Customer Reviews for

Planet Earth - The Complete Series

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect compliment to a Blue-Ray Player!

    Planet Earth Blue-Ray was the perfect accessory to the brand new Blue-Ray player I bought my parents for Christmas. Many hours have been spent watching in amazement at the color, picture, sound and information behind each and every segment.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best blu ray release

    This movie is the best thing that came onto the HD scene. Dont even bother viewing the SD version on DVD. Get the version that was meant to experienced by the producers. Rememeber to also buy an HDMI cable to view this in full 1080P.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2012

    One of the best documentaries of our time.

    This collection is extremely well done, holds the audience's attention, and is beneficial to anyone wishing to learn more about our home planet. The images are sharp and compelling, and you will walk away with a new appreciation for the planet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Series

    This purchase is definitely worth it. The footage is amazing and beautiful and the narration is very interesting and informative. It gives you a new appreciation for the natural world. Planet Earth covers a range of different ecosystems located around the world, capturing animals/events on film that most people have never seen before. Sometimes it almost looks surreal. The behind the scenes footage lets you see how much time and effort went into making the series. They went to the extremes to get some amazing shots. BBC did a great job with Planet Earth. I highly recommend getting the Blu-ray version.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Spectacular!

    The blue-ray version of this has the most beautiful photography I have ever seen in a nature film. My young children always beg for these videos as part of their homeschool science lessons! Money well spent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Must see on Blue Ray.

    Beautiful photography. Educational and entertaining. Wonderful narration. Enjoyable viewing for all ages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More informed

    Great pictures, bought it for my husband's birthday

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    This series is the reason to buy a Blu-ray player

    Sir David Attenborough's commentary is far superior to the Signourney Weaver version. His voice is so soothing and perfectly paced. Maybe I am biased by the fact that I have listened to him in the UK since 1955. The photography is stunning on my 50 inch Plasma 1080p TV.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Planet Earth Series--worth the money!

    I intended to watch only 1 episode per night, but couldn't stop! I wanted to see what was next. Beautiful, mind-boggling cinematography. I've recommended it to several friends and family members.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    LOVED IT!

    This was my first Blu-Ray purchase and was a definite winner. The photography was beautiful and the entire show was fasinating and thought provoking. Some of the scenes were pretty graphic, but are all part of life along with teaching ecological issues.<BR/>I would recommend this to everyone.<BR/>The history provided was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Global protection

    This series is a perfect example of the need to protect the Earth. It is nothing like An Inconvenient Truth which used lies and deception to make an irrelevant point. Planet Earth was breathtaking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beautiful

    The quality of these HD-DVD's is some of the best that I've seen to date, and some of the amazing animals caught on film here will blow you away. The only downside to the HiDef version of this incredible series is that it doesn't contain the last three parts about the future of the planet or the making of documentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the ultimate showcase for my new hdtv.

    the blu-ray edition of this set is a fantastic demonstration for my new television. even though i picked it up mainly as a demonstration type thing, it's a really beautiful and engaging documentary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3