BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pirates of the Caribbean - Dead Man's Chest

Average Rating 4.5
( 160 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    This movie was even better than the remarkable first! Orlando Bloom, Johnny Depp, and Keira Knightley are such wonderful, talented actors that bring a lot to the script. Incredible, fast-paced, hilarious movie! I can't wait for the third!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I loved it!

    Why is everyone sayin bad stuff? To the lady talking about her young son, you really shouldnt really go to a pg13 movie with a youg child and expect it not to scare him. Anyway, its one of the best movies I've seen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This Movie was Great

    This movie must have been hard to write, because the first one was a surprise to everyone. In the first one, no one knew what it was going to be like or how good it would be. The second one had a lot to live up to, and I think it did a great job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Greatest Movie!

    Usually, sequels can't even begin to compare to the original. This movie, however, is as good as, possibly better than, Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl. It's funnier, and has an awesome plot. I don't know why anyone would hate it-- recommended for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Save your money watch it on cable

    Film was too long and dis-jointed, some good special effects,overall acting was on the level of a high school play.Save your time and money on this bomb.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    this was a terrible movie

    The constant references back to the first movie was stupid not allowing the movie to stand on it's own. Worse was how Depp destroyed the Jack Sparrow character. There was no intelligence behind Sparrow, no shrewdness, and he certainly wasn't a "good man". Depp and Knightly grossly overacted. For most of the movie I thought the star was Orlando Bloom. The only reason this movie doesn't get a zero is because of Bloom. He did well with nothing to work with. The special effects were awful, so pale compared to the first. The more I think about Pirates 2 the less I like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The truth is:

    I have to admit, I had high standards for this movie and was pretty much dissapointed when it was over. I was so excited to go and see it, and frankly, some of the parts were boring. What dissapointed me the most, was the drastic change in all of the characters! The original, unique people we fell in love with completely changed. The only character that stayed close to his orignal self was Will Turner(Orlando Bloom.)It wasn't awful, but it wasn't amazing either. I think they rushed this movie, in order to get to the third one. I think once the third is out, we'll hopefully better appreaciate this one. I still reccomend seeing it, it is still a Pirates movie, of course. I just pray that the next one will redeem this one from it's current state. But, I still reccomend watching it, I even bought it. Just don't over-anticipate it. I think everyone let their excitement get the best of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    FUNNY MOVIE I LOVE THE ACTORS/ACTRESSES!!!

    i just REALLY need to say: I LOVE JOHNNY DEPP, ORLANDO BLOOM AND KEIRA KNIGHTLY!!! This was such an awesome movie!!!! sooooo funny amazing music. peeps are saying it isn't good but do not listen to them! I mean come on!!! We are watching it in my Social Studies class!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Unusually Surprising Sequal

    Usually I go with the rule the original is going to be better than most sequals, but in this case, the crew on Pirates of the Caribbean have surprised me. I'm not going to say that it is better than the first, but it is as good and worth spending the money on. I heard many people say that they hated the ending, but what they don't understand is that it is that ending which will make them want, and have to see the third movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love those Pirate Movies

    Hi I would like to say I just love Johnny Depp in the pirates of caribbean he's great in every role he plays in but funny as Capt. Jack

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Loved it

    I loved POTC and part two really lived up to my dreams of a sequal. My only real complaint is the length of the movie and how many plot holes they left open. Also this movie isn't really a kid friendly disney movie so i wouldn't take any one under 12. I can't wait till 3 comes out to top them both.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can't wait for the 3rd one!!!

    Johnny Depp once again proves he is an acting virtuoso. He is amazing in this movie and tops his performance in the first. I wish they had used Orlando more but, whatever, the movie is still superb. I especially liked the surprise Lil Jon ending: everyone in the theater I was at said out loud, "What?!" This movie is a must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pirates of the Caribbean 2: Dead Man's Chest

    This is the action packed sequel to the Curse of the Black Pearl where its the return of the characters from the first who now instead of dead pirates deal with dead pirates of the sea than of the after life. New charaters are introduced with an excellent cliffhanger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enjoyable Pirate Romp

    I loved the first Pirates of the Caribbean, and was a bit skeptical of a sequel. 99% of all sequels are horrid. I was pleasantly surprised and utterly grateful, that Dead Man's Chest was every bit as good as Curse of the Black Pearl. The humour, the action, the romance, the story-line. I am looking forward to the next Pirates movie. Thank you Johnny Depp for creating another original character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    whats the deal with everyone

    I dont understand why everyone is knocking this film i have seen it 4 times in the theater alone. i do believe that everyone who is saying "how bad" it is, is just not seeing the whole picture this movie leads us to the main part of the series for the third movie. It also sets a new stage for the romance between wil and elizabeth and elizabeth and jack sparrow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What is there to say?

    I watched this movie in theaters the first week it came out and -- wow. Lots of sequels -- movies, books or otherwise -- are not better than their original "thing". Pirates of the Caribbean II, however, was just as good as, maybe even better than, Curse of the Black Pearl. I loved this movie! It does leave you with a cliffie at the end though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The First one was Better.

    This film was also enjoyable, but the first was waaaay better. I didn't like the whole jealousy-romance thing going on in this movie- it made it kinda cheesy. I'd say that if you had to see just one of the Pirates of the Caribbean movies, see the first. This one, although entertaining, was also disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    WOW.

    I love all the Pirates movies, and I can't wait for the next one!! The ending was a great cliffhanger, and Johnny Depp should pick up another Oscar nomination for his great work!! Love the action, the movie was full of twists and turns that no one could see coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    "Now, where is that monkey? I need to shoot something"

    Well, overall I thought the movie was great. Dont let your children (under 13 DUH!) see it. Well they can see it if they can handle mature stuff and the computerization *cough* *cough*. Depp was an amazing actor! Bloom... well he was there but Depp was WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY better. What surprised me was Elizabeth and Jack kissing. ew.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not as good as the original

    This movie had a few (and I repeat) a few good moments. It was drawn out forever just to leave you hanging at the end. What a crapfest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 160 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 8