast members). I would recommend this movie to any fantasy lover.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    its was cool

    i think i would have hated it if peter pan looked ugly (in the movie, he's soo cute ^.^) ..LOL...but the story was good too...i have a little peter pan book thats only like 10 pages and it sucks and wasnt long enough for me to like it but now that i've seen the movie, i really enjoy the story and no more about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3