BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pineapple Express

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Cant wait for dvd

Pineapple Express was a great movie and stoner buddy flick. If you liked the humor of Superbad you will enjoy this one. There is a lot of action and the final action scene was on my favorite of all of 2008. Its from the Apatow crowd so no doubt this 3 disc dvd will be p...
Pineapple Express was a great movie and stoner buddy flick. If you liked the humor of Superbad you will enjoy this one. There is a lot of action and the final action scene was on my favorite of all of 2008. Its from the Apatow crowd so no doubt this 3 disc dvd will be packed with great extras that will be worth every penny. I suggest you pre-order this right now.

posted by Mummbles on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Meh

I'm not a pothead, but I can appreciate pothead humor nonetheless. I can appreciate good humor in general. The humor in Pineapple Express took too long to get going. I don't think I laughed much before the two main characters went to Danny McBride's character's house...
I'm not a pothead, but I can appreciate pothead humor nonetheless. I can appreciate good humor in general. The humor in Pineapple Express took too long to get going. I don't think I laughed much before the two main characters went to Danny McBride's character's house and people started getting shot. I've heard people complain that the movie gets too much into the violence aspect and loses its charm and fun. I personally disagree. In fact, I liked the movie more when it got violent and ridiculous. The entire opening scene done in black & white was stupid and not funny. I like all the actors in this movie, and their previous work.

Good rental. Iffy purchase.

Just my opinion.

posted by Irving_Washington on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Cant wait for dvd

    Pineapple Express was a great movie and stoner buddy flick. If you liked the humor of Superbad you will enjoy this one. There is a lot of action and the final action scene was on my favorite of all of 2008. Its from the Apatow crowd so no doubt this 3 disc dvd will be packed with great extras that will be worth every penny. I suggest you pre-order this right now.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    AMAZZZZZZING!!!!!!!

    Best movie ever! I find myself quoting this movie daily. It is and always will be my favorite movie. HIGHLY RECCOMEND!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Pineapple buzzed

    Good flick, for fans of Clerks, ClerksII, How High and Half Baked

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Meh

    I'm not a pothead, but I can appreciate pothead humor nonetheless. I can appreciate good humor in general. The humor in Pineapple Express took too long to get going. I don't think I laughed much before the two main characters went to Danny McBride's character's house and people started getting shot. I've heard people complain that the movie gets too much into the violence aspect and loses its charm and fun. I personally disagree. In fact, I liked the movie more when it got violent and ridiculous. The entire opening scene done in black & white was stupid and not funny. I like all the actors in this movie, and their previous work. <BR/><BR/>Good rental. Iffy purchase. <BR/><BR/>Just my opinion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    make sure you watch it in the 'right state of mind'

    ...........because you know that's how they meant for you to see it :P* lol. i saw it in a theatre on opening night. the audience was ripped with laughter. it truly is one of the funniest movies that came out in 2008.<BR/><BR/>i couldn't wait to get it home and watch it on dvd for the REAL special effects. the deleted scenes are also worth paying the inflated barnes n noble price lol. believe me!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful

    i loved this

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Has its moments

    I kept hearing about this and finally got around to seeing. Not my kind of movie but it does have its funny moments. Especially James Franco's character. Dude is hilarious and has good comedic timing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    BEST MOVIe

    BEST MOVIe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Funny, but doesn't live up to the Hype.

    The group of friends I hang out with consider this to be one of the perennial classic "Guy Films" and it doesn't in my opinion live up to that reputation. The film follows this guy Dale Denton played by Seth Rogen who delivers Sub Poenas to people and his Drug Dealer played by James Franco. Basically they get in some trouble with this guy Ted and hilarity is SUPPOSED to ensue. Now James Franco's performance is absolutely perfect I must say his Stoner Drug Dealer character Saul is just to funny he's laidback Demeanor and memorable lines are enough to hold up almost any film. Unfortunately Saul is not the main focus of this film he is one of the people drawed in because of Dale's stupidity, that being said he is handsdown the best character in this film. If a sequel is made to this movie it should just follow Saul around and get rid of the other Two. I would tell you some of the hilarious lines but they're so funny I dont want to spoil them. The film as a whole unfortunately is just "Good" it had some standout sequences like the part in the woods, or the fight at Red's house, or the Car chase, but the rest of the film just isn't that great. Its the kind of film that is haunted by what it could have been, because JF's performance aside the film as a whole could have been so much more - CM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the most hilarious movies of all time

    This is one of those movies that you wouldn't think would be that hilarious, but it was. I bought it because it's one of those movies that you could watch again and again. It's great for any adult audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Meh

    Seth Rogan continues to be one of the most over-rated "comic" actors of this generation. He's about as funny as Rob Schnieder or Adam Sandler, which is to say he never GROWS in character development- he essentially plays the exact same character in every film he appears in. One-sided schtick can only take you so far: watching his earlier films under Judd Apatow no longer prove amusing, because he essentially does the SAME EXACT THING in every film, in that he has never ceased to be Cal from "The 40 Year Old Virgin." These same Roganian non-virtues can also be seen in Danny McBride, who is consistently one of the lamest and un-funny actors I've ever seen comitted to celluloid. McBride is so constantly horrendous that he makes Chris Kattan seem like a comedic visionary by comparison. If there is anyone who is capable of one-upping Rogan in crummy performances, McBride is the man to beat.


    That being said, this movie is moderatly worth seeing for three reasons:


    1). James Franco plays an utterly perfect stoner. His performance is uncanny, because he enveloped the attitude and disposition of every stoner I've ever met in my life (which is not to say that all stoners are the same, Franco just manages to take all of their really endearing qualities and roll them into one person).

    2). Daryl Philbin, nay, Craig Robinson's hitman character, Matheson, is quite hilarious, especially when donning his "sensitive" side.

    3). The fight in Red's house is, without a doubt, one of the most hilarious fights I've ever seen in a movie- it was over the top, and fantastically blocked and executed.

    There you have it, only three reasons to see a two-hour stoner movie that everyone seems to find ridiculously hilarious.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    James Franco, pot head?

    James Franco is very versatile. From a pot head to the new Goblin/Harry Osborn in the Spiderman series to one of the partners of Harvey Milk. This guy can act. Now, Seth Rogen is familiar with comedies since he has been in "Knocked Up", "Superbad" and "Zack and Miri Make a Porno" to name a few. I think this was his best movie so far. The chemistry and friendship between James and Seth's characters is not only funny but, sweet. This was the first comedy in awhile that could actually make me laugh though there were some parts that didn't. Overall the plot, the acting, the action, the humor and even the music made for a great and enjoyable film.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3