Customer Reviews for

Pirates of the Caribbean - Dead Man's Chest

Average Rating 4.5
( 159 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    THE BEST MOVIE EVER!!!!

    This is THE best movie I have ever seen in my entire life! It is an amazing tale of action, suspense, and mystery. I have learned everything there is to know about these movies, and I must say Ted and Terry, Jerry, Gore, Johnny, Keira, Orlando, Jack, Tom, and everyone else did an OUTSTANDING job on all of these films!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    My favorite of the three

    Well I have seen all three movies and I still like this one the best. If you ask me Bill Nighy stole the show with his impressive adaption of Davy Jones. I personally thought they did such a great job with the effects of him and his crew that you could just dive into the story. If you want to see what I mean and appreciate the work that Bill Nighy did playing the Davy Jones character you should take the time to watch the special features on this disc on the making of the character and it has a great look at how the design team did and how challenging it would be for him. Great movie

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AWESOME MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!! It is just as good as Curse of the black Pearl. I don't see how anyone would not like it. The special effects are amazing. Escpecially for Davy Jones and his crew. They look like they are real! Other special effects that are amazing, are when the Flying Duchman comes out or goes into the water. Jack, of course, is very funny in this one also. He is trying to settle a deal with Davy Jones so he doesn't have to join his crew, and stay away from the kracken. Will is trying to save Elizebeth, and at the same time, Elizebeth is trying to save Will. Along with trying to save Elizebeth, Will is also trying to save his father. This is great movie! I cannot pick a favorite out of all three. I LOVE POTC!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Big Fan of the movie

    I've love all of the Pirate movies since they came out, and I love the 2 disc special. The only thing I'm upset about is that I have tried to order Pirates of the Caribbean At World's End 2 disc special but it kept getting cancled, and I haven't been able to find it any where.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Okay,I have been reviewing games,books,and movies for awhile now,and ever since I reviewed Pirates 1 I have been waiting for the second one.Now I can review it,the movie is the same as the first one except it is a little better.Except this time the gang is in search for the dead man's chest,and it end's up in a little battle,the endings great because it ends up leading to the 3rd movie.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Worst Movie EVER

    This movie is horrible!! I LOVED the pirates 1 and was so disapointed when I saw the second. It kept going on and on, and nothing happy happened everything was bad. And it had the worst ending ever. i thought that balbosa guy died in the first one. i wanted to know what happened to jack. and if i had seen this movie before the 3rd one came, i would have been even more disapointed since i wouldn't have ever found out. at least they made a third to continue where they left off. Anyway, do not waste your money cause its bad.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    you're joking! This film doesn't come close to the thrills and sword fighting Pirates 1 had to offer. This film ruined the very concept of pirates! Um, sense when have people walked around with squid faces and rolled down steep hills with water wheels. This film is so unrealistically dreadful, i wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy! Don't see this farce on a pirates life. Stick with the adventures in the original Pirates film insteed.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    pretty good altogether

    This was nowhere near as good as the first one. the plot was rather confusing and many of the stunts were impractical and impossible. Johnny Depp did a fantastic job though, his wonderful character and acting saved this movie. Orlando and Keira also did amazing jobs. If you are looking at this movie as far as good plots, don't get your hopes up, if you want it for laughs... that's another story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a reviewer

    If Johnny Depp wasn't casted in this film, it wouldn't have even made a dollar.Overall fantastic, fun and has an exciting plot.the make-up department deserves an award and possible bonus pay.Salute to everyone who enjoys this film.We're all pirates in some way:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love this movie =]

    I think this one was better than the first. If you haven't seen this movie, go rent it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Stop Complaining, it's a great movie

    It's just as good as the fist one. sure it ends suddenly but come on there is a third movie comming out....you'll find out what happens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The second one is a disappointment.

    Unfortunatly the second Pirates movie does not hold a candle to the first. It is a race to the profit margin for Disney. Hokey plot, hokey special effects and I think a monkey wrote the screenplay. The only good thing was Johnny Depp. But even he could not save the script.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST.....MOVIE.......EVER!

    'Pirates Of The Caribbean - The Curse Of The Black Pearl' is an outstanding movie, hilarious, unique, original and well made, and the sequel is just as great if not better. 'Pirates Of The Caribbean - Dead Man's Chest' is (like the original) hilarious, unique and well made plus it takes a different tone in some places of the film, with a lot more character development. The three cliffhangers at the end of the movie are just surprising and great. The DVD is well worth getting, very good quality and sound and the extra's especially the cast interviews and the maker's interviews are great and the making of Davy Jones. I am looking forward to the third movie 'Pirates Of The Caribbean - At Worlds End'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE IT

    this was the greates Movie. Some peeps said it was 2 long but DO NOT LISTEN!!! If the movie is good throughout it really doesn't matter how long it is! I love everything that happened in the movie: MUsic, Actors/Actresses. I cant wait for the 3rd movie. I think its comming May 25th? Whatev. JUST WATCH IT )(Winking face)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pirates 2 is awesome!

    I just can't say enough good things about this movie it was awesome!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Know What I Want...

    I don't know what you negative people are talking about... The 2nd movie is almost the exact same length as the 1st, and there's a lot more action in this one. So saying it's too long is kinda stupid when you say you like the first one so much. As for my own review: I really liked this movie! It was constant action-what I love the most! I actually came out of the theatres with sensory overload because I tried to remember everything, and, let's face it, the ending was such a cliff-hanger!!! That was awesome! We know who's coming back for that 3rd movie! Watch out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dead Man's Chest is a good film.

    Dead Man's Chest is definitely not a bad film, but I'd be lying if I said I wasn't disappointed a little. It's always tough to create sequels to successful blockbusters and have them live up to original's name. The first "Pirates" film had a rare charm that most other Hollywood pictures would envy. Fantastic characters, a great story, amazing special effects, and an all-around "fun" feel. It's not hard to understand why it became so popular. On paper, nothing really seems wrong with Dead Man's Chest. It has the same elements that made the first film a hit. Yet at the same time, something was missing. Two of the "main three" characters (Sparrow, Turner, and Swann) seemed to have experienced a personality makeover. Initially, all three characters are likable and you found yourself rooting for them through both good and bad intentions. That's not the case in DMC. A great amount of the storyline felt like filler, as if they were just there to set up the next action scene. This formula works for B-movies and martial arts films, but for a big budget film like this, it feels awkward. The humor is hit-and-miss. It's impossible not to smile Johnny Depp's performance, even at his most outrageous moments. However, it often feels that the writers tried too hard to squeeze in humor at inappropriate places just so they can meet their humor quota. This sort of bad timing is another element that sets it below the “Curse of the Black Peal” in terms of quality. Davy Jones and "Bootstrap" Bill Turner are two terrific additions to the "Pirates" cast. They both add to a very dark atmosphere that the overall story focuses on. While far-fetched at times, the action/sword-fight scenes are a ton of fun to watch and help make it an all-around solid film. The ending is not 100% satisfying, but that was done intentionally to build up anticipation for the third (and perhaps final) film. I hope that the third film improves on what I didn't like about the story and ties up all the loose ends so it can leave audiences feeling thrilled and satisfied.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Awesome Movie!

    I loved the first POTC movie, and this one...in my opinion, was just as good! It had great action scenes, and there was a lot of humor...I highly recommend this movie to anyone who loves pirates!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great sequel.

    Like many, I was surprised that this film was good. It had a few flaws as all sequels must but overall I highly recommend this film, especially if you were a fan of the first. A few problems I had were the predictability of Jack and the sudden turn in both Will and Elizabeth's character. I'm not so fond of that but hopefully, the third film will redeem the second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    This movie was even better than the remarkable first! Orlando Bloom, Johnny Depp, and Keira Knightley are such wonderful, talented actors that bring a lot to the script. Incredible, fast-paced, hilarious movie! I can't wait for the third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 159 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8