Customer Reviews for

Pirates of the Caribbean - The Curse of the Black Pearl

Average Rating 5
( 314 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(266)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    I FEEL....Cold.

    Like most people obviously I liked it! It had the Disney makings of being somewhat chessey and a little slow with the action, but I myself love the chessey and can get over the Slowness of Action! But Johnny Depp is just hilarious. Never been a die hard fan, but I feel this would be my favorite movie of his anyhow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This movie was pretty good,it had to be the best Johnney Depp,and Orlando Bloom movie i have ever seen.It had to be the best pirate movie I have ever seen.But there was one downfall it was just too short.Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie

    This movie had great action and was very adventurous. Of course thats the pirates life. It is funny and I was laughing even when the movie was over. Jack Sparrow is by far the best character ever.He is absolutely hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I love Star wars!

    I like this book and the movie too! It (the movie) was GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!! Captain Sparrow was hilarious, even the overrated Orlando Bloom couldn't ruin it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    INTERESTING MOVIE

    I first watched this movie with my friend because I heard that it was a really good movie. I expected it to like any other pirate movie, but I was "blown away." The movie was excellent. Keira Knightley, Orland Bloom, and Johnny Depp are all fabulous actors. I look forward to watching the second and third one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

    This movie is simply the best that Disney brought out. Johnny Depp is excellent as the lead character pirate Captain Jack Sparrow. The action is simply entertaining and the costumes are nice and work well with the year and setting of the story takes places or goes. Gore Verbinksi does with the direction. Watch out the sequel as well! Pirates of the Caribbean 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Could have been bad, should have been bad, but guess what? It's NOT!!

    POTC had 2 considerable things going against it. It was based on a Disney theme park ride, and it was a Jerry Bruckheimer movie. It should have been a mess. But luckily, thanks to it's witty dialogue and a hilarious (and Oscar-nominated) turn from Johnny Depp, it passes with flying colors. Geoffrey Rush, Orlando Bloom, and Keira Knightly are all excellent in their roles, but it's Depp that steals the show. It's actually better the second time you see it because then you get all of the subtle humor and idiosyncratic gags. The only drawbacks are that it's a little long (2 and a half hours!), and sometime the actors' accents make it a little hard to understand the dialogue. But those are very minor and shouldn't stop you from enjoying the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Hilarious and enchanting

    Actually, I'd give it 4.5 stars if possible. POTC is a wonderful movie, tainted only a bit by its storybook pirates and a few sexual references (not that any children would understand it). The digital effects were definitely second only to the LOTR:ROTK, but they failed to frighten me. The score is great and battles are excellent. An appealing movie for girls not because of Orlando Bloom (playing Will Turner, a blacksmith), but because of Elizabeth Swann's (Keira Knightley) inspiring spunk, worthy of a Disney Princess. The star of the movie is definitely Johnny Depp, playing the amusing Jack Sparrow, 'Captain Jack Sparrow' as he says when he is close to death. The swordplay is outstanding due to swordsman Bob Anderson, who worked on LOTR. Don't hesitate because is is Disney's first PG-13 movie. The bonus features are informative and funny. I recomend the blooper reel. POTC is a wonderful fantasy/adventure movie that the big screen has never seen the like of, or will see again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Kind of confusing, but a great movie!

    The first time I saw POTC, I was somewhat confused at the plot line. But then I saw if a few more times and all of my questions were cleared up. This is a throroughly entertaining movie, once you understand it! I ended up seeing it 5 times in theaters and I cannot wait to buy it! My only major criticism is for Orlando Bloom. He is a great action hero, but not a choice romantic lead (sorry ladies).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome!

    I loved this movie. I saw it in theaters and am looking forward to owning it on DVD. I am a huge Orlando Bloom fan. It was a wonderful movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Movie!!

    I have to admit, I was a little nervous to see this movie because I thought it would be too gory. My friends finally convinced me to go-and I'm so happy they did! It was hysterical, suspenseful, and getting to watch Orlando Bloom for two hours didn't hurt either!! It was the best I have seen Johnny Depp since Edward Scissorhands. I highly reccomend it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2