Customer Reviews for

Pirates of the Caribbean - The Curse of the Black Pearl

Average Rating 5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is the best movie ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this movie sooooooooo much! I saw it in the theater twice and even though it's coming out before Christmas, I'm not even waiting that long to get it! Johnny Depp was so funny in it and the story line was great! Why else has this movie been in the top five in theaters for 3 months? Because it's the best!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best Disney film to date!

    With it's combination of beautiful secenery, exquiste detail, swashbuckling adventure, and great acting Pirates is without a doubt the year's best film so far, and one of Disney's all time greats. Thankfully, Pirates returns to it's roots by appealing to a wide audience, not just the under 10 or tween crowds. This film reminded of something that I'd forgotten: how much fun going to the movies can be. A must for anyone's Christmas list.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I LOVE this movie!!

    I Love this movie! Pirates of the Caribbean Curse of the Black Pearl is awesome! It is scary and funny at the same time. I love all the sword fights. I have watched it twenty times. I will never get tired of it. The special effects are great. All the actors did a great job. Jack Sparrow is very, very funny. Be sure yo watch "Dead Man's Chest" and "At Worlds End" after you watch this. They are all great movies. I cannot pick a favorite out of the three. I can't wait untill prat 4 (On Stranger Tides) comes out! I will definately go see it the day it comes to theaters. I LOVE Pirates of the Caribbean!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Anticipating the 3rd movie!

    I just watched " The Curse of the Black Pearl" in anticipation of the 3rd movie opening on Friday... Or tomorrow night for those of you lucky ones! This is probably about my 7th or 8th time watching the movie, and with all great movies, there are always new things that you pick up in the movie. There were a couple of references to Will (Orlando) Turner's father I picked up, and I finally noticed that Cpt. Barbosa did not die at the end of the movie.. Hence, his reappearance in the 2nd movie.. How the heck did I miss that before? And it is always cool to watch the transformations of the pirates to skeletons and back again. The scenes in reference to the ride at Disneyland are always enjoyed, as that is in my top 2 rides at Disneyland. Some of the extras on the 2-disc DVD are pretty cool. I liked the Bloopers reel, and some of the deleted/extended scenes were interesting. The "Making Of" was also interesting too. One of these days i will listen to Bruckheimer's take on the movie. "Dead Man's Chest" is tomorrow night, and then I will be in line for the 3rd Friday !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Easily Made It To My Favorites

    I watched this movie the same day Dead Man's Chest came out in theaters, and watched DMC the next day. And wow-- it was amazing! Since then, I've watched it at least seven times. Every time my sister says: "I want to watch a movie-- which one do you want?", I'd instantly pipe up with "Pirates of the Caribbean!" And note: I have over 20 DVDs on my shelf. GREAT movie!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie, Savvy?

    This DVD was sitting in my house for 3 years! This summer, I finally had enough common sense to watch this movie. Pirates is one of the greatest movies made, and it is led by a spectacular cast consisting of Johnny Depp, Geoffrey Rush, Orlando Bloom, and Keira Knightly. No matter what your preferred movie genre is, this movie has got to be on your list!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Curse of the Black Pearl

    From a park ride but with a story all its own, the title tells it all. Basically about a pirate who tries to get back the now accursed black pearl with help from a blacksmith who tries to rescue a girl from pirates who took the ship from the pirate in the first place seeking vengence. You can watch this again and again no matter how old you are.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i loved Pirates of the Caribbean!!!!

    I thought that Pirates was one of the best movies i have seen all summer. i have seen it three times so far and have pre-ordered it. i have told all my friends about it and they loved it as well. take your kids and go see it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    I FEEL....Cold.

    Like most people obviously I liked it! It had the Disney makings of being somewhat chessey and a little slow with the action, but I myself love the chessey and can get over the Slowness of Action! But Johnny Depp is just hilarious. Never been a die hard fan, but I feel this would be my favorite movie of his anyhow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is a wonderful movie.

    I got a new blue ray DVD machine. I alredy have this movie in regular DVD, but I bought it in blue ray and the difference is amazing. You should get a Blue Ray machine and buy this movie first. It is so worth it. I am going to buy the other two slso. If you are a Johnney Depp fan you must by it in Blue Ray. Debbie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Who knew Disney could be cool?

    I remember that when I first heard that Disney was going to make a movie based on one of the rides at Disneyworld, I was skeptical. What's next? It's A Small World in 3-D? But I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised. I should have never doubted Johnny Depp, who has the Midas Touch with all of his projects. He's the sexiest swashbuckler since Errol Flynn, and Orlando Bloom even gives him a run for his money! This movie has it all! Swordfights! Romance! Action and adventure! A must see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Suspense at its best!

    Great movie. lots of action and some funny scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I LOVE PIRATES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this movie it is so awsome! I love Orlando he is so hot! This is a must see movie you will love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie was pretty good,it had to be the best Johnney Depp,and Orlando Bloom movie i have ever seen.It had to be the best pirate movie I have ever seen.But there was one downfall it was just too short.Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Cool for a pirate movie!

    I've had this idea in my head that pirate movies are full of corny lines and smelly looking pirates with a missing limb but this one sure dashed all that. With amazing sword fights, Captain Sparrow and a totally entertaining storyline, this movie very much surpassed what I had hoped to see. Johnny Depp and Keira Knightly were so perfect for their part I'm not so sure about Orlando Bloom though, I specially despised him in 'Elizabeth Town' "yuck!" or maybe it's because of Elizabeth Town which is why I'm not such a fan of his right now. Back to the movie, I think it's just... outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    OMG AWSOME

    I loved this movie at frist i thouhgt it would b a little corney but it wasnt it was awsome the actors were so cool kiera is so pretty and trust me orlando bloom is a hottie heck yes ive seen all three of the movies

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    JACK SPPAROW FAN!!!!!!!!!

    Jhonny Depp is so cool in this one and better in the 2nd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This movie had great action and was very adventurous. Of course thats the pirates life. It is funny and I was laughing even when the movie was over. Jack Sparrow is by far the best character ever.He is absolutely hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YEah

    The first of the trilogy was amazing! The acting and special effects were better then any other movie at the time of the release. The plot was also new and exciting. The 2nd one was a disappointment for any of you who want to watch it but the first one is AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pirates of the Caribbean

    This was a really cool movie. The action scenes were great, but the music was what made it exciting. I also loved the dialogue with all of Captain Jack Sparrow's hilarious lines. I've now seen the sequel in the theater, but this one was by far the better movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 314 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16