Customer Reviews for

Planes, Trains and Automobiles

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BEST MOVIE EVER

    This is my very favorite movie of all time. Every line is very funny. I can watch it over & over, and never stop laughing The only thing I don't like is the swear words.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the most genuinely funny movies ever! Hilarious dialogue

    One of the most genuinely funny movies ever! Hilarious dialogue from beginning to end, delivered by two legendary comic talents Steve Matin and John Candy. No matter how many times you see it, this film never gets old. There are also some great extras like footlage from a press conference Steve Martin, John Candy and John Hughes did when the film was released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've got a pain in my side from laughing so hard!

    Comedic genius; heartfelt and touching. Steve Martin and John Candy are absolutely wonderful together. This holiday movie will make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome!

    John Candy at his best! Wonderful pairing of Steve Martin and John Candy! Terrific Holiday movie for anytime of the year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Tears Will Flow...

    You will laugh til you cry and cry til you laugh. By far and away Candy and Martin's best comedic venture. Sure, there's some rough language at times, particularly the car rental scene, but that's what makes it so funny. Edie McClurg (She was a John Hughes favorite. You'll recognize her as Ed Rooney's assistant from Ferris Bueller, another Hughes classic)is hilarious for the two minutes she is on screen as the rental car agent. I have seen the edited car rental seen on broadcast TV and frankly, it's nowhere near as funny without the "F-Bombs".

    John Hughes was a genius at making us laugh and cry at relatable, every day situations. And John Candy was everyman's comic actor. This role was meant for him and in my mind is his comic legacy. Other reviewers are right. When you watch him in this, and the final scence freezes with him smiling, you do realize how much he is missed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    planes, trains and automobiles

    i've heard a lot about this "masterpiece." its the story of two different people who travel across country to get to chicago for thanksgiving and along the way get into some mishaps and slowly grow a bond and friendship. i thought it was good and some of the scenes were funny especially the car rental scene that was a hoot. the music fit perfectly since it came out like in the 80s or something and of course the director known mostly for the teen films but did a good job with this adult one too. martin and candy make a good team and have good chemistry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    A beautiful pairing of knowledgeable comedy actors at their light-hearted best. One thing I am struck by is the lack of profanity, which would be a welcome for many families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    classic comedy with a twist

    This by far is the funniest movie that I have seen Steve Martin in and that goes for John Candy too. What a match. They really played well off of each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    How Very True

    We all have had nightmarish travel experiences. I can relate completely to this movie: the trip that seemingly will never end, and the feeling that things can only get worse!! Steve Martin and John Candy make this movie fun, but more importantly, believable!!! Bob from Marion, Ohio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Candy and Nuts

    I need to watch this at least three times a year -- from Candy's classic mimic of Ray Charles doing 'The Mess Around' to Steve Martin's rent-a-car rant -- this is great cinema. The end is touching. The physical comedy is charming. It's Candy's best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What can i say

    just the best film i have ever seen most probably the best film featuring both actors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best

    The funniest movie I ever seen. Must see!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Thanksgiving movie ever

    Although some profanity is unnecessary this flick has been treasured in my family since it's making in 1987. This is the ''Seinfeld'' of the big screen bringing real life travelling troubles home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great holiday classic

    This is a timeless comedy classic. It gets better every time I see it. Funny throughout and the ending always reminds you that not everyone is fortunate enough to be with friends and family during the holidays. I think this is John Candy's best movie. This movie really makes you miss not having him around anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A CLASSIC!

    This movie is a classic in my family's estimation. Very funny with lines well delivered and fitting to the situation. Even the music is funny. I think most people can relate to it because most have had the same types of travel problems and encounters with annoying people. Everything simply fits together perfectly in this classic. We watched it every year before the holidays and laugh out loud every time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thanksgiving Every Year!!

    My family watches this movie every thanksgiving... Not only is it hilarious, but also touching...Two Thumbs up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Thanksgiving Tradition

    I have deemed this film a Thanksgiving Tradition. We can all relate to at least one of the mishaps these two characters meet with. The hotel bed scene was and will remain one of the best comedy scenes of all time. Definitely one of John Candy's most memorable performances. Proof of why he is missed so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2